Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Baby Steps 3 - Recycle your clothes labels (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5170 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Posted by: Helen near Sydney
photo
About Helen near Sydney starstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/19/06 7:42 AM
Last Updated: 6/6/08 0:33 AM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
There are some great labels out there and not just on clothes - I even took the one off my new ironing board cover!

Starting a collection by recycling the labels from your old clothes (and maybe even your husband's and kids clothes) can really jazz up your sewing projects. You can tuck them safely inside your garments where you'll enjoy them every time you put them on or go for a more avante garde look and sew them to the outside of your garments - at the hemline, into a seam or even airline-hostie style on the lapel. It will give them a more professional look.

Bowl of recycled labels










Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annie- oh said...
Helen - Love it! I do this some, too, but now I'll be more alert to the unexpected, such as ironing board covers. Your photo example is snazzy, too.
8/19/06 9:53 AM
joan said...
Thanks, for the great tip. I have used the label from men's silk ties, but would never have thought about using anything but garment labels until "ironing board cover label". What fun!
8/21/06 1:17 PM
Aless said...
Helen-I saw this label when you originally posted this photo and wondered where you got such a cool label ! Excellent ideas here.
8/21/06 11:28 PM
Aless said...
Helen-I saw this label when you posted this photo and wondered where you got such a cool label ! Excellent ideas here.
8/21/06 11:29 PM
brrmm said...
Helen - great idea ! Just been looking at your photo album. Man, you have a stack of great looking creations there. Particularly like that crazy-patchwork top. Can u share how you did it? Also love that Issey skirt with the disc thingys - where do you get these ideas? Great work.
8/22/06 6:09 AM
HelenMay said...
Helen, your sewing skills and wardrobe are fantastic. I'm a Helen from Adelaide, wish we were nearer to be sewing buddies! I find, as some of your garments are, patterned tops and patterned bottoms. Plain fabric just doesn't seem to get a look in, therefore the wardrobe is somewhat limited. Do you have plains to go with the patterns? Aust Stitches often do wardrobe planning, and I have good intensions when visiting fabric stores, but once I see a print I can't resist I'm lost again!
9/21/06 9:51 AM
SewTappy said...
Great Idea - I just saw a wall quilt made from labels in a magazine. Could be a new rave...
11/6/06 7:26 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us