SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Sewing on Slinky Tips

Viewed 6038 times
Posted by: bheath
photo

 
 
About bheath star
NC USA
Member since: 4/11/04
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/14/06 6:22 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 42 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I attended a free seminar today on 'Sewing with Slinky' and learned some neat tips.
- Wash Slinky in hot water and throw in the dryer before cutting out! (Drip dry the finished garment though each time it's laundered after that)
- Use a walking foot
- Use a long stitch length (but not a stretch stitch)
- Baste seams first and try on before sewing final seams
- If you are using black fabric and thread - use another color thread to baste as it will be much easier to adjust
- When cutting out your pattern - don't let the slinky hang over the edge of your cutting surface as this will distort the fabric
- Treat slinky like napped fabric. Use a piece of scotch tape and draw an arrow on it to remind you which way you decide to have the fabric run
- Sew all pieces in the same direction - i.e., if you sew a seam top to bottom - sew remainder of seams that way.
- Some printed slinkys have a solid color on the opposite side. So if you have a printed slinky you are using for a top - you can purchase enough slinky (if the back is a solid matching color) and use the same fabric wrongside for pants or a skirt!
- To help with marking use a Chalkoliner pen marker
- Use good scissors to prevent snagging!
- while most of us fuss with hems - you can use a rotary cutter to ensure a VERY clean line on hem - leave as is and don't hem. Know one will know! (I don't know if I'd do this as I like to finish off my garments); Another trick is to use 2 sided fusible tape on the hem. Iron on, turn up, iron again and then hem.
- Instead of using a facing - use grosgrain ribbon. Looks very nice and adds a fun touch.
- To make slinky piping . . . use baby cord elastic and cover the elastic with the slinky to make the piping. Sew the slinky piping into the seam and then pull out the cord! Voila! A very small, non bulky piping for your garment

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


18 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Matilda M said...
Thanks, I found a lovely piece of red slinky for a cocktail dress--glad they kept your tips all these years!
11/18/11 6:14 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Thanks for the tips! I had been using a stretch stitch, and just tried a longer, non-stretch stitch and this really helped! I had thought I was going to be stuck with the serger, as I hate to do when I'm not sure about fit (as with a new pattern.) Thanks!!!
8/29/09 9:20 AM
Patricia Dee said...
I love slinky but working with it has been difficult due to it's stretching while I sew. Especially neck and arm hole. I will follow your suggestions and use a walking foot and also baste, Which I have not done. Thanks so much for your tips
2/25/08 5:14 PM
ceedee said...
Since I have lots of unsewn slinky, I'm reading everything I can on it. Your review is the first place I've seen mention of the grosgrain tip and the slinky piping tip. Thank you for those! I will be adding to my collection of slinky notes. Very helpful.
11/5/06 9:23 PM
dede519 said...
Thanks for the tips. This is definately something to store away until needed.
10/17/06 8:05 PM
Sew it seams said...
Fantastic tips. Thank you for posting them.
10/16/06 6:38 AM
Runrover said...
Thanks for the tip. Was this the seminar sponsored by the Raleigh Sewing Guild? I bet it was really nice. The Raleigh Guild had Emma Seabrooke present last month and it was great. I picked up some nice, nice slinky from her.
10/15/06 9:29 PM
AnneM said...
Thanks for all the tips. I'll add another one from Georgene: lay out your fabric, and then wait until the next day before cutting it out. It will help with the shaping.
10/15/06 7:42 PM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Super dooper idea about the slinky piping with babycord elastic! Would work on any fabric...
10/15/06 3:43 PM
OP Gal said...
I'm printing this one out and putting it in my "Tips & Tricks" 3-ring binder for the time when I get up the nerve to sew slinky. Thanks for the tips!
10/15/06 3:31 PM
AndreaP said...
Great tips. I'm sewing with slinky this weekend and will use several of your suggestions.
10/15/06 11:52 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for concise listing of tips. It's a nice addition to Liana McConnell and Gigi's tips that are found here (somewhere) on this site. It helps to use a piece of Solvy (wash away stabilizer) at the start of a seam. A walking foot is essential if using a sewing machine. As I recall, Liana doesn't like using a serger, but Gigi does. I have had no problems using a serger. Emma Seabrooke recommends using clear elastic in any long seams -- Do not stretch the elastic. This helps keep its shape. Be careful drying too long in the dryer. Drying on low for about 10 minutes, then laying flat to dry is recommended. I wouldn't hang anything made of slinky -- It stretches and shortens the life of the garment. I always use a rotary cutter when cutting out the pattern. Thanks for the piping idea -- will have to try it! You can make a tiny ribbing from slinky (1/4" showing) to finish the neckline -- It's quick and easy.
10/15/06 8:29 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great tips in this review! I have a cut of Slinky sitting around ready to use. This info will help a lot.
10/15/06 7:00 AM
ksoml said...
Thank you for this information; I learned a few of these tips through trial and error and your information will help reduce my error rate!
10/15/06 1:40 AM
kathi s said...
Thank you!
10/14/06 10:36 PM
christine A said...
great tips! I have added to my favorite for future reference!
10/14/06 9:02 PM
Ginny McCarley said...
Have never sewed slinky;however I do have some in my stash and will try many of your suggestions.
10/14/06 8:05 PM
solosmocker said...
Thansk for your tips. I have some slinky waiting to be dealt with this long cold upcoming winter.
10/14/06 7:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.