SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > instant teflon foot

Viewed 6486 times
Posted by: GuriFB
photo

 
 
About GuriFB
NORWAY
Member since: 8/14/05
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/11/06 7:27 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 32 people   
Have you ever been in need of a teflon foot but have none? of cant find it? or even need a teflon zipper foot? Here's what I do: put a piece of scotch magi tape on the underside of the foot, and voila! goodbye to friction and you can sew on leather, pvc and all other sticky materials with ease

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


22 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
caper81 said...
Cool! I will definitely try this! :) Like kme60 I was just googling teflon foot and this link came up! I'm so excited to try this out :)
2/4/13 12:53 PM
threadandthumb said...
Thank You!
11/12/12 8:10 PM
kme60 said...
Thanks!! Just "stumbled" onto this tip online when looking to purchase teflon foot....you just saved me some $$. Thanks much!
8/6/11 7:44 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
I think you just saved my day - thank you, what a wonderful tip!!!!!
3/8/10 9:44 AM
nwphillips2003 said...
Wonderful tip for people that so infrequently! Thanks
1/21/10 8:42 AM
Dee21 said...

2/6/09 10:48 PM
Dee21 said...
This is a brillant idea. Thanks, this idea have solved my problem.
2/6/09 3:32 PM
farmrswife said...
Well LOL I just asked hubby if he had heard of plumbers Teflon tape? And he went to the kitchen pulled out his toll box and walla I got some now! LOL thanks to the angelica too!
5/8/08 1:01 AM
tweedcurtain said...
The nice thing about this idea is it can be applied to any foot's underside, so you can get the features of a Teflon foot combined with other special features, such as blind hem or piping or edge stitching. Excellent tip!
4/6/08 12:20 PM
angelica said...
you can also use plumbers teflon tape! :-)
8/12/07 12:19 PM
pacificprincess said...
I recently made water proof rain pants for Xmas gifts and had a terrible time sewing and used waxed paper - now I will definitely use tape. Thanks!
1/17/07 10:53 AM
costumecarol said...
Ah, great minds think alike! I used scotch tape on the presser foot, (the "disappearing" kind seems to have a very slick surface) to alter my $15 leather coat from Goodwill!
11/19/06 11:59 AM
Janice Long said...
I'll be trying this!
11/17/06 10:00 AM
Nancy K said...
I did this after reading your tip and yes! it works. I sewed some clear elastic, something I had trouble with and voila, perfections. Thanks
11/15/06 10:12 AM
cathy45 said...
How amazingly simple and straighforward! Wonderful!
11/14/06 12:42 PM
Nancy K said...
Wow thankyou for a great suggestion! I am going to try it with clear elastic, my personal nemesis.
11/13/06 8:41 AM
martinanne said...
Great idea! Thanks for the super tip.
11/13/06 2:12 AM
ktsews2 said...
Great remedy for all sticky situations. lol. What a clever idea.
11/12/06 10:25 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I've heard of 'teflon tape' to use like this, but I never did get around to buying any of it...now I'm glad I didn't. Can't wait to try this out. Thanks Guri!
11/12/06 5:07 AM
JenSews2 said...
Great idea!
11/12/06 2:05 AM
granny geek said...
Brilliant!!
11/12/06 0:19 AM
OP Gal said...
Hey, this is a great idea. I'm too cheap to invest in a Teflon foot--haven't needed one yet, but I'll sure keep this tip in mind.
11/11/06 9:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now
My Favorite Duffle Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.