Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Baby Steps 10 - Get Inspired with Design Templates. (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5084 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Posted by: Helen near Sydney
photo
About Helen near Sydney starstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/2/07 4:44 PM
Last Updated: 7/21/08 5:25 AM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Remember those cut-out paper dolls you used to play with when you were little? Well, this is kinda like that ………

Make a Design Template:
Trace a lady’s figure, front and back views. I traced one out of the Vogue catalogue, maybe the sloper one at the end. Photocopy it. Zoom it to get several different sizes.

How to use your Design Template:
1. Every time you see a design or design detail that you absolutely love, race home and sketch it onto one of your photocopied templates.

Templates.

2. Jot down a few notes to remind you where you saw it, why it caught your eye, the fabric, the colour, etc. Design ideas can strike at any time - walking down the street, at the movies, RTW, our own PR - so BE PREPARED!

3. Whack some Blu-tack on the back and stick the template to your sewing room wall. I loosely separate the sketches into tops, skirts, daks, etc and put them up alongside magazine clippings/postcards/labels, etc.

inspiration

I know it’s messy, and if you sew in your dining room this may not be possible, but I love having all that inspiration around me as I sew. Sometimes I just look around the room and marvel at the amazing details those talented designer types come up with.

Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KarenP said...
I love this idea, especially writing down notes about why the item caught your eye. I need to see things to remember them, so sticking them on the wal would really help!
2/2/07 8:02 PM
Annie- oh said...
Neat!
2/2/07 8:45 PM
OP Gal said...
Great idea, Helen. You're right, it really helps to see your idea sketched before you sew. Since I don't look like most fashion sketches, I use the plus size croquis in Threads 105. It helps me see how a style will really look on me the way I look now, not my unrealistic image of myself that was accurate 30 years ago.
2/3/07 9:33 AM
Janime said...
Love the template wall!
2/3/07 2:17 PM
KempCorr said...
Threads had an article a couple issues ago about making the template in your own shape from a photo. Not only can you save the ideas, you can also get a quick reality check on whether the style that caught your eye will work for you.
2/4/07 5:54 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Helen, I really enjoyed viewing your album. You are very talented, your sketches are great! Thanks for sharing.
4/9/07 11:26 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
The links go to Flickr's home page, not the item listed.
7/19/08 11:42 AM
Elle D said...
Great idea, thanks for sharing.
11/20/09 10:53 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us