Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Bias Tape Dispenser for Coverstitch Machine (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5242 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Posted by: ReneeSews
photo
Friend of PR
About ReneeSews star
IN USA
Member since: 6/26/05
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/7/06 11:16 AM
Last Updated: 8/18/08 3:43 AM
Web site/URL: photo
I have several reels of bias tape but didn't have a TNT way to use them effectively without cutting off a portion and then holding one end in one hand to make sure it was going into the binder straight, and try to keep an eye on it at the same time going under the needles. I had a large project that I needed to bind and needed a better way to accomplish that.

I had seen other reel dispensers for sale on eBay and thought I could make my own!

Out to the wood shop for this project.

Supplies needed:

Plastic tubing - I used 7/16" because I had it on hand

Knitting Needle - I used a size 8, I don't knit and only have a pair of these for tube turning, and poking corners out, I would think you would have to use a thick one for support not a skinny one. Also with it being metal the wooden circle can spin around unhindered.

Block of Wood for the base - Mine measures 4"x10"x1/2", leftover piece of plywood from a wheel chair ramp I built for my FIL.

Unfinished scrollsaw project - Just kidding, you need a circle that the diameter of will fit under reels of binding. Mine measures 8" and since this was laying out there already unfinished was great so that I didn't need to cut out another circle. I must have left it unfinished just for this project ;-)

I measured up the height that I would need the dispenser to sit level to the binder attachment which was 6". I drilled a hole in my block of wood, just slightly larger than the knitting needle, you don't want it to loose with a lot of play around the needle! I also had to drill it out just slightly on the underside of the base so the cap on the end of the knitting needle would sit flush with the block of wood bottom.

Insert knitting needle into block of wood, then cut my plastic tubing at 5 1/2", drilled the same size hole in the center of my circle, place that on top of the knitting needle and plastic tubing. I also cut a piece of plastic tubing to go on the knitting needle and help hold the circle of wood at the top to keep it from tilting. You don't want this snugged down on top of the circle just loosely above it.

This is quickly assembled and disassembled for those with small children running around and for the not so small children who threaten bodily injury to each other on a constant basis.

Note to Knitters: No knitting needles were harmed in the production of this product, lol.

I had to modify my original design and replace the bottom plastic tubing with a 1" dowel drilled through the center to go over the knitting needle. My sewing room helper (cat) knocked it off the sewing table and it needed more support at the bottom after that. ;-)
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patzee said...
Hmmm. This is worth a try...thanks!
7/7/06 3:38 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
You're a genius.
7/7/06 6:09 PM
bunz said...
sounds like a great idea. could we get a pic of the finished product?
7/7/06 7:20 PM
ReneeSews said...
Added an additional pic of the finished reel holder without the bias tape roll on it.
7/7/06 8:34 PM
sewsally said...
I was intrigued by the binder attachment itself as well as your holder. This looks like the attachment on an industrial serger and I have never seen one for the home serger. Where did you get it?
7/8/06 1:26 AM
martinanne said...
That is very clever!
7/8/06 2:03 AM
LauraM62 said...
Very cool Renee! Obviously could run into you at Lowes as well as JoAnn's - lol.
7/8/06 6:57 AM
ReneeSews said...
LauraM62-Yep that is true, my DH tells everyone that is why he married me because I have more shop tools then he does, lol
7/8/06 7:04 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Aha, another woodworker, ^5 Renee! Nice job!
7/8/06 8:42 AM
Kathy_AZ said...
Great idea. Where did you get your reels of bias binding? I'm just starting to use a binder and thought it would save time to have some in several basic colors vs. cutting my own.
7/8/06 11:05 AM
ReneeSews said...
Kathy_AZ - eBay
7/8/06 2:50 PM
cathy45 said...
You are such a clever girl. This was ingenius -- and entertaining to read.
7/9/06 9:44 AM
j222b said...
I'd like to read a reviewby you for your Singer Q-lock.
7/10/06 10:14 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Your entry was a delight to read and very helpful too.
8/17/08 1:39 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us