Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Baby Steps 5 - How to write a PR review (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5255 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 23 people   
Posted by: Helen near Sydney
photo
About Helen near Sydney starstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/15/06 8:00 PM
Last Updated: 4/8/07 6:56 AM
Featured in the PR book!
Baby Steps 5 - how to write a PR review.

Much as I love Pattern Review submitting a review can be frustrating. Somehow, I always seem to lose the lot! Here’s my sure-fire way to get it right the first time…..

Submitting a pattern review involves 3 steps:
1. organizing your photos ready to be included in the review
2. setting up a couple of WORD files in your computer and
3. writing the review.

1. Organise your photos
* Format your photos with a software programme such as MS Picture It. I usually adjust the brightness, crop the photo and then resize the photo to 3 x 2".
* Create a photo album in Yahoo Photos (it’s free!) and upload your photos. Keep the photo album open, but minimised, right up until your review is posted.

2. Set up a couple of WORD files
* Open PatternReview through Internet Explorer (not through a shortcut). Choose Sewing Patterns then Add a Pattern Review.
* Tick the box that says ‘Click here to load a template to help you write a review’. A template of headings appears. Copy and paste it into a blank Word document so that you can use the PR headings to write your review. Save this document as a TEXT document (not a Word document) and name it ‘PR Template’. Keep it open (but close the PR window). *The PR Template can be used over and over for when you review other patterns.
* Save the PR Template again as a TEXT document and name it the same as the pattern you’re reviewing, eg. Burda 7212. Leave it open (but close the PR Template).

3. Write & post the review
* Write your review of Burda 7212 and save it. I usually begin writing the pattern review when I start making the pattern and add to the review as I go. I find I remember the little details this way.
* Copy the entire review.
* Open PatternReview, then Sewing Patterns then Add a Review and fill in the top section. In the Review screen at the bottom, paste your review of Burda 7212. DO NOT TICK THE BOX THAT LOADS THE TEMPLATE as this will over-ride your review.
* When you want to add a photo, double click on the photo to open it and copy the full address, including the http://.
* In the PR screen click on ‘Insert a clickable link in your review’ and paste in the address, removing the http:// that’s already there.
* Type in the name of the photo and click ‘Get HTML’. Copy the code that appears and paste it where you want it to appear in your review.

A Stitch in Time Saves Nine.....
Being cautious by nature I always copy my finished review and paste it back into the Burda 7212 document before submitting it. I have lost finished reviews in the past.

NB: I’ve named names in the review because these are the programmes etc that I’m familiar with, not because they are recommended.
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
OP Gal said...
Gee, that's almost exactly how I do it. Brilliant minds, eh? As to the non-alphanumeric characters in Word turning into gobbledygook, I just search them out, erase them and retype them in the PR template and all is well. If you'll notice, apostrophes in Word look different from those in the template. Some formatting thing, I guess.
9/15/06 8:59 PM
CSM--Carla said...
WOW! this may conquer my fear! THANKS!
9/15/06 10:59 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I used to use Word for my reviews also. However, I found that when moving this over the PR there are some unreadable characters. If you use "Notepad" there doesn't appear to be any problems. Just thought you might want to know.
9/15/06 11:47 PM
martinanne said...
Brilliant! I never seem to get around to writing reviews because I feel like I just don't have the time in one sitting, and invariably one of my kiddos will come along and need me in the middle of it, and then when I come back to the computer my window will be closed and work lost. Plus I find the whole process unweildy. I never thought to do it in Word. And I appreciate how you explained exactly how many windows need to be open on the computer in order to accomplish the review the most efficiently. I think this just may encourage me to write more reviews. Thanks!!
9/16/06 2:22 AM
Pattern Junkie said...
Thanks so much for this tip, Helen. There's nothing like the trauma of spending lots of time writing a review and then having it disappear! This is very helpful.
9/16/06 10:34 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
If you save your Word document as text the punctuation will become plain. Paste the text file instead of the Word file.
9/16/06 9:45 PM
SewLimited said...
I second Martinanne. Thank you, thank you!
9/19/06 3:23 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Hey Helen, Thanks a bunch! Wonderful advice.
9/26/06 10:33 AM
Nancy K said...
Great instructions and advice. Thanks.
7/19/07 7:51 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Like Mary I have always used WORD but transferring did create strange characters. Hadn't thought about saving as text. Great tip.
8/5/07 7:55 AM
Heathar said...
This is a great tip! Thanks for writing it out! I've written a review before, and this still cleared up some things. Thanks!
8/14/07 0:27 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us