SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Baby Steps 6 - Marking a hem

Viewed 5185 times
Posted by: Helen near Sydney
photo

 
 
About Helen near Sydney starstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 124
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/6/06 6:37 PM
Last Updated: 7/26/07 4:49 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Baby Steps 6 – Marking a hem

I hate measuring and pinning a hem. It’s tedious, takes forever and doesn’t always result in a smooth line. Try this method, it’s simple but effective.

If you need to take up a 2” hem…..
1. place a strip of duct tape on your sewing machine bed, parallel with the needle plate and 2” from the needle.
2. thread your machine with a contrast colour and baste all the way around your garment, keeping the raw edge of the fabric lined up with the duct tape.
3. finish the raw edge as usual. For me, this is usually with an overlocker. It doesn't matter if this is a bit wonky because you've already accurately marked the hem fold.
4. fold the hem up using the basting line as a guide and iron in place.
5. stitch the hem in place.

HINT: Leave the duct tape on your sewing machine so you can use it again next time!



<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
christine A said...
Thanks for the easy tip. I am just about ready for a 1 1/2 inch hem for a skirt. I agree I hate to hem too. This looks really easy!
10/6/06 10:05 PM
tweedcurtain said...
Great tip. I do something similar, only I use a thick elastic band instead, so that I can change its position depending on the depth of my hem.
10/6/06 11:54 PM
fatbaby said...
Great idea! Thanks Wanda (fatbaby)
10/7/06 7:12 AM
Sanibelle said...
I'm going to try this on the pair of pants I'm working on! You might have noticed a great spike in page views of your Babysteps5 tip just before I wrote my 1st review :) Thank you!
10/7/06 8:49 AM
Sanibelle said...
Just wanted to let you know that this worked great. I no longer dread hemming! Thank you so much.
10/20/06 2:06 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
That's great Sanibelle, thanks for letting me know.
10/21/06 3:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.