Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Use half the serger cones (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 6041 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 31 people   
Posted by: Joey in Katy
photo
About Joey in Katy star
TX
Member since: 10/19/05
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/25/06 11:20 AM
Featured in the PR book!
Don't know if this one is already in the tip list or not -- but here goes.

I used to buy serger thread four cones at a time (for my 4 thread sergers). However, ever notice that you use much, much more upper and lower looper thread than you do needle thread?

So, try using only two cones instead of four! Just thread two bobbins from a serger cone -- and use the bobbins for the two needles. Bottom line, you have two bobbins feeding your two needles and two cones feeding the two loopers. Instead of buying sets of four same-color cones, you can get by with two same color cones -- and just buy many more colors!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Donna H said...
I had thought about this, but was unsure how long two bobbins threaded full would last while serging. Do you know?
10/25/06 11:28 AM
Joey in Katy said...
I figure they'd cover almost as much yardage as a bobbin would used on a regular sewing machine. They're just doing independant chain-type stitches, so they should use a tiny bit more thread than when used on a regular sewing machine. Anyone else have any thoughts?
10/25/06 12:59 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Gosh, I never thought about using bobbins. What I have done is, when changing colors, I alternate where the bobbins are used. So, that solves my problem. But - this is a great idea.
10/25/06 4:26 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I've done this with unusual colors. Who needs 4 cones of Brazilian Parrot Green Ombre? I think the bobbin lasts almost as long as it does on the sewing machine - and even if it means winding an extra bobbin or two, it's worth it to save both money and storage space.
10/25/06 8:37 PM
CSM--Carla said...
What a great idea!! I am new to serging and have 20 spools of sserger thread in a box here. So helpful. Thanks for posting. Carla
10/25/06 10:57 PM
BeckyC said...
What a great idea! I've been doing this 'silently' for years to avoid buying those odd color cones of serger thread.
10/26/06 7:43 AM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Good idea - though be sure you have enough on those bobbins for the job - as running out of thread is a bummer. I 'skimp' on the color of the lower looper inside garments, and keep in mind then to always have the upper looper side be the side that will be seen inside the garment.
10/26/06 7:54 AM
Rhoda K said...
I saw a notion at Nancy's Notions called a Bob 'n Serge that I plan to order. I think it's a great idea for using colors that you may not use a lot, etc. I've also used bobbins instead of buying more cones.
10/26/06 8:19 AM
Deepika said...
Great idea!
10/26/06 8:36 AM
OP Gal said...
Great idea. I plan to try it.
10/26/06 9:58 AM
christine A said...
Love this tip!
10/26/06 10:50 AM
simplystitches said...
Great idea, especially for those odd colors that may not get used very often!
10/26/06 10:17 PM
annsew65 said...
I bought one of those EZ Winder notions and I take my empty Mettler/Gutterman spools and wind off serger thread onto them. They hold a lot more than a bobbin. I've ended up buying one of each color of MaxiLock from Atlanta Thread at $1.99 per cone. My basic colors - black, white, brown, irovy, etc., I have 3 or 4 cones each - but as said before, how much do you use some of those wild colors. One can end up with so much thread to store and lets face it, those serger cones take up a lot of space.
10/27/06 1:51 AM
martinanne said...
Another vote for the EZ Winder. I use this to wind thread onto the EZ Winder spools and/or empty Gutermann spools. It's the same idea as bobbins, but you can put much more thread on there.
10/27/06 1:30 PM
jewelsfashions said...
Thank you for this great idea. I am new to serging (1 month now) and need all the tips I can get. Less expense and less space taken! Wonderful
10/27/06 7:20 PM
Sandrag said...
What a great idea! Thanks for the tip.
10/31/06 11:12 PM
utz said...
I should probably have gotten an EZ winder. But what I've done is to take an empty Gutterman spool and super-glue it to the plastic bobbin (Viking). I put bobbin on sewing machine and fill.
11/1/06 9:05 AM
Hilary said...
Great idea! This is really helpful when you live in the boonies and don't want to drive an hour and a half to buy 2 more spools of colors you already have to do finish a project :o) Thanks!!
11/7/06 8:33 AM
Eider said...
This is one of the most helpful tips I have seen , and I use it , also save a lot of money when it is time to buy more thread . THANKS !
4/18/08 0:32 AM
LindaCan2 said...
Super idea for everyone, especially for persons with new sergers and only a few cones.
11/3/09 7:47 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us