SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Pattern tracing with Visqueen poly film

Viewed 5436 times
Posted by: Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti B starstarstarstar
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
tips added: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/1/06 9:46 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
Web site/URL: photo
While attending a sewing class given by Linda of Linda's Sewing Center (Corvallis OR), I was fascinated to see that they had traced their patterns onto 2mil plastic, fondly known as Visqueen at our house. It stored nicely and unfolded without creases. I probably don't need to say that it is terrific to trace since it is clear! Sharpie permanent markers are perfect for this purpose. Linda said that they sell a roll of several yards of the Visqueen since it comes in rolls of many yards. So, if you have some leftover plastic from remodeling projects, here's a new use for it.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Another excellent tip! Thanks!
4/21/09 9:42 AM
woggy said...
I also saw this idea used for quiltig on a "Simply Quilts" HGTV Show. The guest on this show had outline a flower pattern to use in various blocks for the quilt. I immediately thought about using it for sewing. Glad it works.
9/11/06 8:47 AM
Stilltheone said...
Great tip! I'm going to get some. I've been using paper and I can't see through it and it rips.
9/2/06 9:13 AM
Patti B said...
It's the clear 2 mil thick plastic used for drop cloths, etc. Click the website url above and you'll find a bit more info about the plastic. Visqueen is just a brand name.
9/1/06 7:08 PM
j222b said...
As Kathi S states, I am not sure what Visqueen is either, but I am very interested in this product for tracing as well. OK here's another link from Home Depot: Frost King has a 3 package roll (each roll 9' x 12') for about 8 dollars:http://www.homedepot.com/prel80/HDUS/EN_US/jsearch/product.jsp?pn=100066085
9/1/06 12:05 PM
kathi s said...
Patti, do you mean the clear plastic that is used for drop cloths or the clear plastic that is used to wrap garden furniture etc. I don't think I have ever seen the brand "Visqueen". It sounds like a good alternative to soil separator cloth which is difficult to mark without bleed through.
9/1/06 10:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.