SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Baby Steps 3 - Recycle your clothes labels

Viewed 5291 times
Posted by: Helen near Sydney
photo

 
 
About Helen near Sydney starstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/19/06 7:42 AM
Last Updated: 6/6/08 0:33 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
There are some great labels out there and not just on clothes - I even took the one off my new ironing board cover!

Starting a collection by recycling the labels from your old clothes (and maybe even your husband's and kids clothes) can really jazz up your sewing projects. You can tuck them safely inside your garments where you'll enjoy them every time you put them on or go for a more avante garde look and sew them to the outside of your garments - at the hemline, into a seam or even airline-hostie style on the lapel. It will give them a more professional look.

Bowl of recycled labels











<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Annie- oh said...
Helen - Love it! I do this some, too, but now I'll be more alert to the unexpected, such as ironing board covers. Your photo example is snazzy, too.
8/19/06 9:53 AM
joan said...
Thanks, for the great tip. I have used the label from men's silk ties, but would never have thought about using anything but garment labels until "ironing board cover label". What fun!
8/21/06 1:17 PM
Aless said...
Helen-I saw this label when you originally posted this photo and wondered where you got such a cool label ! Excellent ideas here.
8/21/06 11:28 PM
Aless said...
Helen-I saw this label when you posted this photo and wondered where you got such a cool label ! Excellent ideas here.
8/21/06 11:29 PM
brrmm said...
Helen - great idea ! Just been looking at your photo album. Man, you have a stack of great looking creations there. Particularly like that crazy-patchwork top. Can u share how you did it? Also love that Issey skirt with the disc thingys - where do you get these ideas? Great work.
8/22/06 6:09 AM
HelenMay said...
Helen, your sewing skills and wardrobe are fantastic. I'm a Helen from Adelaide, wish we were nearer to be sewing buddies! I find, as some of your garments are, patterned tops and patterned bottoms. Plain fabric just doesn't seem to get a look in, therefore the wardrobe is somewhat limited. Do you have plains to go with the patterns? Aust Stitches often do wardrobe planning, and I have good intensions when visiting fabric stores, but once I see a print I can't resist I'm lost again!
9/21/06 9:51 AM
SewTappy said...
Great Idea - I just saw a wall quilt made from labels in a magazine. Could be a new rave...
11/6/06 7:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.