SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Pattern tracing with Visqueen poly film

Viewed 5357 times
Posted by: Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti B starstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/1/06 9:46 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
Web site/URL: photo
While attending a sewing class given by Linda of Linda's Sewing Center (Corvallis OR), I was fascinated to see that they had traced their patterns onto 2mil plastic, fondly known as Visqueen at our house. It stored nicely and unfolded without creases. I probably don't need to say that it is terrific to trace since it is clear! Sharpie permanent markers are perfect for this purpose. Linda said that they sell a roll of several yards of the Visqueen since it comes in rolls of many yards. So, if you have some leftover plastic from remodeling projects, here's a new use for it.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
kathi s said...
Patti, do you mean the clear plastic that is used for drop cloths or the clear plastic that is used to wrap garden furniture etc. I don't think I have ever seen the brand "Visqueen". It sounds like a good alternative to soil separator cloth which is difficult to mark without bleed through.
9/1/06 10:47 AM
j222b said...
As Kathi S states, I am not sure what Visqueen is either, but I am very interested in this product for tracing as well. OK here's another link from Home Depot: Frost King has a 3 package roll (each roll 9' x 12') for about 8 dollars:http://www.homedepot.com/prel80/HDUS/EN_US/jsearch/product.jsp?pn=100066085
9/1/06 12:05 PM
Patti B said...
It's the clear 2 mil thick plastic used for drop cloths, etc. Click the website url above and you'll find a bit more info about the plastic. Visqueen is just a brand name.
9/1/06 7:08 PM
Stilltheone said...
Great tip! I'm going to get some. I've been using paper and I can't see through it and it rips.
9/2/06 9:13 AM
woggy said...
I also saw this idea used for quiltig on a "Simply Quilts" HGTV Show. The guest on this show had outline a flower pattern to use in various blocks for the quilt. I immediately thought about using it for sewing. Glad it works.
9/11/06 8:47 AM
Christas said...
Another excellent tip! Thanks!
4/21/09 9:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.