SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Baby Steps 5 - How to write a PR review

Viewed 5396 times
Posted by: Helen near Sydney
photo

 
 
About Helen near Sydney starstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/15/06 8:00 PM
Last Updated: 4/8/07 6:56 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 23 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Baby Steps 5 - how to write a PR review.

Much as I love Pattern Review submitting a review can be frustrating. Somehow, I always seem to lose the lot! Here’s my sure-fire way to get it right the first time…..

Submitting a pattern review involves 3 steps:
1. organizing your photos ready to be included in the review
2. setting up a couple of WORD files in your computer and
3. writing the review.

1. Organise your photos
* Format your photos with a software programme such as MS Picture It. I usually adjust the brightness, crop the photo and then resize the photo to 3 x 2".
* Create a photo album in Yahoo Photos (it’s free!) and upload your photos. Keep the photo album open, but minimised, right up until your review is posted.

2. Set up a couple of WORD files
* Open PatternReview through Internet Explorer (not through a shortcut). Choose Sewing Patterns then Add a Pattern Review.
* Tick the box that says ‘Click here to load a template to help you write a review’. A template of headings appears. Copy and paste it into a blank Word document so that you can use the PR headings to write your review. Save this document as a TEXT document (not a Word document) and name it ‘PR Template’. Keep it open (but close the PR window). *The PR Template can be used over and over for when you review other patterns.
* Save the PR Template again as a TEXT document and name it the same as the pattern you’re reviewing, eg. Burda 7212. Leave it open (but close the PR Template).

3. Write & post the review
* Write your review of Burda 7212 and save it. I usually begin writing the pattern review when I start making the pattern and add to the review as I go. I find I remember the little details this way.
* Copy the entire review.
* Open PatternReview, then Sewing Patterns then Add a Review and fill in the top section. In the Review screen at the bottom, paste your review of Burda 7212. DO NOT TICK THE BOX THAT LOADS THE TEMPLATE as this will over-ride your review.
* When you want to add a photo, double click on the photo to open it and copy the full address, including the http://.
* In the PR screen click on ‘Insert a clickable link in your review’ and paste in the address, removing the http:// that’s already there.
* Type in the name of the photo and click ‘Get HTML’. Copy the code that appears and paste it where you want it to appear in your review.

A Stitch in Time Saves Nine.....
Being cautious by nature I always copy my finished review and paste it back into the Burda 7212 document before submitting it. I have lost finished reviews in the past.

NB: I’ve named names in the review because these are the programmes etc that I’m familiar with, not because they are recommended.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
OP Gal said...
Gee, that's almost exactly how I do it. Brilliant minds, eh? As to the non-alphanumeric characters in Word turning into gobbledygook, I just search them out, erase them and retype them in the PR template and all is well. If you'll notice, apostrophes in Word look different from those in the template. Some formatting thing, I guess.
9/15/06 8:59 PM
CSM--Carla said...
WOW! this may conquer my fear! THANKS!
9/15/06 10:59 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I used to use Word for my reviews also. However, I found that when moving this over the PR there are some unreadable characters. If you use "Notepad" there doesn't appear to be any problems. Just thought you might want to know.
9/15/06 11:47 PM
martinanne said...
Brilliant! I never seem to get around to writing reviews because I feel like I just don't have the time in one sitting, and invariably one of my kiddos will come along and need me in the middle of it, and then when I come back to the computer my window will be closed and work lost. Plus I find the whole process unweildy. I never thought to do it in Word. And I appreciate how you explained exactly how many windows need to be open on the computer in order to accomplish the review the most efficiently. I think this just may encourage me to write more reviews. Thanks!!
9/16/06 2:22 AM
Pattern Junkie said...
Thanks so much for this tip, Helen. There's nothing like the trauma of spending lots of time writing a review and then having it disappear! This is very helpful.
9/16/06 10:34 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
If you save your Word document as text the punctuation will become plain. Paste the text file instead of the Word file.
9/16/06 9:45 PM
SewLimited said...
I second Martinanne. Thank you, thank you!
9/19/06 3:23 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Hey Helen, Thanks a bunch! Wonderful advice.
9/26/06 10:33 AM
Nancy K said...
Great instructions and advice. Thanks.
7/19/07 7:51 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Like Mary I have always used WORD but transferring did create strange characters. Hadn't thought about saving as text. Great tip.
8/5/07 7:55 AM
Heathar said...
This is a great tip! Thanks for writing it out! I've written a review before, and this still cleared up some things. Thanks!
8/14/07 0:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.