Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Understanding Knit Fabrics (Online Sewing Class)

A PatternReview.com Class
Viewed 5163 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
Posted by: krystalkaes
photo
About krystalkaes star
CO USA
Member since: 6/6/04
Reviews written: 11
Favored by: 4 people
classes reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/8/06 10:12 PM
Last Updated: 5/28/07 5:38 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Web site/URL: Understanding Knit Fabrics
Sarah Veblen is an excellent teacher. She had all lessons on time and each lesson was relevant to the subject on hand. Sarah was able to mix technique with the encouragement to give her students the confidence to "play" with knit fabrics with success and skill. This class was worth every penny I spent to take it. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to spend the time and effort into understanding knits.

Edit February 12, 2007

Sarah Veblen structures her class so that the first part deals with the general theory behind what a knit (or any fabric she is teaching on) is, how it is constructed and sometimes the history of the fabrics. Then she goes into very detailed review of over twenty different knit swatches. She also includes resource lists where you can find the materials she is teaching on. Since I have taken her class last fall I have worked primarily in knits and now have no fear in dealing with a slinky knit or a stable knit.

Also included is information in how to handle and sew knits. She covers what needles and what threads with which knits.

Sarah answers all questions on the boards quickly and thoroughly and goes above and beyond in supporting her students sewing education.

The lessons are always posted the night before they are needed and she includes many pictures to go with what she is teaching. And if it is needed she will post additional pictures on the boards.

If I could double highly recommend this class I would.


Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Helen near Sydney said...
Thankyou for the review, it has motivated me to join up (when it's next run).
8/11/06 6:40 AM
needlenorth said...
I totally concur with krystalkaes and could not have said it better. I was in the same class with her and was as impressed with the quality of Sarah's lesson material as I was with her online chat responses to our questions (as well as initiating discussion) that I have just signed up for her class on interfacings. She has helped me to appreciate that you can get answers, and that there is an order underlying the world of fabrics and the choices you make in constructing garments. A very nimble teacher. Highly recommended.
8/23/06 12:08 PM
cecelia said...
Sarah gave me the courage to sew with knits. I had a few in my stash I just wasn't ready to deal with until I took her class. Now I really do like sewing on knits and wearing the results. Sarah is very accessible and answers your questions very quickly. I plan on taking any classes she offers. P. S. I also enjoyed her sheers class!
9/20/06 1:45 PM
krystalkaes said...
Cecelia, I agree with you. I plan to take anything she offers and I can't wait until Understanding Sheers is available to take.
9/21/06 8:24 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us