SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Storing patterns with many items/pieces

Viewed 5267 times
Posted by: redsquid
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About redsquid starstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/16/06 5:30 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I've got some accessory patterns that have up to six items in each envelope - often with several small pieces per item.

I take each accessory item and separate out the pattern pieces and put them in a quart freezer bag, writing the item name on freezer bag "white strip".

All quart bags, instructions, and envelope go into a gallon ziploc bag.

This way I can pull out exactly what I want to make without sorting through the envelope (and referring to the instructions constantly for the numbers/letters on the "small bits"). Also, the small tissue pieces are safe and won't fall out of the envelope or get torn accidentally.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
OP Gal said...
Great tip. I was just wondering the other day how I could manage the lesser-used pieces of a pattern so I wouldn't keep messing with the ones I didn't need over and over. This will work great.
7/29/06 9:27 AM
Ronda Rae said...
nice tip!! I'll definitely use this one. Thanks for sharing. ~ Ronda
7/29/06 7:06 AM
Kiahuna said...
Great idea! Cost effective and easy to do. Thank you, Kiahuna
7/26/06 2:18 PM
redsquid said...
candyo, this pattern is more than 20 years old, so it get the white glove treatment from me....
7/18/06 8:43 PM
candyo said...
I just keep mine in a brown 8x10 envelope.
7/17/06 9:21 PM
annsew65 said...
How organized! As one who considers herself organized, this is one step beyond that I had never considered! Wonderful idea! Thanks!!
7/17/06 9:01 AM
cathy45 said...
This is a great idea! Thanks.
7/17/06 8:19 AM
jbrewer said...
Good idea. Just go through the pieces one time. Certainly would make it easier.
7/17/06 7:09 AM
Enid E said...
What A great idea! Thanks, I have several of these type of patterns, and they are a time consuming problem when it comes to picking out the accessory pieces I need.
7/16/06 11:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.