SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Mock 2-piece sleeve

Viewed 5379 times
Posted by: blue mooney
photo

 
 
About blue mooney starstarstar
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/23/06 5:46 PM
Last Updated: 12/26/08 3:24 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
This technique shifts the seam of a one-piece sleeve toward the back. When viewed from behind, it resembles the seaming of a two-piece sleeve.

Why would you want to do this?
1. Less bulk at the underarm
2. I think doing a placket is much easier if the sleeve is seamed this way. After I made up the visuals for this tip, I realized that with a little planning, you could sew your cuff on before stitching up the sleeve seam, enabling you to put the cuff on flat, rather than in the round.

Warning: I am seriously nervous about posting a tip. When I think of people risking their fabric on my say-so, I get all weak nervous. Please, please make a muslin to make sure you want to use this technique before cutting into any good fabric!

See the photos (there are 3) for the steps to do this. Pictures are so much easier than trying to describe verbally how to do this.

edited 12/26/08 - the original tip photo was on the now-defunct yahoo photos and is lost. A new one was created and stored on flickr.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MaryL1 said...
Thanks for sharing such a great idea. I can't wait to try it.
1/16/07 3:19 PM
materialgirl1950 said...
This was a very cool idea. I will definitely try it!
11/1/06 3:38 PM
dede519 said...
Thanks sooo much for this great tip. I can't wait to try it.
8/25/06 10:46 AM
Lizz said...
Your tip is very timely! Please don't hesitate to share your sewing knowledge with us ~ we all love to learn new things. And making a muslin of a new technique is good advice any time!
8/24/06 10:32 AM
ClareinStitches said...
Your instructions and illustratioins are excellent. Thank you so much for posting this. - Don't worry I'll do a muslin :-)
8/24/06 6:32 AM
Mlle Laura said...
What a great idea! Thank you for taking the time to share this with is!
8/24/06 4:27 AM
martinanne said...
I like this tip! It really does sound easier to do the placket this way.
8/24/06 2:55 AM
nancy2001 said...
I've seen at least one commercial pattern that has this feature. Thank you.
8/23/06 8:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.