SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Make doll clothes from extra fabric

Viewed 5862 times
Posted by: LoriB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LoriB starstar
AE GERMANY
Member since: 4/23/02
Reviews written: 99
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
tips added: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/10/03 8:08 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Ok, that sounds simple enough, but there's more to it. Make the doll garment right after you've finished your primary project. Your machine is already threaded with the right color and you have the fabric right there, not stuffed away in a bag. Plus, every time you finish a project, you'll have one more piece of doll clothing to add toward building a wardrobe that you can give to your favorite doll-playing child. No last minute rushes to finish doll clothes in December!

Of course this tip is nothing new - our grandmothers routinely did this out of thrift.

After my mother mentioned saving scraps for doll clothes, I decided to start a wardrobe for my neice's 18 inch doll. I made a fleece vest for me and decided to use the leftover to make a fleece coat for her doll. Next will be a Loes Hinse cowl top for me and a tiny shirt for her doll. My neice lives 3000 miles away, so I have no fear of matching her doll! Hmm, except I may want to check what I pack when I visit!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Everyday Sewist said...
O.k., I just wanted to report back that I used this tip to make a coat for an 18" doll! It felt so good to use up the scraps right then rather than putting them in a box and thinking, "maybe someday...." The pattern I used came from the book "Two Hour Dolls' Clothes". I recently posted book & pattern reviews, too. Thanks for this great tip!
3/26/03 10:02 AM
Mbarkle said...
I do this too. However, I can't bring myself to save them for Christmas. I give them to dd right away so she and the doll can match each other. Right now I am in a sewing group that does swaps, so I am sewing up several outfits at a time assembly line style. Guess I should review the book I'm using (Sew the Contemporary Wardrobe for 18" Dolls by Hinds and Becker). The outfits are adorable.
2/12/03 8:39 PM
AnneM said...
Hmm, this could be a nice charity item also. Make a doll wardrobe (probably the smaller Barbie size), add a doll & you have a gift for a child.
2/12/03 12:44 PM
PhyllisC said...
Good tip Lori.....you inspired me to add a book review for a wonderful book ("The Doll's Dressmaker" that has about 120 dollclothes patterns in it.....I just posted it in PR book reviews.
2/12/03 12:15 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
This is a good tip Lori, btw I have two Burda special numbers for doll clothes, would somebody be interested in having them?
2/11/03 5:54 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Great tip Lori! I have several patterns for doll clothes, but I haven't gotten around to making them. Having the machine threaded and the fabric right there is a great reason to go ahead and do it! I could probably make some kids clothes too, if the fabric happens to be suitable for kids.
2/10/03 11:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

More Info
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.