SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Button Loops

Viewed 5450 times
Posted by: Sewshable1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sewshable1 star
GA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 98
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/5/06 11:40 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
If you find that thread loops tend to tangle, pull out and twist too much, here's a suggestion for an alternative. You have to plan ahead, because these have to be added during construction:

Take two long strands of elastic thread together, using a piece of solvy (not necessary, but easier) under them, thread through the hole in your presser foot (use a cording foot if you have one), and set a zig-zag to just cover each side. Don't make the zig-zag too dense, as you want them to stretch to cover the button. (rinse off solvy if used-and dry)

Insert the loops, measured and cut to fit over button when slightly stretched, with tails to seam allowance, in between your construction seams as you finish garment opening.Use your button placement marks to mark the opposite side for placement.

I usually go over the area with the loops with a very small stitch to help prevent them from pulling out. I also stitch over them twice.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Sewshable1 said...
Solvy is a water soluble stablilizer
7/23/09 3:21 AM
boiled peanut said...
I don't know what solvy is.
7/21/09 3:27 PM
tweedcurtain said...
I do the same thing except I use the hole in my serger foot and do a rolled hem stitch over the thread or threads. I use threads to match the garment and matching wooly nylon in the upper looper, and a short stitch length. I smooth the stitches out along the thread and it covers very well, but still has all its stretch.
8/23/07 1:13 AM
Luckie Kay Locke said...
good idea! thanks lkl
5/26/07 10:43 PM
Bellatina said...
I like this idea. Much better than making them with thread by hand. And they are stretchy too. Will give this a try next time I make loops. Thanks!
12/12/06 2:45 PM
SJB said...
I am going to try this technique this very evening. I am making a nightgown for my granddaughter and this will be a much better closure than the thread loop recommended by the pattern co.
12/7/06 5:46 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Very cool idea, Sewshable! Plus the thread can help to make the elastic match the garment. Thanks!
12/7/06 6:44 AM
slanden99 said...
Good idea to use elastic. I have done this idea using yarn--works too, but not stretchy.
12/6/06 4:14 PM
Susan M said...
I love this idea! Thank you for sharing your inspiration.
12/6/06 2:16 PM
AnneM said...
Neat idea. Those thread loops don't inspire any confidence for me, and I don't have a tiny loop turner.
12/6/06 8:08 AM
BeckyC said...
I love this idea! Can't wait to try it. Thank you.
12/6/06 7:34 AM
martinanne said...
And using elastic instead makes it so much easier to get the button through when wearing. Great tip!
12/6/06 6:55 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
What a great idea! I loathe trying to turn tiny spaghetti type tubes for loops.
12/6/06 1:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.