Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
instant teflon foot (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5897 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 32 people   
Posted by: GuriFB
photo
About GuriFB
NORWAY
Member since: 8/14/05
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/11/06 7:27 AM
Have you ever been in need of a teflon foot but have none? of cant find it? or even need a teflon zipper foot? Here's what I do: put a piece of scotch magi tape on the underside of the foot, and voila! goodbye to friction and you can sew on leather, pvc and all other sticky materials with ease
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
OP Gal said...
Hey, this is a great idea. I'm too cheap to invest in a Teflon foot--haven't needed one yet, but I'll sure keep this tip in mind.
11/11/06 9:35 PM
granny geek said...
Brilliant!!
11/12/06 0:19 AM
JenSews2 said...
Great idea!
11/12/06 2:05 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I've heard of 'teflon tape' to use like this, but I never did get around to buying any of it...now I'm glad I didn't. Can't wait to try this out. Thanks Guri!
11/12/06 5:07 AM
ktsews2 said...
Great remedy for all sticky situations. lol. What a clever idea.
11/12/06 10:25 AM
martinanne said...
Great idea! Thanks for the super tip.
11/13/06 2:12 AM
Nancy K said...
Wow thankyou for a great suggestion! I am going to try it with clear elastic, my personal nemesis.
11/13/06 8:41 AM
cathy45 said...
How amazingly simple and straighforward! Wonderful!
11/14/06 12:42 PM
Nancy K said...
I did this after reading your tip and yes! it works. I sewed some clear elastic, something I had trouble with and voila, perfections. Thanks
11/15/06 10:12 AM
Janice Long said...
I'll be trying this!
11/17/06 10:00 AM
costumecarol said...
Ah, great minds think alike! I used scotch tape on the presser foot, (the "disappearing" kind seems to have a very slick surface) to alter my $15 leather coat from Goodwill!
11/19/06 11:59 AM
pacificprincess said...
I recently made water proof rain pants for Xmas gifts and had a terrible time sewing and used waxed paper - now I will definitely use tape. Thanks!
1/17/07 10:53 AM
angelica said...
you can also use plumbers teflon tape! :-)
8/12/07 12:19 PM
tweedcurtain said...
The nice thing about this idea is it can be applied to any foot's underside, so you can get the features of a Teflon foot combined with other special features, such as blind hem or piping or edge stitching. Excellent tip!
4/6/08 12:20 PM
farmrswife said...
Well LOL I just asked hubby if he had heard of plumbers Teflon tape? And he went to the kitchen pulled out his toll box and walla I got some now! LOL thanks to the angelica too!
5/8/08 1:01 AM
Dee21 said...
This is a brillant idea. Thanks, this idea have solved my problem.
2/6/09 3:32 PM
Dee21 said...

2/6/09 10:48 PM
nwphillips2003 said...
Wonderful tip for people that so infrequently! Thanks
1/21/10 8:42 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
I think you just saved my day - thank you, what a wonderful tip!!!!!
3/8/10 9:44 AM
kme60 said...
Thanks!! Just "stumbled" onto this tip online when looking to purchase teflon foot....you just saved me some $$. Thanks much!
8/6/11 7:44 AM
threadandthumb said...
Thank You!
11/12/12 8:10 PM
caper81 said...
Cool! I will definitely try this! :) Like kme60 I was just googling teflon foot and this link came up! I'm so excited to try this out :)
2/4/13 12:53 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us