SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Bias Tape Dispenser for Coverstitch Machine

Viewed 5430 times
Posted by: ReneeSews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ReneeSews star
IN USA
Member since: 6/26/05
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/7/06 11:16 AM
Last Updated: 8/18/08 3:43 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I have several reels of bias tape but didn't have a TNT way to use them effectively without cutting off a portion and then holding one end in one hand to make sure it was going into the binder straight, and try to keep an eye on it at the same time going under the needles. I had a large project that I needed to bind and needed a better way to accomplish that.

I had seen other reel dispensers for sale on eBay and thought I could make my own!

Out to the wood shop for this project.

Supplies needed:

Plastic tubing - I used 7/16" because I had it on hand

Knitting Needle - I used a size 8, I don't knit and only have a pair of these for tube turning, and poking corners out, I would think you would have to use a thick one for support not a skinny one. Also with it being metal the wooden circle can spin around unhindered.

Block of Wood for the base - Mine measures 4"x10"x1/2", leftover piece of plywood from a wheel chair ramp I built for my FIL.

Unfinished scrollsaw project - Just kidding, you need a circle that the diameter of will fit under reels of binding. Mine measures 8" and since this was laying out there already unfinished was great so that I didn't need to cut out another circle. I must have left it unfinished just for this project ;-)

I measured up the height that I would need the dispenser to sit level to the binder attachment which was 6". I drilled a hole in my block of wood, just slightly larger than the knitting needle, you don't want it to loose with a lot of play around the needle! I also had to drill it out just slightly on the underside of the base so the cap on the end of the knitting needle would sit flush with the block of wood bottom.

Insert knitting needle into block of wood, then cut my plastic tubing at 5 1/2", drilled the same size hole in the center of my circle, place that on top of the knitting needle and plastic tubing. I also cut a piece of plastic tubing to go on the knitting needle and help hold the circle of wood at the top to keep it from tilting. You don't want this snugged down on top of the circle just loosely above it.

This is quickly assembled and disassembled for those with small children running around and for the not so small children who threaten bodily injury to each other on a constant basis.

Note to Knitters: No knitting needles were harmed in the production of this product, lol.

I had to modify my original design and replace the bottom plastic tubing with a 1" dowel drilled through the center to go over the knitting needle. My sewing room helper (cat) knocked it off the sewing table and it needed more support at the bottom after that. ;-)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
DaisyEsq said...
Your entry was a delight to read and very helpful too.
8/17/08 1:39 PM
j222b said...
I'd like to read a reviewby you for your Singer Q-lock.
7/10/06 10:14 AM
cathy45 said...
You are such a clever girl. This was ingenius -- and entertaining to read.
7/9/06 9:44 AM
ReneeSews said...
Kathy_AZ - eBay
7/8/06 2:50 PM
Kathy_AZ said...
Great idea. Where did you get your reels of bias binding? I'm just starting to use a binder and thought it would save time to have some in several basic colors vs. cutting my own.
7/8/06 11:05 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Aha, another woodworker, ^5 Renee! Nice job!
7/8/06 8:42 AM
ReneeSews said...
LauraM62-Yep that is true, my DH tells everyone that is why he married me because I have more shop tools then he does, lol
7/8/06 7:04 AM
LauraM62 said...
Very cool Renee! Obviously could run into you at Lowes as well as JoAnn's - lol.
7/8/06 6:57 AM
martinanne said...
That is very clever!
7/8/06 2:03 AM
sewsally said...
I was intrigued by the binder attachment itself as well as your holder. This looks like the attachment on an industrial serger and I have never seen one for the home serger. Where did you get it?
7/8/06 1:26 AM
ReneeSews said...
Added an additional pic of the finished reel holder without the bias tape roll on it.
7/7/06 8:34 PM
bunz said...
sounds like a great idea. could we get a pic of the finished product?
7/7/06 7:20 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
You're a genius.
7/7/06 6:09 PM
Patzee said...
Hmmm. This is worth a try...thanks!
7/7/06 3:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.