SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Expo Reviews > American Sewing Expo, Novi 2006

Michigan, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5453 times
Posted by: Beebes
photo

 
 
About Beebes
MI
Member since: 8/7/05
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
expos reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/2/06 8:35 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
My first sewing expo was marvelous! Hands-on workshops were offered Thursday and Friday and concurrent seminars on Saturday, with the show ending on Sunday at 5pm. A Threads fashion show was scheduled Sat evening, but I didn't stay. The absolute highlite was the Decades of Design booth--I was able to try on their samples and talk about sizes and fit. They were delighted to hear I was a PR member and gave me a discount on the spot. I bought some of their patterns, as well as some from LJ Designs (http://www.ljdesignsonline.com/) that has a new line of patterns for knits. I attended Louise Cutting's (Cutting Line Designs http://www.fabriccollections.com/) full day tips and techniques class and it was exceptional. I attended an excellent 1-hr seminar called Serger 911 taught by Unique Patterns/Kathy Ruddy. She also teaches the full day version, which I will take another time. Bought a 3-pair set of Kai scissors (http://www.kaiscissors.com/) that cuts all the way to the tip/point. There was an extensive display of decorated bras, which was very entertaining to view. Haberman Fabrics (http://www.habermanfabrics.com/) from Detroit area had some awesome and $$$ yardage for sale. Their store would be worth a visit. Most major machine manufacturers had large displays for hands-on trial. About 20% of the show was related to quilting, which I am not really interested in. It was fun to people-watch, as there were many creative clothes worn by attendees and vendors.
I will go again next year.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Expo Review    Read All Sewing Expo Reviews


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
10Ksteps said...
I wanted to attend, but I couldn't. Your good review helps me get a feel for what sounds like a good show. Thanks.
10/3/06 0:39 AM
umjudis said...
Lily Orleans Mason & I went together to this Expo on Friday. This my 4th Expo & Lily's 1st. I thought this year's was a little lacking compared to others. For instance, last year they had about 4 vendors that only sold buttons and none this year. Last year I noticed alot of vendors sold buttons in their booths even if they sold other things. We did enjoy the the vintage patterns, trims & buttons sold by a couple of vendors. But wow! They were pricey. Lily found some buttons she really liked but they were $35 for 5. They were plastic not made of any extraordinary material. They had more exhibits this year than in past years. We thoroughly enjoyed the bra competition. What creativity! We also went to 2 fashion shows. The first was put on by the Independent Patternmakers Alliance. The second was at the end of the day by Simplicity. Afterwards we talked with Debra Kneiling, director of design development. Also Wendy Mullin, Built by Wendy, was there. We complimented Debra on her jacket, Simplicity 4109, a Built by Wendy. Turns out the fabric she used was from Metro Textiles/Kashi! She was surprised we knew about that. Haberman's is one of my favorite booths. And they always offer a 10% show discount as well as offer a coupon for 10% on any purchase until mid-October. This year alot of booths had samples of their patterns to try on. In the past it seemed only Simplicity did that. I'm sorry I missed that Serger 911 class. I thought they only had the day-long one on Thursday. Hopefully they'll offer it again next year. Although I did find out that a local machine dealer, Leabu's here in Ann Arbor, is going to offer an advanced serger class. We were there from 10 in the morning until 6 at night and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Yes, I will go again next year. P.S. Some of the tips from the Expo that are most helpful is taking your name & address labels for mailing lists, wearing comfortable walking shoes (you are on cement all day), and carrying water & snacks with you.
10/4/06 11:47 AM
Pateria said...
I love this show! This is the first thing I put in my new day planner every year! I do the day long workshop on Thursday and seminars the rest of the weekend. This year it did seem like there were fewer vendors--but I'm not sure. I also don't do quilts, so many of the booths were of little interest to me. It is just fun to be around so many people who speak the same language - Sewing! I do wish there were more young people attending. We all need to teach a younger person how to sew and take them to the Expo next year. Let's keep sewing going!
10/5/06 10:12 PM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
I happened to be in Detroit on business, and managed to make it to the show on Saturday. I contented myself with just strolling around the booths...I tried attending one of the free seminars on silk, but I couldn't stand listening to the lecturer, so I left... I was trying very hard not to purchase anything I could easily get at home, or that would cause me to have to pay for extra baggage on the way home, but even so I ended up buying Burmese and Thai silk, Thai cotton trimming, Burmese coins made into buttons, tons of swarovski rhinestones, west african jacquards, hmong embroideries, cloisonne pendants, and all manner of other things. Over all it was fun, but I don't think I would have done more than the one partial day I was there. None of the classes interested me, and way too many of the booths were about quilting for my personal tastes. I don't know that I would attend any sewing show every year...it's been my very limited experience that you pretty much get the same vendors year after year...and that gets dull.
10/9/06 6:52 PM
Muria said...
I went with my mother-in-law, my daughter (12), and my 1 year old (in a baby sling) on Saturday. I wish I'd looked through the guide while we were eating lunch, as there were a few places I forgot to check out. I'd also like to go to Leabu for their serger class, but didn't actually stop at their booth. I just saw the words "Ann Arbor" and remembered the name of the store to check out later. We came home with lots of stuff, and there were other things I wanted that I will probably buy sometime this year (paintstiks, and needle felting stuff specifically). It's always fun discovering all new ways to avoid housework. :) Does Leabu do fabric, too, or is it pretty much just machines? I saw it from a distance when we were split up, but didn't manage to get back to it.
10/11/06 12:36 PM
Beebes said...
Yeah, good idea to bring water and sandwich when attending next time. The Leabu sewing store (www.leabusewingcenter.com) is a small, but has lots of activities. They also repair machines.
10/12/06 11:19 AM
kaye0071 said...
Thank you for the review! Novi will be my first expo as it's close to my home. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it.
9/7/07 4:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.