SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Easy Take-It-With-You Pattern Info

Viewed 5170 times
Posted by: ryan's mom
photo

 
 
About ryan's mom starstarstar
Member since: 11/30/04
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/13/06 9:48 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 23 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
During our PR Weekend excursion, a PR member (sorry, I can't remember who it was) mentioned I should include my key ring as a tip. So here it is.

I have the usual large pattern stash and needed a way to bring most of my patterns and yardage info with me. So I layed out my patterns in 3 rows with four in a column on my living room floor. I snapped a digital pic in the highest resolution. Moved on to the next group, and the next for a total of 3 pics of about 36 patterns I wanted to take with me for PR Weekend.

I printed out the three pictures as 8 X 10's (that's why I used high res because my camera is only 3.2 MP's) on photo paper and cut out each individual pattern pictures. Each pic was just a bit larger than a typical wallet-sized photo. Then I mounted each pattern pic on pieces of posterboard cut out slightly larger than the pattern pic using a glue stick. The reason for this was I needed a border to punch a hole and a good surface for writing my fabric and yardage info. Sometimes pens don't agree with photo paper. After punching all the holes, I renforced them with Reinforcement Rings that can be purchased at office supply stores, or even most grocery stores in the paper/school supply area. On the back of each card, I wrote down the pattern's fabric recommendations and yardage amounts for most views or just the views I liked.

Once this is done, you can put the pics on a key ring or some type of cord or loop. I had some serged chain from a thick rayon thread in my stash and used that, tying both ends together. Then I can just loop it through on my handbag strap and it is just as easy to take it off.

It is a quick take-it-with-you pattern info method when going fabric or even pattern shopping. And if all your patterns are on the ring, it is a good way to make sure you don't purchase the same pattern twice--easy to do if your stash is large.

A quick note that I have to make for next year if I do go to PR Weekend again--only bring my top 15 pattern faves. With so much fabric and patterns at my disposal, my mind will go crazy with ideas and possibilities. Narrowing down my choices will help me stay focused with what I really need and want in the fabric stores.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Gsd said...
what a great idea!! I love it.
11/13/06 11:22 AM
PVA said...
Thank you for taking the time to share this idea! It is brilliant & I definitely will take advantage of it! My best fashion fabric sources are not local & when I get away from home I check out whatever fabric stores I can find. It would be fantastic if my pattern stash info was easily carried along!
11/13/06 11:32 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Clever clever clever woman!
11/13/06 4:33 PM
solosmocker said...
Brilliant!
11/13/06 7:46 PM
martinanne said...
GREAT IDEA!!!
11/14/06 0:20 AM
newlywedws said...
That seems so much more convenient than my current method (I have my own "pattern catalog" and boy is it bulky!)
11/14/06 1:38 AM
Nancy K said...
Great idea. Thanks
11/14/06 10:05 AM
Queendom said...
What a terrific idea! I'll use it!
11/14/06 11:57 AM
candyo said...
I LOVE IT!!!!! genius!
11/14/06 7:41 PM
Vivienne said...
Not to mention, it provides entertainment and revives shopping companions who are all shopped out after lugging their 39 yards around NYC's garment district for hours...
11/14/06 11:35 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great idea, thanks! I'll start right away as my pattern stash isn't that large (tossed quite a few).
11/15/06 10:12 AM
OP Gal said...
I have photo copies of mine that I keep in plastic sleeves in a 3-ring binder, but this is much more compact. I'll have to try it--especially if I'm traveling far from home.
11/15/06 5:20 PM
icansew! said...
I have just started a similar system, except that I copied the small pattern pictures from the various websites, put them in a Word doc with notes on what size I'm likely to need, how much material of which width and what type of material as well as notions. So I know have index-size cards with a picture of each pattern and all the info I'm likely to need, along with a note on whether the review on this website was positive for that pattern or not. It took quite a while but I think it will be a nice compact way to remember which patterns I have. That way, if I see a nice material, I can quickly check if I already have a suitable pattern and how much material I would need for that pattern. Your idea sounds pretty much the same - just a different way of doing it.
11/15/06 7:10 PM
ConnieBJ said...
A MUCH better idea than putting the photos on to anIpac and then leaving said Ipac next to the computer instead of bringing it to New York! An inpired idea that I am in the process of blatently copying Kathy!
11/16/06 1:08 PM
cindy-lou said...
You are such a smart girl! I am going to try very hard to do this before our NYC trip this year. Thank You!
9/23/07 10:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.