SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Class Reviews > Trendy Tanks & Tees

Viewed 5360 times
Posted by: AnneFromLambourn
photo

 
 
About AnneFromLambourn star
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 6/28/04
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
classes reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/3/06 3:58 PM
Rating: thumbsdown
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This is the first on-line class I have attempted and I think it will be my last. I felt there was little interaction and even less help for students. Without this it was hard to try to keep any sort of motivation or enthusiasm for the class.

Here is the class info:
"Beginning with a basic pattern on July 10 (included in the class), we will learn how to fit a basic tee and tank from the same shell. I will show you how to add shelf bra support into your tanks, how to add a strap carrier to wear bras with your tanks, how to cleanly finish the edges of tees and tanks with facings, bias bindings, flip-and-fuse and more." Ialso chose to subscribe to a Pattern Plus offer that gave "FIVE more variations, PLUS six patterns that you will learn to make and adjust using your fitted tee pattern from class."

The lessons consist of approx 5 lessons posted each week, 22 in total, with a discussion forum for each step, which is started with a question from the teacher, Heather. A typical lesson could be
the information on how to draft a style of collar. The discussion would then be asking if it is a design that you might try, if not why not, what fabric might you use? For the first few lessons, we all dutifully posted replies but replies or answers were rarely forthcoming and eventually the postings petered out. Steps such as strap carriers and shelf bras were not covered in the classes at all. I have not, to date, been supplied with the pattern plus that I subscribed for.

I tried to contact SeeItSewIt to find out what had happened to the class, there is a forum on there. Until last Friday I heard nothing from the site owners, along with other members there were no replies to emails or phone messages. Volunteer Forum Guides did their best to help but had no idea where Heather, the site owner was or how to contact her.

Last Friday, after around 6 weeks, one of my messages was answered with a standard reply stating that they had been unable to access phone or email due to hurricane damage. The query was not addressed but the email said all their backlog of queries would be cleared by 1 October. So, I asked again. No reply, but another standard email with a special offer to sign up for a different course.

I have asked for a refund as I now have no confidence in the commitment to those who have paid their fees for a course. Again, I have not heard anything. I accept that the business has had problems, but find it hard to believe that there was no way whatsoever of getting a message to the site explaining the difficulties and advising those keen to subscribe to wait until the situation was resolved and existing customers sorted out.

To advertise for new classes when there are many waiting in vain for the ones they have already paid for is just not acceptable to me, I am very disheartened by this experience.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


16 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
This sounds like a real bummer. I have taken several classes here at PR (mainly from Shannon Gifford) and have been very pleased. You might try one of her classes before you give up on online classes.
10/3/06 8:21 PM
Barbara R said...
I took another class from Heather (reviewed elsewhere on PR) and had a similar experience. It's been 6 months and still no refund. I've asked my credit card company to reverse the fee but I don't know if they have done it yet (forgot to check on my last statement) but I don't think so. Very frustrating.
10/4/06 0:18 AM
ryan's mom said...
I'm so sorry you had such a horrible experience with your first on-line class. Please don't let it sour you though. I have had nothing but great experiences here with PR classes. If you are interested in a tee class, think about giving Shannon Gifford's Build a Better Tee class. That was an awesome class!
10/4/06 6:50 AM
Sanibelle said...
To ditto Ryan'sMom, sorry you had such a terrible experience, but thank you so much for taking the time to write this up for us.
10/4/06 7:01 AM
AnneFromLambourn said...
A PS: since posting this review, a kind volunteer guide from the site has manged to sort access to my six missing patterns.
10/4/06 8:20 AM
PaulaM said...
I've also taken Heather's classes and had the same experience. However, I took two PR classes and was shocked at the difference. I would highly recommend you try a PR class, especially one of Shannon Gifford's. Her instructions were excellent, and we got an e-mail each day telling us when the next class was posted and when new messages were posted. I give the PR classes I've taken a two thumbs up.
10/4/06 8:44 AM
christine A said...
I too have not been totally thrilled with the see it sew it classes. I have enjoyed the downloads but have felt that after getting them there was not much else in the way of instruct . Especially for this Tee class. I feel the moderators are doing a great job to the best of their ability. There is alot of potential for this site and classes. I too am going to be much more selective in classes online.
10/4/06 9:00 AM
krystalkaes said...
I agree with all who say to try a PR online class before you give up on online classes completely. I have taken several and attest to the fact that Deepika answers questions quickly as all the teachers I have taken classes from which is Kenneth King, Mary McCarthy, Sarah Veblen and I am signed up for Shannon Gifford's pattern making class now. Hope you try again. . .maybe just one more.
10/4/06 10:04 AM
Sewnla said...
Thanks for sharing your experience. I sure will be sticking with PR classes. I have enjoyed every class I have taken on this site. PR class instructors are so attentive and informative. Now thanks to you I have no reason to look any place else!
10/4/06 10:27 AM
missyT said...
Ditto. I too have taken 2 classes from SeeItSewIt. I had a very bad experience with both of them. I decided never to take another on-line class. I did read reviews on PR about Shannon Gifford's classes and with great fear and trepidation I then took 'Pattern Making' with Shannon Gifford. It was wonderful. She takes such care in all she does. I then took Make A Muslin' because I had had such a great experience with her last class. I have never taken a more WONDERFUL class. She answers all questions in detail in a kind, polite and friendly manner and in a timely fashion. Nor have I ever had more information on a subject and more pictures, pages and pages of them. No question seems too insignificant for her to answer and she does it so well. Don't let your last experience stop you. I can not vouch for any other classes, but Shannon Gifford is a teacher that I would take any class from. The best teacher I have ever taken a class from on-line or otherwise.
10/4/06 10:32 AM
cindyann said...
Wow, that is just terrible. I tried the free class download from them several months ago but never could access it. Emailed but never received a response. That in itself made me realize that I did not want to take classes there. I can understand why you would be upset. Especially at the amount of $$ you put out for this class.
10/4/06 10:55 AM
LesleeD said...
Hi Anne, I have taken numerous online courses. I have learned so much from Heather's classes, but with much frustration. She is a great talent, but a poor business woman. After these last couple of months, I am giving up on her classes. I have taken classes on Pattern Review with Kenneth King, Sharon Gifford and Susan Khalje. I absolutely love them and plan to take more. The classes are faster paced, which I prefer. I'm a slow sewer and usually don't complete everything by the end of the lessons, but I download the chat transcripts until I get to the end. I have learned so much from all of the online classes I've taken and am grateful to Pattern Review and Heather. I don't know what the problem is with Heather right now and I won't consider any more classes with her anytime soon. I hope she gets her life together and I can think about more classes with her. Pattern Review on the other hand is really fabulous and professional. I wouldn't hesitate to take classes with this site.
10/5/06 1:32 PM
Nancy K said...
I can't agree about the Pattternreview classes. I took the pant form class about a year ago and found that the teacher was unresponsive to my problems with the form. The downloads were unnumbered and hard to put in order and if you didn't make the form right away, you could no longer get any help. The materials were expesive and the form is unusable. A wast e of my time and money. I would not take another on line class either. I don't see that they are any better than a good, well illustrated book which is a lot less money.
10/6/06 1:09 PM
Peggym said...
Anne, I have taken 3 classes with Heather and I did learn but found the slow progress very frustrating. the last class the dress Form really never got off the ground and it was expensive. You live and learn, however I have since tried Pattern Review on-line classes and have done 3 with Shannon gifford, like a previous poster found the class supberb both in content and in support. I cannot rate Shannon highly enough. the nortes received daily with the online help made the see it sew it site look really amateurish. I am going to stick with Pattern Review and put the see it sew it debacle down to experience.
10/6/06 6:11 PM
Diane Tucker said...
I have not taken any of the SeeItSewIt lessons because I had a negative experience when trying to purchase a SeItSewIt pattern. Th pattern would not download, and the site would not accept my login /password after I made my purchase. I contacted, the site and explained my problems. I did not receive any help for a couple of weeks. By then, my enthusium to sew the new pattern was gone, even though my credit card had been charged.
10/16/06 10:39 AM
leopardstripes said...
It's always good to hear the truth, especially in a case like this, where one would otherwise throw money away! Thanks so much for letting us know what can happen with these classes.
1/24/10 3:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.