SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > instant teflon foot

Viewed 6252 times
Posted by: GuriFB
photo

 
 
About GuriFB
NORWAY
Member since: 8/14/05
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/11/06 7:27 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 32 people   
Have you ever been in need of a teflon foot but have none? of cant find it? or even need a teflon zipper foot? Here's what I do: put a piece of scotch magi tape on the underside of the foot, and voila! goodbye to friction and you can sew on leather, pvc and all other sticky materials with ease

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


22 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
OP Gal said...
Hey, this is a great idea. I'm too cheap to invest in a Teflon foot--haven't needed one yet, but I'll sure keep this tip in mind.
11/11/06 9:35 PM
granny geek said...
Brilliant!!
11/12/06 0:19 AM
JenSews2 said...
Great idea!
11/12/06 2:05 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I've heard of 'teflon tape' to use like this, but I never did get around to buying any of it...now I'm glad I didn't. Can't wait to try this out. Thanks Guri!
11/12/06 5:07 AM
ktsews2 said...
Great remedy for all sticky situations. lol. What a clever idea.
11/12/06 10:25 AM
martinanne said...
Great idea! Thanks for the super tip.
11/13/06 2:12 AM
Nancy K said...
Wow thankyou for a great suggestion! I am going to try it with clear elastic, my personal nemesis.
11/13/06 8:41 AM
cathy45 said...
How amazingly simple and straighforward! Wonderful!
11/14/06 12:42 PM
Nancy K said...
I did this after reading your tip and yes! it works. I sewed some clear elastic, something I had trouble with and voila, perfections. Thanks
11/15/06 10:12 AM
Janice Long said...
I'll be trying this!
11/17/06 10:00 AM
costumecarol said...
Ah, great minds think alike! I used scotch tape on the presser foot, (the "disappearing" kind seems to have a very slick surface) to alter my $15 leather coat from Goodwill!
11/19/06 11:59 AM
pacificprincess said...
I recently made water proof rain pants for Xmas gifts and had a terrible time sewing and used waxed paper - now I will definitely use tape. Thanks!
1/17/07 10:53 AM
angelica said...
you can also use plumbers teflon tape! :-)
8/12/07 12:19 PM
tweedcurtain said...
The nice thing about this idea is it can be applied to any foot's underside, so you can get the features of a Teflon foot combined with other special features, such as blind hem or piping or edge stitching. Excellent tip!
4/6/08 12:20 PM
farmrswife said...
Well LOL I just asked hubby if he had heard of plumbers Teflon tape? And he went to the kitchen pulled out his toll box and walla I got some now! LOL thanks to the angelica too!
5/8/08 1:01 AM
Dee21 said...
This is a brillant idea. Thanks, this idea have solved my problem.
2/6/09 3:32 PM
Dee21 said...

2/6/09 10:48 PM
nwphillips2003 said...
Wonderful tip for people that so infrequently! Thanks
1/21/10 8:42 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
I think you just saved my day - thank you, what a wonderful tip!!!!!
3/8/10 9:44 AM
kme60 said...
Thanks!! Just "stumbled" onto this tip online when looking to purchase teflon foot....you just saved me some $$. Thanks much!
8/6/11 7:44 AM
threadandthumb said...
Thank You!
11/12/12 8:10 PM
caper81 said...
Cool! I will definitely try this! :) Like kme60 I was just googling teflon foot and this link came up! I'm so excited to try this out :)
2/4/13 12:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Candice

Candice

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.