SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Plastic Cutting Boards as Templates

Viewed 5767 times
Posted by: MelissaB in WA
photo

 
 
About MelissaB in WA starstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/7/07 6:25 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
When you need a plastic template for a much used pattern, try making them with flexible cutting mats found in the housewares section at Wal-Mart (near the cutting boards). They are similar to the ones quilters often use, but are so cheap (only a few bucks for 3 sheets - sorry I can't remember the exact price off the top of my head). There are three different colors in the package (clear, aqua, and light blue) and they are 12"x15". I just trace the pattern onto the sheet, then cut it out with a pair of regular scissors. It makes it so easy to cut out your pattern pieces with a rotary cutter (no worries that you're slicing your pattern up). It even works great to tape sheets together too (I use wide clear mailing tape).

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Jemparrot said...
Great tip! I just found some cutting mats at Dollar tree, but didn't get them. Time to go back....
1/11/09 6:01 AM
Janime said...
What a neat idea! I was wondering very recently how I might be able to make pattern pieces more permanent. Thanks for the tip!
1/22/07 12:54 PM
regine said...
My sewing teacher uses old X-ray plates for templates, they work very well, are easy to cut and are firm enough to use as templates.
1/17/07 12:05 PM
pjrsews said...
I just love it when sewers come up with new and clever uses for ordinary stuff. This was a great hint. I went right out and bought some. Thanks!!!
1/10/07 9:32 AM
igi said...
Thanks for a wonderful tip!
1/10/07 8:30 AM
PixieCat said...
What a great idea! Thanks!
1/9/07 5:15 AM
MaryFran said...
Thanks Melissa, a great tip!
1/8/07 1:37 PM
thaiyal said...
wonderful idea! thanks Melissa
1/8/07 9:13 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I didn't know these existed. I keep thinking I should pick up some quilter's template plastic, because it would be so handy for rotary cutting...I'll get these instead! Thanks for the tip, Melissa!
1/8/07 7:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.