SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Preserving a Pattern

Viewed 5502 times
Posted by: raggedyandrew
photo

 
 
About raggedyandrew star
TN USA
Member since: 9/29/06
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/5/06 9:00 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I am not sure if this tip has been posted before but I would like to pass I along anyway
As a costume designer/maker I tend to use the same pattern several times to prevent them from getting ragged and possiably becoming inaccurate I first press the pattern piece with a dry Iron and them press it to Freezer paper wrong side of pattern to shiny side of freezer paper I then have a pattern that will last for years
Freezer paper ROCKS and can be found just about every where for Aprox. $6.00 a roll (150 square feet)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
AndreaP said...
Does the freezer paper stick to the pattern? Sounds like a great way to save the patterns you use over and over.
10/6/06 0:17 AM
ktsews2 said...
I have also found that using old iron-on interfacing is good too. I have used the plastic from the dry cleaners and ironed it on the back of patterns as well. With this one you have to be really careful not to get the plastic on the iron, but it works well.
10/6/06 7:04 AM
slanden99 said...
Great idea. I need to put freezer paper on my shopping list. BTW Based on your profile, I think you should upgrade your skill level.
10/6/06 10:32 AM
OP Gal said...
I do this, too, but have never seen anyone else mention that they do it. Glad to see I'm not alone. I think it preserves them beautifully. I have "master" patterns I've had for years and they're perfectly usable still. You can keep pressing them over and over each time you get them out of the envelope.
10/6/06 11:24 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Great tip, I haven't heard of using freezer paper before. Welcome to PR too! :-)
10/7/06 4:16 PM
QuiltsShoots&Leaves said...
This seems much easier than tracing the pattern over onto sturdier paper, my previous method!
10/9/06 12:37 PM
dede519 said...
Great tip!! I'm always looking for a great way to perserve a favorite pattern
10/12/06 6:17 PM
nana9 said...
I do this to. But will try the interfacing I think that a good way to use up bits and pieces that i have. thanks
11/9/06 3:37 PM
Puddin Pop said...
Thanks for the tip.
2/15/07 10:54 AM
MargieLou said...
Sounds like a great way to keep the pieces in good shape! Thank you~
7/28/08 1:34 AM
HRS0401ECU said...
This may be a silly question, but what setting do I put my iron on and do I press it like I'm applying interfacing to fabric? I'm sure it's an obvious answer but im a perfectionist and I'm a very literal person a horrible combo lol. Any other tips u can give I would love. I am teaching myself to sew... The closest place to take sewing leassons is 1 hour away... :(
5/5/11 11:12 PM
HRS0401ECU said...
This may be a silly question, but what setting do I put my iron on and do I press it like I'm applying interfacing to fabric? I'm sure it's an obvious answer but im a perfectionist and I'm a very literal person a horrible combo lol. Any other tips u can give I would love. I am teaching myself to sew... The closest place to take sewing leassons is 1 hour away... :(
5/5/11 11:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.