SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > Darting Below the Beltline

A PatternReview.com Class
Viewed 5385 times
Posted by: ryan's mom
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ryan's mom starstarstar
Member since: 11/30/04
Reviews written: 130
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
classes reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/8/06 5:22 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
Web site/URL: Darting below the Beltline
Another awesome Patternreview class!

Almost a year ago, I bought 3 of Jean Haas' CD's, and Darting Below the Beltline was one of them. I did the CD on my own, but...as usual I can think of zillion questions so I thought it would be better to take the on-line class. Class structure is so much better for me in that I'm motivated to get things done within the class timeframe. When I took the class, I had dial-up so I asked Jean if the CD was any different from the class downloads as I hate downloading video w/dialup. No problem--the CD took the place of anything that needed to be downloaded. Since taking the class, I now have DSL!!! :)

Jean helped me find the right fabric for the duct tape mold since the first time I tried it on my own I used an interlock from Hancock's. It wasn't 100% cotton and that was a big source of my problems. The 100% cotton jersey I ordered just for this class made a BIG difference.

My original plan was to have my 12-year old daughter tape me. She did it the first time and did a wonderful job. But now she is in school and Jean said I could tape myself for this class with no problem since I'm on the thin side. She was SO right. No problems whatsoever in taping. The marking was a little more tedious and a helper would have been good, but it was still very do-able on my own. Cutting if off down the CF was no problem either.

Jean, as usual, was a great and informative instructor. Her method of instruction for the students is to create customized videos for each student in the class. Yes! I said a customized video--um, make that videoS!

Once the duct tape mold is cut off and cut into quadrants, you can post the pics and Jean will create a video of the pics showing/explaining where to make the cuts for darts. The video uses her own audio and you can actually she her drawing on the pics to make cuts. It is such a fabulous use of technology! It greatly helps in understanding where to cut, the whys and hows for the various bodies of the class participants.

Her videos included how to make the custom cuts for each student who submitted photos, how to use the duct tape patterns to alter commercial patterns, creating a pattern for low-rise jeans from the duct tape patterns, how to create the contoured waistband, and establishing grainlines.

When I actually saw how I differed from the commercial pattern, it was truly an enlightening experience. I could easily see why I was encountering problems because of the number of darts, length and width of darts from the commercial patterns vs. the same thing on my custom duct tape pattern. The duct tape pattern doesn't lie! It really shows how high and full my right hip is in comparison to my left. And those of you that have to deal with asymetry know what a bear this can be.

My next project is making some Vogue pants with my custom duct tape waist to hip-line pattern. I'm very excited about it and am looking forward to a great fit.

I highly recommend this class for a better pant or skirt fit. It's amazing what you will discover about your lower half. It's easy to see if any lengthing/shortening needs to be done from the hipline to waist on commercial patterns from the duct tape pattern too.

Below are some links of photos I took for the class as I was progressing with the duct tape pattern:

Duct tape on me with hipline note:

http://home.epix.net/~doldot/dbbhiipline.jpg

Duct tape quadrants before making cuts:

http://home.epix.net/~doldot/dbbfrontsandbacks.JPG

Duct tape quadrants after dart cuts and contoured waist markings:

http://home.epix.net/~doldot/dbbfrontall.jpg

Duct tape pattern overlayed on a commercial Vogue skirt pattern. Note that my pattern is not even at the hipline, but about an inch above it!!! I was asking Jean a question on something else at the time, but you can see how much length I will need to take out of the pattern to make the seamline of the pattern reach the edge of my duct tape pattern (which is the seamline because my duct tape pattern doesn't have seam allowances).

http://home.epix.net/~doldot/dbboverlaya.jpg

When I make my skirt and pants using my duct tape model, I will be sure to link it with this review so you can see the final result.

Summary/conclusion: Jean's a great instructor who can help you obtain a great fit on the lower half. The class specifically targets the area between the waist and hipline. Jean's use of technology is a huge plus for those of us who like visuals. And you just can't beat those customized videos :) ! SO helpful!!!

Note: My internal links will probably disappear after a month or two. If anyone is interested in seeing them once they disappear, I will repost. My service provider charges me for server space used beyond my limit and I currently have a lot of pics on it from my Patternreview classes so some will have to go.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Orsi said...
Where can I buy the CDs mentioned above or sign up for the online classes from jean Haas?
11/7/07 8:33 AM
Rowena B said...
I was in this class also and it was a real eye opener for me as to how my body is really shaped in this area. I'm in Australia and had no problems with the chats, well except for the one one at 3am my time. Great review, Ryan's Mom, better than I could have written.
10/13/06 8:51 AM
LaurieEm said...
Thank you for telling us so much about your experience. Another class I want to take! I would add that I've had the pleasure of taking a class with Jean in person, and she is wonderful.
10/12/06 2:42 AM
christine A said...
Thanks for the review. I will definately consider this class based on this review!
10/10/06 1:40 AM
ChrisK said...
Ryan's mom, thank you for this very detailed and accurate review of this fantastic PR class. I really learned a lot about my shape and how to adapt commercial patterns from Jean, and I agree, the technology Jean uses is awesome! I'd like to add for our European members, that I live in England and 2 of the class chats were timed so that I was able to join in and didn't need to stay awake into the early hours of the morning.
10/9/06 4:29 AM
patsijean said...
This is certainly worth taking next time around. Thank you.
10/9/06 0:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.