SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Baby Steps 10 - Get Inspired with Design Templates.

Viewed 5238 times
Posted by: Helen near Sydney
photo

 
 
About Helen near Sydney starstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 130
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/2/07 4:44 PM
Last Updated: 7/21/08 5:25 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Remember those cut-out paper dolls you used to play with when you were little? Well, this is kinda like that ………

Make a Design Template:
Trace a lady’s figure, front and back views. I traced one out of the Vogue catalogue, maybe the sloper one at the end. Photocopy it. Zoom it to get several different sizes.

How to use your Design Template:
1. Every time you see a design or design detail that you absolutely love, race home and sketch it onto one of your photocopied templates.

Templates.

2. Jot down a few notes to remind you where you saw it, why it caught your eye, the fabric, the colour, etc. Design ideas can strike at any time - walking down the street, at the movies, RTW, our own PR - so BE PREPARED!

3. Whack some Blu-tack on the back and stick the template to your sewing room wall. I loosely separate the sketches into tops, skirts, daks, etc and put them up alongside magazine clippings/postcards/labels, etc.

inspiration

I know it’s messy, and if you sew in your dining room this may not be possible, but I love having all that inspiration around me as I sew. Sometimes I just look around the room and marvel at the amazing details those talented designer types come up with.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Elle D said...
Great idea, thanks for sharing.
11/20/09 10:53 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
The links go to Flickr's home page, not the item listed.
7/19/08 11:42 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Helen, I really enjoyed viewing your album. You are very talented, your sketches are great! Thanks for sharing.
4/9/07 11:26 AM
KempCorr said...
Threads had an article a couple issues ago about making the template in your own shape from a photo. Not only can you save the ideas, you can also get a quick reality check on whether the style that caught your eye will work for you.
2/4/07 5:54 PM
Janime said...
Love the template wall!
2/3/07 2:17 PM
OP Gal said...
Great idea, Helen. You're right, it really helps to see your idea sketched before you sew. Since I don't look like most fashion sketches, I use the plus size croquis in Threads 105. It helps me see how a style will really look on me the way I look now, not my unrealistic image of myself that was accurate 30 years ago.
2/3/07 9:33 AM
Annie- oh said...
Neat!
2/2/07 8:45 PM
KarenP said...
I love this idea, especially writing down notes about why the item caught your eye. I need to see things to remember them, so sticking them on the wal would really help!
2/2/07 8:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.