Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Baby Steps 6 - Marking a hem (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5081 times
Review rated Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Posted by: Helen near Sydney
photo
About Helen near Sydney starstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/6/06 6:37 PM
Last Updated: 7/26/07 4:49 PM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Baby Steps 6 – Marking a hem

I hate measuring and pinning a hem. It’s tedious, takes forever and doesn’t always result in a smooth line. Try this method, it’s simple but effective.

If you need to take up a 2” hem…..
1. place a strip of duct tape on your sewing machine bed, parallel with the needle plate and 2” from the needle.
2. thread your machine with a contrast colour and baste all the way around your garment, keeping the raw edge of the fabric lined up with the duct tape.
3. finish the raw edge as usual. For me, this is usually with an overlocker. It doesn't matter if this is a bit wonky because you've already accurately marked the hem fold.
4. fold the hem up using the basting line as a guide and iron in place.
5. stitch the hem in place.

HINT: Leave the duct tape on your sewing machine so you can use it again next time!


Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
christine A said...
Thanks for the easy tip. I am just about ready for a 1 1/2 inch hem for a skirt. I agree I hate to hem too. This looks really easy!
10/6/06 10:05 PM
tweedcurtain said...
Great tip. I do something similar, only I use a thick elastic band instead, so that I can change its position depending on the depth of my hem.
10/6/06 11:54 PM
fatbaby said...
Great idea! Thanks Wanda (fatbaby)
10/7/06 7:12 AM
Sanibelle said...
I'm going to try this on the pair of pants I'm working on! You might have noticed a great spike in page views of your Babysteps5 tip just before I wrote my 1st review :) Thank you!
10/7/06 8:49 AM
Sanibelle said...
Just wanted to let you know that this worked great. I no longer dread hemming! Thank you so much.
10/20/06 2:06 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
That's great Sanibelle, thanks for letting me know.
10/21/06 3:32 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us