Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Glad Press N Seal - Stabilising on Garments (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5354 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 19 people   
Posted by: Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR
About Vonnevo starstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Favored by: 176 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/1/06 8:35 PM
Last Updated: 6/26/08 3:29 PM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I have experimented and used Glad Press N Seal to stabilise neck and bias edges on garments, instead of staystitching.
It can be staystitched onto as well, although this may mean removing two strips of it instead of one.

I cut strips, approximately 2.5cms or 1" wide.
It adheres very well to the fabric and definitely stops it from stretching.

Press N Seal can also be cut to the pattern shape, in a similar fashion to a facing.

I simply press the strips firmly onto the fabric, sometimes pressing a ruler on top to make certain I have it firmly adhered, then pin and stitch the garment sections together in the normal way.

Another benefit is that it doesn't gum up the needle with sticky residue.

Pinning and stitching through the Press N Seal is no bother and it tears off easily along the stitching line.

I used Press n Seal to stabilise the armhole edges for raglan sleeves, on Simplicity 4082

Below are some links for two photos I snapped, but didnt include in the review for Simplicity 4082 - Burberry knockoff .

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22104571@N00/1658666485/in/set-72157602560588328/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22104571@N00/1659529146/in/set-72157602560588328/

I like to experiment with new products and Glad Press n Seal, has proven to be very useful for stabilising garment edges that will otherwise stretch during construction. I like the fact that it rips away so easily without a trace - specially good when I am making an unlined garment.

I have also used it as a "topping" to prevent loops and pile pushing through stitches, when doing machine embroidery. This works well when there is only one solid outline from which to tear the Press n Seal away from. I don't recommended using it if there are several outlines with fabric gaps inbetween.
I also experimented with it as an extra layer of backing and hooped it with the fabric before doing the machine embroidery.

This is just my experience with the Press n Seal, it may not be everyone's cup of tea. It is relatively inexpensive and a roll of this magic product is useful to keep in your sewing stash.

Press n Seal is not (edited since to add that it is available in some locations) available in Australia - I snapped some up while in the USA, where it seems to be available in most supermarkets and Walmart. Glad trialled it and the only purchasers were quilters, who also use it for transferring quilting designs to their quilts.

Please add your experiences with using Press n Seal as the more uses we find for this product, the better.

** Edited June 27th 2008, to add further photos links:

http://picasaweb.google.com/missmollyau/Jacket2ABCBurdaEasyFashion/photo#5216040219374949058
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
solosmocker said...
Thanks so much for adding this tip. I can't wait to use it, particularly with embroidery.
10/1/06 9:51 PM
Skye said...
I use it for quilting never occurred to me to use it as a stabiliser - brillant
10/2/06 3:50 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks, Vonne, for all the ideas. I have wrapped Press n Seal around bobbins and spools of thread, to secure the thread ends. It works pretty well for this. I will try some of your uses.
10/2/06 9:10 AM
Susan M said...
I never consider this idea. Thanks for giving me a new use for Press N Seal.
10/2/06 2:52 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Thanks Vonnevo for writing this tip. I think I will try it for a ravelly boucle that I have been afraid to use for a jacket pattern! SO helpful! Carla
10/2/06 3:39 PM
Taxigram said...
This may be the solution to a problem I've been thinking about for a few days about transfering an embroidery pattern on to a dark fabric for hand sewing. I'm going to try it tonight and hope it works. Love sewers such as you who think outside the box and come up with great ideas.
10/2/06 4:31 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is a great tip. I wouldn't think to buy this for food preparation but - SEWing - you bet. I'm getting a box of this stuff PDQ.
10/2/06 4:34 PM
OP Gal said...
Wow! What a clever idea. I would never have thought of using this product as a sewing tool. I have some of this stuff lurking in my kitchen and don't think much of it for it's original purpose, so this will put it to good use. Thanks for the tip.
10/2/06 5:48 PM
Anne Frances said...
Does anyone know whether there is an equivalent available in the UK? Maybe something quilters use?
10/3/06 5:03 AM
almost said...
Great idea, but now I'm curious how quilters use this for trnsferring designs?
10/5/06 2:45 AM
Sew it seams said...
Thanks so much for this tip. I've had some in my kitchen for about a year and I always forget to use it. Now it's going in my sewing room!
10/5/06 11:37 AM
Liana said...
I never would have thought of this! I have some laying around too that I never think to use in the kitchen. Thank you!
10/6/06 3:26 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
OH, goodie, goodie, goodie!
10/11/06 11:27 PM
Nancy Peters said...
I am so glad I clicked on the tip page. Great idea! I have several knit armhold edges I need to hem and this will be perfect for them. I was considering sewing in clear elastic but that didn't seem like a viable solution. Thanks for the great tip!
10/12/06 2:18 PM
christine A said...
I use it to transfer small pattern pieces for purses, diapers, etc. It magically sticks to the fabric over and over! I found that it helps me to mark fabric that I have a hard time distinguishing right and wrong sides- after cutting out pattern pieces, I place a small piece of press and seal on wrong side, and write pattern info on it. This has saved me many times on those late nights when I am tired!
1/2/07 8:46 AM
Makaleka said...
Have just bought a roll of Press'n Seal at Coles and remembered reading about it some time ago and in fact emailing Glad as to when I'd be able to buy it here in Australia. Now that I've bought it, of course I couldn't remember what I was supposed to do with it!
3/18/08 4:32 AM
glenj said...
today i purchased it at coles(aussie store) it is only a new product here
4/24/08 12:25 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
I bet you could use a strip of this to hold buttons in place (when attaching them by machine). Don't have any right now, but I'll be putting it on the shopping list! Thanks for the great idea!
6/26/08 8:23 PM
Terri Smith said...
Thank you so much for this tip. Now that you describe it so well, I understand how and why to use it. Thanks again,
6/27/08 11:02 PM
Rhoda K said...
What a great tip - thanks!
6/28/08 6:43 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us