SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Glad Press N Seal - Stabilising on Garments

Viewed 5670 times
Posted by: Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Vonnevo starstarstarstar
Australia
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 178 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/1/06 8:35 PM
Last Updated: 6/26/08 3:29 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 19 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I have experimented and used Glad Press N Seal to stabilise neck and bias edges on garments, instead of staystitching.
It can be staystitched onto as well, although this may mean removing two strips of it instead of one.

I cut strips, approximately 2.5cms or 1" wide.
It adheres very well to the fabric and definitely stops it from stretching.

Press N Seal can also be cut to the pattern shape, in a similar fashion to a facing.

I simply press the strips firmly onto the fabric, sometimes pressing a ruler on top to make certain I have it firmly adhered, then pin and stitch the garment sections together in the normal way.

Another benefit is that it doesn't gum up the needle with sticky residue.

Pinning and stitching through the Press N Seal is no bother and it tears off easily along the stitching line.

I used Press n Seal to stabilise the armhole edges for raglan sleeves, on Simplicity 4082

Below are some links for two photos I snapped, but didnt include in the review for Simplicity 4082 - Burberry knockoff .

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22104571@N00/1658666485/in/set-72157602560588328/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22104571@N00/1659529146/in/set-72157602560588328/

I like to experiment with new products and Glad Press n Seal, has proven to be very useful for stabilising garment edges that will otherwise stretch during construction. I like the fact that it rips away so easily without a trace - specially good when I am making an unlined garment.

I have also used it as a "topping" to prevent loops and pile pushing through stitches, when doing machine embroidery. This works well when there is only one solid outline from which to tear the Press n Seal away from. I don't recommended using it if there are several outlines with fabric gaps inbetween.
I also experimented with it as an extra layer of backing and hooped it with the fabric before doing the machine embroidery.

This is just my experience with the Press n Seal, it may not be everyone's cup of tea. It is relatively inexpensive and a roll of this magic product is useful to keep in your sewing stash.

Press n Seal is not (edited since to add that it is available in some locations) available in Australia - I snapped some up while in the USA, where it seems to be available in most supermarkets and Walmart. Glad trialled it and the only purchasers were quilters, who also use it for transferring quilting designs to their quilts.

Please add your experiences with using Press n Seal as the more uses we find for this product, the better.

** Edited June 27th 2008, to add further photos links:

http://picasaweb.google.com/missmollyau/Jacket2ABCBurdaEasyFashion/photo#5216040219374949058

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


20 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
What a great tip - thanks!
6/28/08 6:43 AM
Terri Smith said...
Thank you so much for this tip. Now that you describe it so well, I understand how and why to use it. Thanks again,
6/27/08 11:02 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
I bet you could use a strip of this to hold buttons in place (when attaching them by machine). Don't have any right now, but I'll be putting it on the shopping list! Thanks for the great idea!
6/26/08 8:23 PM
glenj said...
today i purchased it at coles(aussie store) it is only a new product here
4/24/08 12:25 PM
Makaleka said...
Have just bought a roll of Press'n Seal at Coles and remembered reading about it some time ago and in fact emailing Glad as to when I'd be able to buy it here in Australia. Now that I've bought it, of course I couldn't remember what I was supposed to do with it!
3/18/08 4:32 AM
christine A said...
I use it to transfer small pattern pieces for purses, diapers, etc. It magically sticks to the fabric over and over! I found that it helps me to mark fabric that I have a hard time distinguishing right and wrong sides- after cutting out pattern pieces, I place a small piece of press and seal on wrong side, and write pattern info on it. This has saved me many times on those late nights when I am tired!
1/2/07 8:46 AM
Nancy Peters said...
I am so glad I clicked on the tip page. Great idea! I have several knit armhold edges I need to hem and this will be perfect for them. I was considering sewing in clear elastic but that didn't seem like a viable solution. Thanks for the great tip!
10/12/06 2:18 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
OH, goodie, goodie, goodie!
10/11/06 11:27 PM
Liana said...
I never would have thought of this! I have some laying around too that I never think to use in the kitchen. Thank you!
10/6/06 3:26 PM
Sew it seams said...
Thanks so much for this tip. I've had some in my kitchen for about a year and I always forget to use it. Now it's going in my sewing room!
10/5/06 11:37 AM
almost said...
Great idea, but now I'm curious how quilters use this for trnsferring designs?
10/5/06 2:45 AM
Anne Frances said...
Does anyone know whether there is an equivalent available in the UK? Maybe something quilters use?
10/3/06 5:03 AM
OP Gal said...
Wow! What a clever idea. I would never have thought of using this product as a sewing tool. I have some of this stuff lurking in my kitchen and don't think much of it for it's original purpose, so this will put it to good use. Thanks for the tip.
10/2/06 5:48 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is a great tip. I wouldn't think to buy this for food preparation but - SEWing - you bet. I'm getting a box of this stuff PDQ.
10/2/06 4:34 PM
Taxigram said...
This may be the solution to a problem I've been thinking about for a few days about transfering an embroidery pattern on to a dark fabric for hand sewing. I'm going to try it tonight and hope it works. Love sewers such as you who think outside the box and come up with great ideas.
10/2/06 4:31 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Thanks Vonnevo for writing this tip. I think I will try it for a ravelly boucle that I have been afraid to use for a jacket pattern! SO helpful! Carla
10/2/06 3:39 PM
Susan M said...
I never consider this idea. Thanks for giving me a new use for Press N Seal.
10/2/06 2:52 PM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks, Vonne, for all the ideas. I have wrapped Press n Seal around bobbins and spools of thread, to secure the thread ends. It works pretty well for this. I will try some of your uses.
10/2/06 9:10 AM
Skye said...
I use it for quilting never occurred to me to use it as a stabiliser - brillant
10/2/06 3:50 AM
solosmocker said...
Thanks so much for adding this tip. I can't wait to use it, particularly with embroidery.
10/1/06 9:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

More Info
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.