SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > Understanding Knit Fabrics

A PatternReview.com Class
Viewed 5325 times
Posted by: krystalkaes
photo

 
 
About krystalkaes star
CO USA
Member since: 6/6/04
Reviews written: 11
Favored by: 4 people
classes reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/8/06 10:12 PM
Last Updated: 5/28/07 5:38 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Web site/URL: Understanding Knit Fabrics
Sarah Veblen is an excellent teacher. She had all lessons on time and each lesson was relevant to the subject on hand. Sarah was able to mix technique with the encouragement to give her students the confidence to "play" with knit fabrics with success and skill. This class was worth every penny I spent to take it. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to spend the time and effort into understanding knits.

Edit February 12, 2007

Sarah Veblen structures her class so that the first part deals with the general theory behind what a knit (or any fabric she is teaching on) is, how it is constructed and sometimes the history of the fabrics. Then she goes into very detailed review of over twenty different knit swatches. She also includes resource lists where you can find the materials she is teaching on. Since I have taken her class last fall I have worked primarily in knits and now have no fear in dealing with a slinky knit or a stable knit.

Also included is information in how to handle and sew knits. She covers what needles and what threads with which knits.

Sarah answers all questions on the boards quickly and thoroughly and goes above and beyond in supporting her students sewing education.

The lessons are always posted the night before they are needed and she includes many pictures to go with what she is teaching. And if it is needed she will post additional pictures on the boards.

If I could double highly recommend this class I would.



<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


4 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
krystalkaes said...
Cecelia, I agree with you. I plan to take anything she offers and I can't wait until Understanding Sheers is available to take.
9/21/06 8:24 AM
cecelia said...
Sarah gave me the courage to sew with knits. I had a few in my stash I just wasn't ready to deal with until I took her class. Now I really do like sewing on knits and wearing the results. Sarah is very accessible and answers your questions very quickly. I plan on taking any classes she offers. P. S. I also enjoyed her sheers class!
9/20/06 1:45 PM
needlenorth said...
I totally concur with krystalkaes and could not have said it better. I was in the same class with her and was as impressed with the quality of Sarah's lesson material as I was with her online chat responses to our questions (as well as initiating discussion) that I have just signed up for her class on interfacings. She has helped me to appreciate that you can get answers, and that there is an order underlying the world of fabrics and the choices you make in constructing garments. A very nimble teacher. Highly recommended.
8/23/06 12:08 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Thankyou for the review, it has motivated me to join up (when it's next run).
8/11/06 6:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

More Info
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.