Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
styleupdate.com (Online Sewing Class)
Viewed 5340 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
Posted by: wallan
photo
About wallan
NA CANADA
Member since: 7/13/04
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
classes reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/4/07 3:02 PM
Rating: star
Web site/URL: photo
This class was 25 weeks long by Heather Claus. It taught style concepts and how to achieve them. It was a huge disappointment. First of all, I enrolled last April 2006. I have only received 22 lessons. The last 6 or so were over several months. The lessons are flimsy and non-detailed.
The class offered a money-back guarantee, but I have not received any reply to my enquiries of any sort whether it is by phone or email to the customer service department or to Heather herself.
This course gives a huge discredit to on-line sewing courses. It makes me skeptical about spending money on any course.

I have read that Heather Claus is a talented expert in her field. I have not seen evidence of this. Her courses are unprofessional, lack substance, lack diagrams and examples.
If there were some sort of agency I could report fraudulent on-line courses too, I would report her.

I am very very disappointed.
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Liane M said...
well at least you may keep others from wasting their money. I have heard this several times
1/4/07 9:54 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Thankyou for your review. I was considering this course down the track a ways but definitely not now.
1/5/07 0:19 AM
SusanClaire said...
I have taken a couple classes from Heather over the years. She is a good instructor and knows her stuff. However she tends to have too many irons in the fire sometimes, and I have learned never to take a class from her the first time she is teaching it. I am sorry you had a bad experience. She usually has excellent written material.
1/5/07 0:22 AM
SusanClaire said...
I have taken a couple classes from Heather over the years. She is a good instructor and knows her stuff. However she tends to have too many irons in the fire sometimes, and I have learned never to take a class from her the first time she is teaching it. I am sorry you had a bad experience. She usually has excellent written material.
1/5/07 0:26 AM
LisaG said...
Wallan, I have experienced your frustration with Heather's classes. She may have expertise, but she is unprofessional, does not deliver on what she promises or is late, and the class suffers. Not only did I stop taking her classes, I also dropped my membership to her Web site. The good news is that it brought me here! Don't give up on online classes. The ones on Pattern Review are great. I would especially recommend anything taught by Shannon Gifford.
1/5/07 9:55 AM
dresscode said...
I haven't paid for any of her classes but have heard this complaint over and over. What distresses me the most is the common complaint that she doesn't respond to questions about refunds. That seems to be false advertising to offer them....and then not respond. Thanks for yet another heads up.
1/5/07 10:14 AM
krystalkaes said...
I second what LisaG has said about not giving up on online classes. The ones here are very good. I also learned a great deal in Shannon Gifford's class as well as Sarah Veblen.
1/5/07 10:45 AM
LaurieEm said...
I'm sorry this happened, and I'm sorry that it seems that Heather is still actively selling more material when she obviously isn't in a position to deliver. She writes very enticing course descriptions! I posted a review of Heather's Ease Makes it Fit class, and in other readers comments is a description on reporting the site to the online BBB. You might be interested in that. I gave up on getting my money back, but I hope you get yours back.
1/9/07 1:32 PM
nancy2001 said...
Looks like the website no longer exists. At least I couldn't find it.
1/13/07 10:00 AM
The Sassy SEWer said...
I too was very disappointed with my Pattern Design class. It was horrible. I hesitated about taking a class at PatternReview but did so anyway. I loved it. Sarah Veblen was great. I'll definately take others classes.
1/16/07 6:17 PM
SansSouci572 said...
I had the same experience with Heather, years ago, but not with anyone else.
1/27/07 1:34 PM
3badbeagles said...
I too have had the same experience with Heather's sewing sites. I've been universally dissapointed with her classes, but it has little to do with the posted content; It has everything to do with the content that was promised, but never delivered. There are constant "server" issues" and long periods of silence when Heather seemingly dissapears to places where e-mail is not available (Outer Mongolia perhaps?). A glutton for punishment, I nevertheless was sold by Heather's description of Sewzine and signed up in 2006. Two words: "don't bother".
1/28/07 5:08 PM
priscilla said...
an ditto everthing 3badbeagles said. I took a class about fabric identification etc. and ended up with a package of little fabric squares and a magnifier. I had to print out on heavy card stock about 100 pages and the the server they used was down most of the time. I was really surprised because I thought Heather would have a much better class, it was so disappointing that I never took another one of her classes.
2/4/07 6:47 PM
J_J said...
I signed up for some of Heather's stuff. Have not received any of what I signed up for and to add to the problem, she has pulled a disappearing act. She has not been present on her sewing sites since about the 1st of March, 2007. Everyone on the forums lists was very worried that she might be ill. We were all willing to give her the benefit of the doubt. Then someone saw her posting to another site a couple of days ago. Yes, it's the same person .... she used the same picture for her profile. Customer beware .... Many people have paid good money to styleupdate.com and sewzine.com and have received nothing. I am calling my credit card money to see if anything can be done.
5/26/07 2:49 PM
J_J said...
I signed up for some of Heather's stuff. Have not received any of what I signed up for and to add to the problem, she has pulled a disappearing act. She has not been present on her sewing sites since about the 1st of March, 2007. Everyone on the forums lists was very worried that she might be ill. We were all willing to give her the benefit of the doubt. Then someone saw her posting to another site a couple of days ago. Yes, it's the same person .... she used the same picture for her profile. Customer beware .... Many people have paid good money to styleupdate.com and sewzine.com and have received nothing. I am calling my credit card money to see if anything can be done.
5/26/07 3:37 PM
jacquesew said...
I had the same experience. I subscribed to Sewzine for 2006. This was supposed to be monthly articles, embroidery designs and some patterns. Started out fine...then became sporadic and then just stopped. When asked for a refund, I was instead given a free subscription for 2007. That ended early in the year with nothing being posted and no explanation or offer of refund for the undelivered products. I just checked the site again and there is still nothing new. It seems that Heather Claus is very good at making promises and not keeping them. I have never had an experience like this. I guess it's easy to just disappear when your business is based on the web. No one can find you to confront you and you can just turn off the e-mail requests for some sort of resolution to the situation. Heather Clause should be ashamed of herself.
7/18/07 10:45 PM
thill said...
Is Heather Claus still in business? I bought a sewing package 3 years ago for $400 that I was supposed to have life long access to but the website seems to be gone!
12/13/07 3:22 PM
suvi said...
wallan, you will find Heather here:http://www.sisisewinglibrary.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1&Itemid=2 SISI Sewing Library - Welcome to the New SISI Sewing Library Site!
3/22/08 7:31 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us