SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Too lazy to trace multi-size pattern

Viewed 5375 times
Posted by: BeckyW
photo

 
 
About BeckyW star
AL USA
Member since: 5/23/04
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/17/06 1:22 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
When cutting a "simple" pattern piece that is multi-sized and I am feeling too lazy to trace, I just turn up the edges and finger press along the appropriate line of long straight seams and cut. I was just making some one-seam costume pants for DS and came to the crotch curve. Since that really would not work there, I got out some old tracing paper and slid it under that section of the pattern and used a somewhat pointy pen cap to run along the cutting line for the crotch of the size I needed. It marked the line perfectly and I was able to unpin at that area and cut the fabric. I cut the pants without much fuss.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
slanden99 said...
I used to fold pattern pieces all the time (before I figured out tracing). For the curves I cut small snips to allow the pattern to fold. I like your idea for curves too. For more complicated patterns, it's actually easier to trace.
7/18/06 10:15 AM
OP Gal said...
Oh, I love this idea, because I'm feeling too lazy to trace most of the time.
7/20/06 4:52 PM
Stephanie C. said...
That's the only way I've ever done it. I only learned about tracing once I joined here, but I've never done it. Too much work.
7/24/06 10:09 PM
ryansmumAria said...
I so surprised to learn that people actually trace as well!!! That would take forever and I would rarely sew. Maybe this technique is used if you want to save a pattern to use for someone else. When that is the case I buy a second pattern when it's on sale for 99 cents or $1.99. So much easier.
7/26/06 8:45 AM
Jedi_Seamstress said...
I also fold my patterns. I have been doing it for years. I had heard about tracing them, but I never knew where to get paper that would fit the big pattern pieces. Oh, well, I guess it's a good thing, because I don't really have time to trace all of my patterns, nor do I have the money to go out and purchase the paper. (although I don't know how much the paper costs). The only bad thing I can say about folding the pattern pieces is that if you're not careful, when you're rotary cutting the fabric around the pattern, it is very easy to accidently cut the pattern as well; and if it's folded, you could cut away some of the other sizes as well.
11/3/06 1:39 PM
Roxie5166 said...
I also purchased one or more of a multisized pattern, if I know it's something I will use for several sizes. This is especailly true for children's patterns. I never purchase a pattern unless it's on sale, usually for $.99 or $1.99 for Butterick, McCalls and Simplicity and often Vogue patterns are on sale in my area for 75% off - which is a great savings. I just don't have the patience to trace but folding it a good idea.
11/19/06 11:39 AM
barbcl said...
All help for those lazy days is so welcome. Thanks.
3/28/07 7:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Candice

Candice

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.