SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > safe needle disposal

Viewed 5439 times
Posted by: Janine S
photo

 
 
About Janine S star
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/24/02
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/11/06 7:18 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Featured in the PR book!
In the past I have always used an empty film canister in which I've placed used, bent or broken needles, however, since the digital camera is more often the norm these days, film canisters are harder to come by.
Recently I purchased some tooth picks that came in a plastic canister (about the same size as the film canister), with a swivel top, that when open, allowed just one toothpick to be dispensed through a small hole ... I now have a new 'sharps' container.
I know there have been various suggestions for the safe disposal of used needles, but the toothpick holder is proving ideal. Unlike the film canister, if it is open and accidently knocked over there is less chance of the contents spilling through the small toothpick dispensing holes.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
jessika said...
This is a great idea but I was wondering if you can add a little photo of the canister your talking about. Thanks
8/11/06 11:07 PM
Sophiecat said...
Hi Janine - what a great idea! I have never seen this type of toothpick dispenser. I use a half-pint plastic container with a lid, and cut a narrow slot in the lid, and taped the lid onto the container. This is where I put not only needles, but blades from Xacto blades, mat cutting blades, etc.
8/11/06 11:14 PM
PKPudlin said...
I use the same sort of idea as Janine, only mine is a plastic container that used to hold the pre-moistened cleaning wipers. I also use it for dull rotary blades, used exacto blades, bent pins and needles and my husband uses it for his used lancets after he tests his blood sugar in the morning. Ours is multi-purpose. Great idea about the toothpick holder and thanks for sharing!
8/12/06 7:14 AM
Monica G said...
I like your toothpick cannister idea--particularly as it is still safe if knocked over. I use an Altoids tin (because the needles won't poke through and my DH uses it for his xacto blades too.
8/12/06 8:09 AM
Nancywin said...
Great idea - now I just need to figure out what to put those toothpicks in...
8/24/06 6:52 PM
lesliejhill said...
I am new to the pattern review. HOWDY! Anyway, what I use to store used needles is a pill bottle with the childproof cap on them. I use a very small nail, and pound a hole in the top of the cap and then I can plunk the needles through the top and when It's full - I replace the lid with one that does not have a hole, I put white glue around the lid to give it more security then toss in the trash.
8/24/06 10:26 PM
stitchyfingers said...
i use empty tic tac containers...
9/3/06 0:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Buy Now
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.