SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Ironing board cover

Viewed 5207 times
Posted by: blackthumb
photo

 
 
About blackthumb
OK USA
Member since: 9/4/06
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/19/06 5:21 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
I am always looking for better ways to do things and saw recomendations on how to make an irioning board cover in a book that I cannot remember. It took a while but I found a wool blanket at a thrift shop, and cut it for the base. At Hancock's I asked for somthing padlike I could use for the IBC. They recommended "silence cloth". It is supposed to be used under table cloths to silence the uncouth clatter of utensils, etc. This is great stuff! Not cheap, about eight to nine dollars a yard. Buy extra. Wash first. It SHRINKS!
I cut it to fit the top of the board plus no more than a couple of inches for the sides and ends. I then sewed a thinner but stong fabric aroung the sides to run a cord through.
Perhaps not necessary, But I put grommets along the edgest hat go underneath the board so I could also lace it up like shoe strings.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
Thanks for this tip! I'll have to check on that "silence cloth"!
11/20/06 11:43 AM
chip1980 said...
Thanks for the detailed instructions. I have an VERY old ironing board that adjusts just to my height...so I don't want to change it. BUT...it is a little oversized for the commercial pads that are out there. They always pop off at the most inconvenient times....I WILL make this and wa-laa...have one that FINALLY fits and stays put. THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE TIP. Marcia
11/20/06 1:10 PM
miri said...
I have used mattress ticking (admittedly, good slipcover quality) for ironing board covers. It works very well and lasts for years. Any heavy cotton twill fabric (such as denim) will work well. I usually cut the cover wider and longer than needed, sew a shaped facing at the pointed end to make a smooth, secure fit, and run a drawstring around the remaining edges, which then pull in under the board. You can use a cotton mover's pad or cotton mattress pad instead of a wool blanket—just stay away from synthetic battings or blankets, which will reject rather than absorb the steam.
11/20/06 6:18 PM
OP Gal said...
Great tip. I'll be looking for "silence cloth."
11/20/06 6:21 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Good tip Blackthumb--thank you. I use the clips with teeth that are sewn to elastic strips (available in Walmart) to grab and hold the cover on my board. So easy. Just criss cross them under the board and attach one side of the cover to the other. I'll look for the silence cloth.
11/20/06 10:52 PM
audsews said...
I use felted wool coating for my ironing board pad. whenever i find it on clearance, i pick up at least a yard and a half and felt it. every time i wash my home-made cover, I add a new layer of padding. works well! great tip about the silence cloth-i can think of other uses, too.
11/21/06 7:22 PM
costumecarol said...
Ooooh, grommets! In the past, I've found on some surfaces a two-piece ironing board cover works better for me. One part to cover the actual ironing surface, and the other, sturdier, to wrap the sides and under the board. That way, when the ironing surface wears out, I take it off from the sides and bottom, cut a new one, and stitch it to the base. That way, I don't have to make a new casing and such. I am incredibly lazy.
11/25/06 7:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.