SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > 'Sticky' Leather Sewing

Viewed 5380 times
Posted by: RegisG
photo

 
 
About RegisG star
FL USA
Member since: 8/2/06
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/2/07 10:06 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
I was sewing together a leather purse for DW. My walking foot made sewing easy while I had right sides togather but, would not work for top stitching. I was using soft lamb leather and the right side was 'almost' sticky and just would not feed. Baby powder to the rescue. I rubbed a little baby powder on the leather and it fed like magic. I could not beleive how well it worked plus, it cleaned up very easy with damp paper towel.
I did use leather needle, long stitches, and walking foot as has been suggested here on PR.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
christine A said...
Regis you amaze me. You are really doing well with this sewing 'hobby'!!! I can't wait to see the purse review!
1/2/07 11:24 PM
kaitlin said...
Please check your baby powder before using it this way. Believe it or not some actually have Talc in them and that is abrasive to sewing machines. Cornstarch is an acceptable substitute.
1/3/07 1:24 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great idea.
1/3/07 9:49 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Talc is a mineral and won't react with anything in your machine. Cornstarch, on the other hand, is a carbohydrate and might get sticky or swell if it absorbs moisture or sewing machine oil. I'd recommend talc over cornstarch, and recommend vacuuming up the excess when done. A Teflon foot, if it works with your leather, wouldn't leave any residue behind.
1/3/07 2:35 PM
RegisG said...
Teflon foot would not help with this leather as it would not even slide along the the metal and plastic areas near the foot. This is beautiful and very soft fashion leather and probably has some kind of finish on it. I suspect others bump into the same situation.
1/4/07 9:43 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I ran into this situation when I sewed my handbag, I wish I had seen this tip beforehand! Great idea
3/9/09 8:04 AM
crystalwoods said...
Great idea, I'm going to file this one away for future use, Thanks
10/16/11 6:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

Buy Now
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.