SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Baby Steps 6 - Marking a hem

Viewed 5229 times
Posted by: Helen near Sydney
photo

 
 
About Helen near Sydney starstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 129
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/6/06 6:37 PM
Last Updated: 7/26/07 4:49 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Baby Steps 6 – Marking a hem

I hate measuring and pinning a hem. It’s tedious, takes forever and doesn’t always result in a smooth line. Try this method, it’s simple but effective.

If you need to take up a 2” hem…..
1. place a strip of duct tape on your sewing machine bed, parallel with the needle plate and 2” from the needle.
2. thread your machine with a contrast colour and baste all the way around your garment, keeping the raw edge of the fabric lined up with the duct tape.
3. finish the raw edge as usual. For me, this is usually with an overlocker. It doesn't matter if this is a bit wonky because you've already accurately marked the hem fold.
4. fold the hem up using the basting line as a guide and iron in place.
5. stitch the hem in place.

HINT: Leave the duct tape on your sewing machine so you can use it again next time!



<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Helen near Sydney said...
That's great Sanibelle, thanks for letting me know.
10/21/06 3:32 AM
Sanibelle said...
Just wanted to let you know that this worked great. I no longer dread hemming! Thank you so much.
10/20/06 2:06 PM
Sanibelle said...
I'm going to try this on the pair of pants I'm working on! You might have noticed a great spike in page views of your Babysteps5 tip just before I wrote my 1st review :) Thank you!
10/7/06 8:49 AM
fatbaby said...
Great idea! Thanks Wanda (fatbaby)
10/7/06 7:12 AM
tweedcurtain said...
Great tip. I do something similar, only I use a thick elastic band instead, so that I can change its position depending on the depth of my hem.
10/6/06 11:54 PM
christine A said...
Thanks for the easy tip. I am just about ready for a 1 1/2 inch hem for a skirt. I agree I hate to hem too. This looks really easy!
10/6/06 10:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

More Info
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.