SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Adding machine paper tape for the sewing room

Viewed 5539 times
Posted by: Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizer starstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 84 people
tips added: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/14/06 1:29 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 24 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I've had roll of this 2-1/4" wide paper in the sewing room for ages; now that it's almost gone I've realized how often I"ve used it. Time to buy another roll! It's very handy when you need strips of paper to prevent seam show-through when pressing, when you need a scrap of paper for notes, when you want to space buttonholes or other topstitching and trims. Cut a length of paper that equals the distance from top buttonhole to the bottom one, then fold the paper in half, fourths, eighths, etc. With a button placed at each end of the paper, and one placed on each fold, you'll have an odd number of evenly spaced buttons....or cut a piece the exact width of a skirt or curtain hem and start folding to create a template for hem scallops...etc. You'll think of lots more uses for it once it's right there next to your machine.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Big Dog said...
clever idea
10/6/06 6:03 AM
carole said...
these are very good hints , thrifty too
7/25/06 4:49 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Nifty idea!
7/15/06 8:18 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great idea. Now if I could just get it with a printed grid, I could use it as filler for pattern alterations. Today I cut up graph paper for that.
7/15/06 6:27 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Great tip: thanks: I can see how this size paper would get used often: it's now an item on my "get out and buy list".
7/15/06 2:54 PM
Stitchology said...
This stuff still exists?
7/15/06 12:05 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Georgene, if you happen to be in the bodega anyhow..... I think one roll of this stuff is $1.29 at Office Max and similar stores, so if you compare that to legal fees, it's probably not a bad price. See you on Americ'as Most Wanted!
7/15/06 10:33 AM
Georgene said...
Not something that I would normally have access to, Karla. Would one need to buy a package at OfficeMax, or should I hold up the local bodega for their cash register tape?
7/15/06 10:11 AM
Elaray said...
I've said it before and I'll say it again -- the best ideas are the simplest ideas. Thanks, Karla!
7/15/06 7:16 AM
ClareinStitches said...
What an inspired idea! Thankyou Karla.
7/15/06 6:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.