SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Expo Reviews > Original Sewing and Quilt Expo (Precision Sewing with Cynthia Guffey)

Minnesota, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5619 times
Posted by: sailor girl
photo

 
 
About sailor girl star
MN USA
Member since: 11/17/05
Reviews: 37 (expos: 3)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/10/06 10:17 AM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
All I can say is Wow! In six hours, I learned more about fine garment construction than my brain could hold.
In this hands on class, we covered seam finishes and collar construction. We learned, additionally, pressing techniques, how to get dead on edgestitching, top stitching and straight stitching, seam allowance grading and clipping, perfect point construction....and more.
I made the most beautiful collar ever-sharp cornered and smooth. I was so enthusiastic that I went home and made another just to be sure I had retained all of the details.
I cannot say enough positive things about Cynthia's teaching ability. Not only does she have the knowledge and experience, but she has broken down each detail logically. Her perfectionism is nicely balanced with her down home style. Besides, who doesn't love a woman who wears alligator boots with pearls. I am saving my pennies to fly down to LA and take more of her workshops.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

Add Sewing Expo Review    Read All Sewing Expo Reviews


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
PegL said... (11/18/06 0:01 AM) Reply
I just completed two days of classes with Cynthia at the Kansas City Expo. I took this same precision sewing class and was so impressed with how wonderfully everything worked! Cynthia is also a fantastic fitter! I also took a pants tweaking class and came out with a pair of muslin pants looking better on me than any I've ever had! Add me to the Cynthia Fan Club!
Queendom said... (11/11/06 12:38 PM) Reply
Guffey Groupie here. If you are even considering going to LA for her seminar, let me tip the scales for you--I have gone three years in a row and I'll be going again this year!! You will be absolutely amazed at what you learn and what you will accomplish while there. There is Nothing better than having Cynthia with you, one on one, for four days. GO! You will not be disappointed and you will laugh sew and eat until you are exhausted! If her style of sewing is what you aspire to, don't hesitate.
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said... (11/11/06 8:04 AM) Reply
One thing I've done while in class with Cynthia is to take notes by writing on my muslin samples as I make them. When I get home, I keep my samples in marked envelopes ("invisible zipper facing", "shirt collar" for example). Then when I'm in the middle of a project, I pull out those samples and walk myself through them that way.
10Ksteps said... (11/11/06 0:16 AM) Reply
You sold me on the value of a class with Cynthia. Thanks for the review.
sailor girl said... (11/10/06 6:27 PM) Reply
I also wish she'd had handouts-I ended up retyping my notes the night after-just like I did for biochem
BeckyC said... (11/10/06 10:36 AM) Reply
Cynthia's classes are amazing. I'm on Cynthia Guffey overload right now. I just wish that she had handouts for her classes. She doesn't like you to write while she talks or demonstrates, so sometimes I felt like I'd leave pertinent info out of my notes, because she'd move on so quickly. I wasn't that impressed with her books but she is a wealth of info on couture techniques.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.