SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Expo Reviews > Creative Sewing and Needlecraft Festival

Ontario, CANADA
Viewed 5481 times
Posted by: Welmoed Sisson
photo

 
 
About Welmoed Sisson star
MD USA
Member since: 4/26/03
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
expos reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/21/06 9:55 PM
Rating: thumbsdown
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I went to this show five years ago (in 2001) and had a blast; there was a lot for garment sewing both in the class roster and on the vendor floor. This year, I thought I had wandered into the wrong show. The vast majority of vendor spaces were devoted to scrapbooking, beading or knitting. There was precious little that actually had anything at all to do with sewing. Even the fabric stores booths were a fraction of the size they were just a few years ago. Most sewing machine manufacturers had nice booths, but that was about it -- most of the "make & takes" were for the scrapbooking crowd, or for the machine-specific stuff (i.e. embroidery). I got through the huge show floor in less than two hours -- and that was going through twice, just to make sure I hadn't missed something. I didn't take any classes -- when looking at the show brochure when it came out, I didn't see much that spoke to the garment sewer. That should have been the big tip-off!
The show has now changed its name to "Creativ Festival" (yes, without the "e"), probably to encompass all the various hobbies, not just sewing. It's such a shame... this used to be such a grand show. I have never attended their Spring show, so don't know if that's any different.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Expo Review    Read All Sewing Expo Reviews


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Stilltheone said...
Thanks so much for the review. I was planning on attending one of these in the future and it would be a long trip for me. I guess I won't now.
10/22/06 9:06 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
A number of us went last year and found the same thing, alhtough there were a few classes of interest last year. This year's offerings turned me off as well.
10/22/06 10:42 AM
carolynw said...
I too have stopped going as it's just too much "crafty" stuff for me - it used to be a "must go to" for me. I think it must be losing a lot of business. As Program Director for the sewing guild here I would be in charge of arranging transportation for the group - no takers this year and there weren't any last year either - all for the same reason - no longer relevant. Hope they wake up soon.
10/27/06 12:04 PM
Sew'n'go said...
Heartbreaking! I wondered about the show, so thanks for the review. Tory
10/29/06 4:13 PM
moushka said...
Thanks for the review. I didn't get there this year and initially was very disappointed. Now I'm relieved that I didn't waste my money. When I was last there three or four years ago, it took me a good five hours to explore the floor, and that's just marking off the booths to go back to! I'm happy to see the knitting revival but it's a shame that the crafty things have driven out the serious sewing classes. I wonder if the internet has reduced the need for the festival. It's now easier to find unusual fabric, sewing tools, even sewing lessons, than it was before the 'net. We can now take classes on-line instead of having to go to a special location. Of course, that's true for the crafty stuff, too, lol. Sue
10/31/06 9:06 AM
Kay Y said...
I totally agree with you Welmoed. I went this year too. For a garment sewer the pickings were slim indeed. The only reason to go would be to check and compare machines and maybe get a show special price. I had more fun fabric shopping on Queen Street afterwards than at the show. And Queen Street is open all the time!
10/31/06 12:22 PM
Squeezylemon said...
I am so glad I read your review as I had been thinking of coming over from Ireland for this show. Unfortunately our shows in Ireland have gone the same way - all cross stich and quilting and not a lot for the home dressmaker. Think I'll spend my flight money on material instead!!!!!!
6/15/07 6:50 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi! The brochure for the Fall 2007 Festival will be available 8/1... Let's see, eh.
7/31/07 2:40 PM
cafelatte said...
I had always wanted to attend this show..last year to my delight (I thought) I was able to attend on a Monday. I took my mom along because she loves sewing and everything about sewing as much as I do. Well, let me tell you...what a disappointment, I didn't have anything to compare it to, considering it was our first time attending but what a disappointment. We walked through the entire show twice in one hour...walked out empty handed. The only thing good about it...in my opinion is that if you are into quiliting, then there was plenty to see, as far as sewing, I recall finding only two vendors....and of those two, nothing worth the time and admission we paid. I hesitate to think about going this year....waste of money and time. I could spend the admission fee and transporation fee and of course the cost of lunch on fabric.
8/11/07 9:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.