SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Securing the end threads from a serger

Viewed 5246 times
Posted by: Heidi H
photo

 
 
About Heidi H star
AZ USA
Member since: 11/25/06
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/23/07 12:35 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I looked and didn't see this tip listed so I hope I don't duplicate.

When you reach the end of the fabric just continue to run out the thread behind the machine and cut it, but not too short.

There is a double eye needle that in my opinion is a must have if you use a serger.

Run one end of the needle back under the outside threads that make the seam, thread the loose end into the other end of the needle eye and pull the thread back under. Works great!

Heidi

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Why do you need a double eye needle to do this? I think I'm not following your suggested method.
1/24/07 8:08 AM
Gramma Rosie said...
Anne.. Can you see the picture Heidi sent showing this method? I have an idea that the reason for the double ended needle is because one end is not sharp to catch the fabric or thread and easily slides under the finished seam and is long enough to thread the opposite end. I don't know for sure but looking at the picture that is what I would think. Marge
1/24/07 9:22 AM
Gramma Rosie said...
Anne.. Can you see the picture Heidi sent showing this method? I have an idea that the reason for the double ended needle is because one end is not sharp to catch the fabric or thread and easily slides under the finished seam and is long enough to thread the opposite end. I don't know for sure but looking at the picture that is what I would think. Marge
1/24/07 9:28 AM
Heidi H said...
You are right Marge. Another reason for the double eye is that you won't get poked trying to run the end under. I tried one time using an upholstery needle and it would catch on the fabric while trying to go under the stitches.
1/24/07 11:10 AM
OP Gal said...
Great idea!
1/24/07 1:59 PM
Alice near Atlanta said...
Heidi, are you saying that you run one thread from one side and one from the other? Sorry I'm so dense. I've usually threaded the "extended" thread that comes off from the serger and threaded it back thru the serged seam (rather than just cutting it off). Is that what you mean? I'm not getting where the other thread comes from for the second go 'round.
1/28/07 1:18 PM
Alice near Atlanta said...
Should have looked at the picture before writing the review. It appears that you have done what's usually done as per my other review.
1/28/07 1:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.