SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Expo Reviews > Original Sewing Expo Chantilly, VA

Virginia, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5582 times
Posted by: Portia Hirschman
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Portia Hirschman
MD USA
Member since: 5/22/04
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
expos reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/28/06 8:41 PM
Rating: thumbsdown
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
Smaller than ever and if it weren't for Vogue fabrics and the classes, no point for a sewist to attend. All quilting and machine sales. Not even Threads was present. Even quilters were disappointed this year. I was talking to folks who had taken a bus trip in and they were sorely disaapointed to travel four hours for this--and they quilt and sew. If something isn't done, this Expo is on its way out. The only reason I'd return is for the classes.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Add Sewing Expo Review    Read All Sewing Expo Reviews


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
vintagegirl said...
New to sight. live in Va. Thanks for the post Was looking to see if and how the expos around here are. I will skip this one if it should come again. Thanks Linda,Va.
1/31/07 7:07 AM
annsew65 said...
I have attended the expo in Chantilly 3 or 4 times, but since I started going to the one in Atlanta, I'll probably not go back to Chantilly. Each year, it seemed to get smaller and had less classes and way less vendors. I really didn't like the facility either!
1/18/07 3:50 AM
The Sassy SEWer said...
I too was so disappointed. There was very little for the apparel sewers. As for Vogue Fabris - I was not impressed.
10/4/06 9:41 PM
materialgirl1950 said...
I agree. I was disappointed as well. Each year it gets smaller. Vogue Fabrics and the classes saved it for me too. I used to spend the entire day at the Expo -- sometimes two days. I will not attend next year.
10/4/06 4:43 PM
Gemi619 said...
I almost attended this Expo. It would have been my first time attending a Sewing Expo. I decided to go to the one in Atlanta in March of 2007. I'm curious from reading the string of comments, what is the ASG Meeting and the Novi Show ? Which one is the best to attend on the east coast ?
10/2/06 5:49 PM
Welmoed Sisson said...
I have to agree... I got through the vendor hall in about 45 minutes. There was far too much quilting and machine embroidery and very few "interesting" and off-beat vendors. I spent very little money -- and I had come prepared to spend more. I had planned to buy a new machine but the dealer hadn't brought one (couldn't figure that out...) and the "show special" wasn't even all that special. Very disappointing.
9/29/06 2:09 PM
PaulaM said...
I suspect that another reason for the no-show vendors is a scheduling conflict as the much-bigger Novi show is being held the same weekend. Novi's Web site lists "Threads" among their vendors.
9/29/06 8:47 AM
Cathy from MD said...
I think one reason the vendors are scanty this year is because the ASG meeting was recently in Arlington VA. They chose not to return to this area so soon after their last appearance. This was confirmed to me by a conversation with Louise Cutting.
9/29/06 8:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

More Info
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.