Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Buying used books, saving money (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5106 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Posted by: meanjean
photo
Friend of PR
About meanjean star
TX USA
Member since: 5/4/05
Reviews written: 51
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/9/06 9:33 AM
Last Updated: 1/14/07 10:37 AM
Featured in the PR book!
This isn't a sewing tip, but one related to most sewer's journey through their hobby. I posted a book review on Pattern Review recently and realized I had taken for granted that everyone knew you could purchase used books on line.

Some sewiing books are a gamble in terms of laying out hard earned dollars, and libraries don't always have the book you are looking for. In this case, you have a third option. By it used. Both Amazon and Barnes & Noble tap into used books sellers, and there is also my favorite: www.alibris.com. As someone else pointed out, there are other sites like www.abebooks.com.

The prices will be all over the map. Don't judge based on price, judge based on condition. I've had at least 100 experiences buying via alibris and have never had a bad one. And I've saved tons of $$$, and my judgement mistakes weren't nearly as painful.

Lastly, just a warning: For used books, I prefer *not* shopping off Amazon.com. If you go to alibris.com or abebooks.com, you can actually read details about the condition of books. If you shop on Amazon for used books, you can't easily get to that detail.

Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda Mae said...
I've used alibris.com for some time now and have never had any problems. Books are usually as described (be sure to read the listing carefully) and receive items quickly. Great web site to find any book you may want.
12/9/06 11:07 AM
solosmocker said...
Thanks, this is great information.
12/9/06 9:05 PM
Patzee said...
Good tip!
12/10/06 2:00 AM
Elaray said...
I've made purchases from Alibris. In addition to used books, you can get OOP new books at discounted prices. I usually check Alibris first when looking for sewing books.
12/10/06 6:44 AM
BARBARA J said...
Rather than check sites such as Amazon, Half, and Alibris individually, I found a shopping bot such as www.campusi.com will check multiple sites, figure the shipping, and list the results in order of ascending price. Invaluable when buying DD college texts!
12/10/06 9:19 AM
Irene Q said...
Excellent tip! My husband also uses abebooks.com - never had a problem.
12/10/06 3:17 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great tip. When I'm shopping online, I always buy used books if they're available. I judge by price, seller's reputation and geographic distance from me. Why spend $25 for a book, when you can get it for $5? Also I've borrowed many books from the public library. If a library book is turns out to be a must have, I track down a used copy online.
12/11/06 10:46 AM
Janime said...
Aha! My DH has used alibris for ages to get used books. Don't know why I never thought to use it myself. Great tip, thanks!
1/25/07 12:58 PM
kfletch1 said...
Great tip! I never thought of that but alibris will be my next stop online.
3/18/07 11:12 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us