SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Storing patterns with many items/pieces

Viewed 5211 times
Posted by: redsquid
photo

 
 
About redsquid starstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/16/06 5:30 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I've got some accessory patterns that have up to six items in each envelope - often with several small pieces per item.

I take each accessory item and separate out the pattern pieces and put them in a quart freezer bag, writing the item name on freezer bag "white strip".

All quart bags, instructions, and envelope go into a gallon ziploc bag.

This way I can pull out exactly what I want to make without sorting through the envelope (and referring to the instructions constantly for the numbers/letters on the "small bits"). Also, the small tissue pieces are safe and won't fall out of the envelope or get torn accidentally.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Enid E said...
What A great idea! Thanks, I have several of these type of patterns, and they are a time consuming problem when it comes to picking out the accessory pieces I need.
7/16/06 11:06 PM
jbrewer said...
Good idea. Just go through the pieces one time. Certainly would make it easier.
7/17/06 7:09 AM
cathy45 said...
This is a great idea! Thanks.
7/17/06 8:19 AM
annsew65 said...
How organized! As one who considers herself organized, this is one step beyond that I had never considered! Wonderful idea! Thanks!!
7/17/06 9:01 AM
candyo said...
I just keep mine in a brown 8x10 envelope.
7/17/06 9:21 PM
redsquid said...
candyo, this pattern is more than 20 years old, so it get the white glove treatment from me....
7/18/06 8:43 PM
Kiahuna said...
Great idea! Cost effective and easy to do. Thank you, Kiahuna
7/26/06 2:18 PM
Ronda Rae said...
nice tip!! I'll definitely use this one. Thanks for sharing. ~ Ronda
7/29/06 7:06 AM
OP Gal said...
Great tip. I was just wondering the other day how I could manage the lesser-used pieces of a pattern so I wouldn't keep messing with the ones I didn't need over and over. This will work great.
7/29/06 9:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.