SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Class Reviews > Make A Muslin

A PatternReview.com Class
Viewed 5281 times
Posted by: LaurieEm
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LaurieEm
CO USA
Member since: 10/4/03
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
classes reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/24/06 6:07 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
Web site/URL: Make a Bodice Muslin
Shannon Gifford's Make a Muslin class

I have taken over a dozen online courses, and most of them have been worthwhile. But Shannon's muslin class is the best garment class I've ever taken. I was not alone in my assessment. The gratitude of the class members to Shannon was so intense we were practically writing her sonnets.

To make the class worth its price, it would have been enough if we only had the interaction - posting pictures of our muslins and having Shannon explain what was wrong and what to do. She did this ultra-promptly, and in patient and clear terms. But that was only part of the bargain. The materials, posted five days a week, were even better. To give you an idea, I would be pushing along to get to a point where I would post a picture for help. But, as I worked on it, and viewed my own digital pictures, the written materials would guide me and I knew what to do next. I would get quite far totally on my own. This means I can continue to learn from the materials in the future. Though I would not rule out taking it again, for the muslin-critiquing aspect.

Personally the title of this class did not send me into breathless anticipation. But, the class did. I might subtitle it "Get a great fit by knowing your contours before you cut." I'm joyfully excited about putting my new knowledge to work.

I will try to take advantage of every opportunity to take a class from Shannon. I want to know her class schedule in advance so I can arrange to be free, as this class was action-packed. That's the warning I would give to others - you're going to want to throw yourself into the class with every moment you can - try not to be too busy. Oh - to get full benefit, a digital camera is pretty necessary, and high speed Internet is very helpful as there are lots of pictures to download.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
creative1 said...
I totally agree with LaurieEm! Despite of many years of sewing experience I learnt a lot in this class. The skills I acquired in the class I am now using to adjust real patterns from my favourite Burda magazines.
7/25/06 0:42 AM
Andy Druian said...
Thank you for your note and comments on the Making a Muslin class -when would another of these be available?
7/25/06 3:17 AM
Peggym said...
I too totally agree. I did this clas and make a better blouse and am at the moment doing her Jacket stitch and flip. Shannon is a great teacher. I too will take as many classes of Shannon's as I can. I wasn't too free at the time of one of the classes and agree you must make the time
7/25/06 4:29 AM
ktsews2 said...
I was part of the class as well, and cannot say enough about Shannon as an instructor and about the class material. I have used the information on my projects since class and my garments fit beautifully. This was my second with Shannnon and I eagerly await her future classes.
7/25/06 9:41 AM
Mufffet said...
I just finished this class also, and it was fantastic. Shannon is terrific and dedicated, patient and hard working. The materials are so well done and presented. This class is absolutely on a par with any 2 credit college class anywhere. I usually have trouble with visualizing how things ought to go together and it takes time for me to hammer it all out, but somehow Shannon has a way of making her directions and comments quickly understandable. I learned more in this class than in many classes of all sorts that I have taken.
7/25/06 1:42 PM
CarolM said...
I also just finished this class and I agree with all the comments. Shannon is a dynamite teacher. I still had some issues when the class officially finished and Shannon has been wonderful in helping me with the fine tuning. Substantial expertise and infinite patience make her a great teacher and this class a wonderful experieince.
7/25/06 8:09 PM
Rhoda K said...
I hope to take this class the next time 'round. I'm currently in the stich'n flip class and just love it - my first online class. So much helpful information!! She is definitely very patient and knowledgeable!!
7/27/06 1:36 PM
spudd said...
Hello, I'd like to take this class, is it through pattern review?
8/5/06 10:03 AM
LaurieEm said...
spudd and Andy, this is a class on PatternReview. You can sign up to be notified when the class is offered again by clicking on the "online classes" tab at the top. That will take you to the current offerings, but at the top of that page is a link for "GET NOTIFIED" when new classes are added. Click there and you will see a list of past classes. Find the one on Make a Muslin, click there, and you can indicate that you would like to be notified when it is offered again. (Ignore the part where it says there are two more spaces - that's left over from the last class.) It's a good idea to indicate your interest.
8/6/06 2:34 PM
Katie M said...
great review
10/15/06 9:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.