Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Adjusting the sleeve cap fit (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5880 times
Review rated Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
Posted by: OP Gal
photo
About OP Gal starstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 10/14/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
tips added: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/3/06 6:22 PM
I was making a blouse and needed to enlarge the sleeve to accommodate my bicep circumference. The muslin I made of the altered pattern had draglines from the top of the sleeve downward. I checked my trusty 3-ring binder of tips and techniques and ran across this one that I'd photocopied. This is actually a tip from Sarah Veblen that appeared in the April/May 2005 issue of Threads magazine.

When enlarging a sleeve more than a small amount with the slash and spread method, the sleeve cap flattens. This can subsequently cause draglines from the top of the sleeve where there's not enough fabric. Sarah counsels that you should always check, even with patterns fresh out of the envelope, to make sure the sleeve cap is high enough. To determine this, measure with a tape your biceps's circumference by measuring around your arm at the high underarm and add the prescribed ease. Then, measure the distance from the tape to the shoulder point (that dent you feel when you raise your arm). The corresponding line on the sleeve pattern piece from the line along the bottom of the armscye to the top of the sleeve cap SA should be the same number of inches as the measurement of your arm. If it isn't, then the sleeve won't have enough fabric in that area and it is forced to stretch--hence the draglines. For more information on the subject of fitting sleeves, consult the above issue of Threads. This technique saved the appearance of the sleeve in my blouse by getting rid of the draglines.

ETA: Sara instructs you to add 5/8" to the measurement from the bottom of the armscye to the top of the sleeve for ease.
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kathi s said...
Thank you! This is so timely for me- I am working on my coat muslin and have been struggling with my petite coat sleeves and my not so petitite upper arms. You have provided me with an answer to my question and the Threads citation! Now I'm off to go paw through my stack of Threads.
9/4/06 1:37 AM
j222b said...
"I checked my trusty 3-ring binder of tips and techniques...". I love this idea of the tip/technique binder! Please tell more about that binder in another tip.
9/4/06 8:21 AM
Sewliz said...
Timely for me too. Thanks for reminding me about this article.
9/5/06 8:13 AM
Jan B. said...
Whew! I found this hint again. I knew I wanted to save it, but can't locate where!! Thank you for providing it.
10/16/06 5:56 PM
SewLimited said...
I was just updating my basic and having trouble with a too high sleeve cap - this simple measurement saved the day. Thank you!
10/21/06 2:51 PM
ryansmumAria said...
thank you!!!
8/13/07 10:23 AM
Kirstenw said...
Thank you, the kind of help I need.
5/16/08 5:13 AM
mrs. allen said...
just what i needed to know. been a long time since i had to adjust a sleeve, and this was great. now i can finish the jaket
9/29/08 10:24 AM
barbcl said...
Thanks for a great tip.
9/5/11 5:42 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us