SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Adding SA to traced patterns

Viewed 5354 times
Posted by: Sewliz
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sewliz star
CO USA
Member since: 6/22/04
Reviews written: 45
Favored by: 20 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/27/06 6:48 PM
Last Updated: 1/17/10 4:18 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I actually enjoy tracing my Burda magazine patterns. It's interesting to see the shapes and how they fit together. But then there is the tedious adding of the seam allowance to all the pieces. I had to find a quick and painless way to do this dreaded chore!

First I trace the patterns using sturdy tracing paper that is really easy to see through.
Then I place the traced patterns face down on a large sheet of transfer paper (dressmaker carbon) and use the double tracing wheel to mark a seam allowance. One wheel I keep on the seam line and other wheel marks the seam allowance.
The result is this.

Transfer paper can be found at Greenberg and Hammer.

The method is quick enough to keep me happily tracing patterns. The transfer paper works well for marking fabrics so this would work with the swedish tracing paper or pattern ease too. I do wish there was a better double tracing wheel around, the Clover one is a bit wonky to use. Any thoughts on that?

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
I read someone else's tip about rubberbanding 2 pencils together with a shim of cardboard between them to get the desired width. Where did you get the wheel? I've been looking for a double wheel. Nancy's notions used to carry them, but not any more.
8/28/06 0:30 AM
Sewliz said...
I got the double wheel at Greenberg and Hammer when I got the transfer paper. It is a Clover double tracing wheel, I had written Dritz in the tip but fixed my error. I see that vougefabricsstore.com and createforless.com have them. I like Clover tools usually, I just wish this one was a little nicer to use.
8/28/06 8:24 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Where can you get the dressmaker's carbon?
8/28/06 10:53 AM
OP Gal said...
Thanks for the tip, especially the part about the double tracing wheel.
8/28/06 11:46 AM
Brine said...
Sewliz, Sullivans makes a seam tracer that consists of two pencils joined top and bottom (they are inserted in holes in a plastic holder) that allow you to add a 5/8" seam allowance. I have used it, and it does work satisfactorily, although you do have to be careful that the penc il that adds the seam allowance is kept parallel to the pattern edge to keep the seam allowance width constant. It does, however allow you to trace your pattern and add the seam allowance in one step.
8/28/06 1:58 PM
Reyna said...
I'm new at this and am planning to trace a ready-to-wear garment onto tracing paper I bought two days ago. Through your question and others responses, I learned to double a pencil when tracing...THANK YOU!
8/28/06 4:59 PM
librarylady said...
I tried this today and it works beautifully. Many thanks.
8/28/06 7:21 PM
Sewliz said...
The transfer paper is from Greenberg and Hammer, where the link goes for that item above. I agree that the double pencil type thing is a quick way to trace and add seam allowance, but I often trace to check the pattern shapes and alter before I add seam allowance.
8/29/06 8:06 AM
morazan said...
A newbie question for you: does this dressmaker's carbon wash off the fabric? I.e. can I use it for marking darts and such?
8/29/06 12:04 PM
Winifred said...
I just add the seam allowances as I cut out the pieces ! Is there anything wrong with this approach - I'd be glad to hear. It works well for me and simplifies the whole thing.
9/10/08 5:15 PM
carolbee said...
Does Greenberg and Hmmer have one?
4/21/12 10:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.