SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Baby Steps 10 - Get Inspired with Design Templates.

Viewed 5173 times
Posted by: Helen near Sydney
photo

 
 
About Helen near Sydney starstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 120
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/2/07 4:44 PM
Last Updated: 7/21/08 5:25 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Remember those cut-out paper dolls you used to play with when you were little? Well, this is kinda like that ………

Make a Design Template:
Trace a lady’s figure, front and back views. I traced one out of the Vogue catalogue, maybe the sloper one at the end. Photocopy it. Zoom it to get several different sizes.

How to use your Design Template:
1. Every time you see a design or design detail that you absolutely love, race home and sketch it onto one of your photocopied templates.

Templates.

2. Jot down a few notes to remind you where you saw it, why it caught your eye, the fabric, the colour, etc. Design ideas can strike at any time - walking down the street, at the movies, RTW, our own PR - so BE PREPARED!

3. Whack some Blu-tack on the back and stick the template to your sewing room wall. I loosely separate the sketches into tops, skirts, daks, etc and put them up alongside magazine clippings/postcards/labels, etc.

inspiration

I know it’s messy, and if you sew in your dining room this may not be possible, but I love having all that inspiration around me as I sew. Sometimes I just look around the room and marvel at the amazing details those talented designer types come up with.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
KarenP said...
I love this idea, especially writing down notes about why the item caught your eye. I need to see things to remember them, so sticking them on the wal would really help!
2/2/07 8:02 PM
Annie- oh said...
Neat!
2/2/07 8:45 PM
OP Gal said...
Great idea, Helen. You're right, it really helps to see your idea sketched before you sew. Since I don't look like most fashion sketches, I use the plus size croquis in Threads 105. It helps me see how a style will really look on me the way I look now, not my unrealistic image of myself that was accurate 30 years ago.
2/3/07 9:33 AM
Janime said...
Love the template wall!
2/3/07 2:17 PM
KempCorr said...
Threads had an article a couple issues ago about making the template in your own shape from a photo. Not only can you save the ideas, you can also get a quick reality check on whether the style that caught your eye will work for you.
2/4/07 5:54 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Helen, I really enjoyed viewing your album. You are very talented, your sketches are great! Thanks for sharing.
4/9/07 11:26 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
The links go to Flickr's home page, not the item listed.
7/19/08 11:42 AM
Elle D said...
Great idea, thanks for sharing.
11/20/09 10:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.