SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Solvy for fiddly knits

Viewed 5267 times
Posted by: Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danvillegirl starstarstarstar
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews written: 201
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/16/06 7:02 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I found some knit fabrics can be fiddly at times, meaning the edges don't serge finish well, no matter the differential feed used on the serger or how taut you hold the knit fabric to serge.

I decided to try Sulky Solvy, the original, meaning the thin solvy not ultra for the seam edges. I placed a strip of Solvy underneath the knit fabric edge while serging. The serger feeddogs seem to grab the knit better with solvy underneath. This resulted in a nice even serge seam.

You can then spritz the seam to remove the solvy or sew up the knit garment and then wash it to remove the solvy leaving a nice seam finish.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
glenj said...
great tip,sounds like a keeper
3/18/08 7:00 PM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for the tip. I've never used solvy before, but am getting ready to use some slippery rayon sheers that this might work well on. I'll have to pick some up and give it a try
8/24/06 6:51 PM
Peggym said...
What a good tip. Will give it a try
8/24/06 6:03 PM
Dijanjoe said...
Great tip for all the perfectionist out there!!
8/20/06 3:50 PM
kathi s said...
Thank you!
8/18/06 0:36 AM
Nancy K said...
Thanks for the tip I have just about given up on making anything out of rayon lycra knit, but I have a couple of pieces left and I'll try your technigue
8/17/06 7:55 AM
LiZ said...
Great Ides. I will be doing this.
8/17/06 3:15 AM
LiZ said...
Great Idea. I will be doing this.
8/17/06 3:14 AM
patsijean said...
This is a very good idea.
8/17/06 0:28 AM
NancyDaQ said...
Good hint! I use Solvy with knits all the time. It also helps with hemming. And you couldn't get any simpler for removal--I just finish up the garment and give it a quick wash.
8/16/06 12:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.