SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Cutting narrow fabric strips

Viewed 5252 times
Posted by: Lizz
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lizz star
TN USA
Member since: 10/10/03
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
tips added: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/29/06 8:02 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Featured in the PR book!
My rotary cutter, an Olfa ergonomic, can take a blade on either side of the handle, depending on whether you are right or left handed. If I put a blade on BOTH sides at the same time I can cut 1/4" strips of fabric with one swipe!

It works great for making your own strips of fusible web from yardage.... much cheaper than buying by the roll.

This is handy for narrow strips of bias interfacing to reinforce shoulder seams, also for tiny bias tape to finish seams, etc.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Tov said...
Very clever, thanks for the tip!
8/30/06 9:50 AM
PVA said...
Thank you for posting this tip -- It's a great one! This will also work for cutting narrow fleece strips for lacing & etc.!
8/30/06 10:58 AM
Jodi B. said...
Oh my goodness. That's brilliant! Thank you!
8/30/06 12:04 PM
CSM--Carla said...
WHAT a clever IDEA! Thank you for sharing this! Carla
8/30/06 3:04 PM
Susan M said...
Brilliant!
8/31/06 1:06 PM
Nancywin said...
great idea - I'll have to look for that kind of cutter. Mine only holds one blade.
9/1/06 0:42 AM
Patti B said...
What a great idea! Thanks for posting. I'll have to go check my cutters.
9/1/06 9:48 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow! What a fabulous tip!
9/11/06 12:46 PM
ryansmumAria said...
great idea
8/13/07 10:25 AM
Kirstenw said...
What a clever time saving tip!!!
3/31/08 2:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

Buy Now
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.