SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > Pamela's Tailoring Boot Camp

Georgia, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5692 times
Posted by: Diane Tucker
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diane Tucker
IN USA
Member since: 1/24/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
classes reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/23/06 11:22 AM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Pamela Howard's class is limited to 6 students- so, you will enjoy very personal instruction. She has many years experience tailoring fine garments for her own customers, as well as writing many articles for Threads magazine. She is very knowledgeable and shows you the best looking techniques, while demonstrating many quick methods, as well. She gives you choices to make, and you never feel like she has insisted on only her way.
She brings many beautifully tailored fashions, in a wide variety of fabrics-wool, silk, knits, brocades. sweater knits, linen, etc. You will be impressed with her vast knowledge, her gentle teaching style and her sense of humor.
If I haven't convinced you to sign up for her boot camp yet, please consider the beautiful setting in which the class is held. No freezing cold, high rise hotel for these classes. The classes are held in a tranquil, antique, restored plantation an hour south of Atlanta. You can back your car right up to the barn doors of a lovely reproduction barn with large tables, pressing stations, loads of mirrors, bathroom facilities, and kitchen upstairs. You won't have to lug your sewing machine but a few steps. you sew in this converted (but new) barn with the dobled doors open to breathtaking gardens created by the Oak Grove Plantation owners, inkeepers, gardeners and top knotch couple. They serve you delicious, made from scratch breakfasts in the original plantation house www.oakgrovega.com.
All round, it was a delightful mini-vacation and sewing empowering five days. Don't miss this one .
This is NOT an online class, but I cannot removed that rolling banner

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
pcostanzo said...
how do I contact her to ask questions about scheduled classes. I can't find a contact email address on her web page.
4/14/12 3:58 PM
Diane Tucker said...
Hello Queendom, Sorry for delay in reply. Boot Camp took place at Oak Grove Plantation and is also where we stayed, either in upstairs of renovated barn, or cozy cottage down the driveway. It was quite delightful and the gardens were beautiful. Charge for stay at Bed and Breakfast was in addition to class fee. You wouldn't want to stay anywhere else and waste sewing time as you traveled there and back. We stayed up quite late sewing, Pamela stayed up with us to answer questions. See it atwww.oakgrovega.com Diane Tucker
11/11/06 8:21 PM
Skymom said...
I met Pamela at an ASG conference one year--she's so delightful! I'd love to spend a few days learning from her. THanks for the review.
11/9/06 1:37 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Sounds fantastic. I'm jealous!
10/29/06 9:54 PM
Charmaine said...
The class begins on Wednesday night after a "meet & greet" catered dinner. You will complete a fillted muslin by Thursday noon and will be ready to use that muslin as the pattern. It was a wonderful and rewarding experience and I came home with a perfectly fitted, very professional looking jacket. I enjoyed all the ladies I met and sewed with. Pam will stay with you until about 2-3 on Sunday afternoon. Most of us left by noon because we were traveling anywhere from 1 - 12 hours to get home. Pam Howard is a very patient, kind, informative, and talented teacher. I left Sunday at noon, arrived home around 10 pm on Sunday night, and have already completed another NE jacket I had previously started but was stuck on the alterations on the shoulder area. I am so pleased with everything I learned and am "on fire" with the process of making jackets. You will do yourself a great favor if you can schedule this boot camp. It is really a mini vacation in which you get to sew. How great is that?
10/25/06 10:20 PM
nancy2001 said...
Oops. I misread the information. The class runs from Thursday through Saturday, which is three days not five. It still sounds like a good deal.
10/25/06 12:24 PM
nancy2001 said...
Thanks so much for your very helpful review. Nancy Erickson of the Fashion Sewing Group recommends this class in her most recent newsletter, and I'd love to take it. I understand the fee is $550 for the five day class, which is very reasonable.
10/25/06 12:12 PM
Queendom said...
Sounds great! Can you tell me where you stayed? Price of Camp?
10/24/06 12:11 PM
Liane M said...
I want to go!
10/24/06 5:59 AM
Peggy L said...
Sounds wonderful!!!
10/24/06 4:57 AM
said...
Deedee, you beat me to it! It was awesome, wasn't it?
10/23/06 10:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.