SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Stay organized with multi-piece patterns

Viewed 5184 times
Posted by: nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About nancy2001 starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
tips added: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/20/06 9:03 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
Featured in the PR book!
This is a basic tip, but I thought it would be useful to some members. I'm now sewing a princess seamed jacket that has almost thirty pieces, and that's just for the fashion fabric. With so many pieces it's essential to be systematic and organized. I've found it especially helpful to clearly mark the pattern piece number on every piece of fabric.

I'm working with a dark fabric and I've marked the pattern number on each piece with Easy Mark Crayon, an iron away white marker from Nancy's Notions that stays visible until you iron it away. I also add an apostrophe (for example, 18') to each piece intended for the left side of the gament. And I cut my pieces in numerical order and check them off the list included in the pattern's direction sheet.

Patterns with large numbers of pieces can seem challenging, especially to beginners. But if you stay organized, they're really not much more difficult than those with fewer pieces.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
christine A said...
Thanks for the tip. It should be common sense, but one just doesn't think it through- so thank you for these simple clear directions.
10/20/06 4:26 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great idea - thanks!
10/20/06 5:37 PM
Barbara R said...
Hmmm... Easy Mark Crayon... Sounds like another notion I just must have. Great tip. Thanks!
10/21/06 0:19 AM
Stilltheone said...
Great idea!
10/21/06 9:18 AM
Nikoo said...
Awesome Tip!!!!
10/21/06 9:32 AM
Ann Smith said...
Great tip. I also find it helpful to stack the cut pieces in numerical order as the instructions usually use them in that order.
10/21/06 9:38 PM
jeanharville said...
Thanks for the tip, I seem to spend too much time looking for what I need next jean
10/23/06 9:34 AM
Mufffet said...
Great tip. I will never sew anything with that many pieces, but if I get crazy and try, I will remember this.
10/23/06 4:57 PM
meanjean said...
This is a good idea. I like to use chalk whenever possible. I usually use the chalk to mark a big "F" or "B" on front and back pieces, or an "O" on the outside of pieces where it's hard to tell inside from outside. Anyway, I think little pieces of painter's tape would work if you're using a busy print.
10/25/06 7:10 AM
Merry G said...
I dont see the easy mark crayon at Nancy's Notions...is there another name for it?
10/29/06 6:54 PM
nancy2001 said...
Merry, this is the information for the Easy Mark Crayon (listed as Easy Mark Combo). https://www.nancysnotions.com/NNVia/viaListProducts.jsp?searchText=easy^mark^crayon&modifier=SEARCH&reqTitle=TITLE_VIASEARCHRESULT
11/6/06 8:29 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Great reminder that the purpose and location of the miniscule pieces won't be nearly as obvious during construction. A couple of variations on this method: leave the pattern pieces attached until they're neeed, or use stick-on labels (like Avery address labels) to mark the pieces.
11/7/06 7:36 AM
MargieLou said...
Very good idea! It's so easy to get messed up! Thank you!
7/28/08 1:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.