Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Mock 2-piece sleeve (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5208 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
Posted by: blue mooney
photo
About blue mooney starstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/23/06 5:46 PM
Last Updated: 12/26/08 3:24 PM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
This technique shifts the seam of a one-piece sleeve toward the back. When viewed from behind, it resembles the seaming of a two-piece sleeve.

Why would you want to do this?
1. Less bulk at the underarm
2. I think doing a placket is much easier if the sleeve is seamed this way. After I made up the visuals for this tip, I realized that with a little planning, you could sew your cuff on before stitching up the sleeve seam, enabling you to put the cuff on flat, rather than in the round.

Warning: I am seriously nervous about posting a tip. When I think of people risking their fabric on my say-so, I get all weak nervous. Please, please make a muslin to make sure you want to use this technique before cutting into any good fabric!

See the photos (there are 3) for the steps to do this. Pictures are so much easier than trying to describe verbally how to do this.

edited 12/26/08 - the original tip photo was on the now-defunct yahoo photos and is lost. A new one was created and stored on flickr.
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
I've seen at least one commercial pattern that has this feature. Thank you.
8/23/06 8:40 PM
martinanne said...
I like this tip! It really does sound easier to do the placket this way.
8/24/06 2:55 AM
Mlle Laura said...
What a great idea! Thank you for taking the time to share this with is!
8/24/06 4:27 AM
ClareinStitches said...
Your instructions and illustratioins are excellent. Thank you so much for posting this. - Don't worry I'll do a muslin :-)
8/24/06 6:32 AM
Lizz said...
Your tip is very timely! Please don't hesitate to share your sewing knowledge with us ~ we all love to learn new things. And making a muslin of a new technique is good advice any time!
8/24/06 10:32 AM
dede519 said...
Thanks sooo much for this great tip. I can't wait to try it.
8/25/06 10:46 AM
materialgirl1950 said...
This was a very cool idea. I will definitely try it!
11/1/06 3:38 PM
MaryL1 said...
Thanks for sharing such a great idea. I can't wait to try it.
1/16/07 3:19 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us