SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Baby Steps 10 - Get Inspired with Design Templates.

Viewed 5180 times
Posted by: Helen near Sydney
photo

 
 
About Helen near Sydney starstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 124
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/2/07 4:44 PM
Last Updated: 7/21/08 5:25 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Remember those cut-out paper dolls you used to play with when you were little? Well, this is kinda like that ………

Make a Design Template:
Trace a lady’s figure, front and back views. I traced one out of the Vogue catalogue, maybe the sloper one at the end. Photocopy it. Zoom it to get several different sizes.

How to use your Design Template:
1. Every time you see a design or design detail that you absolutely love, race home and sketch it onto one of your photocopied templates.

Templates.

2. Jot down a few notes to remind you where you saw it, why it caught your eye, the fabric, the colour, etc. Design ideas can strike at any time - walking down the street, at the movies, RTW, our own PR - so BE PREPARED!

3. Whack some Blu-tack on the back and stick the template to your sewing room wall. I loosely separate the sketches into tops, skirts, daks, etc and put them up alongside magazine clippings/postcards/labels, etc.

inspiration

I know it’s messy, and if you sew in your dining room this may not be possible, but I love having all that inspiration around me as I sew. Sometimes I just look around the room and marvel at the amazing details those talented designer types come up with.


<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
KarenP said...
I love this idea, especially writing down notes about why the item caught your eye. I need to see things to remember them, so sticking them on the wal would really help!
2/2/07 8:02 PM
Annie- oh said...
Neat!
2/2/07 8:45 PM
OP Gal said...
Great idea, Helen. You're right, it really helps to see your idea sketched before you sew. Since I don't look like most fashion sketches, I use the plus size croquis in Threads 105. It helps me see how a style will really look on me the way I look now, not my unrealistic image of myself that was accurate 30 years ago.
2/3/07 9:33 AM
Janime said...
Love the template wall!
2/3/07 2:17 PM
KempCorr said...
Threads had an article a couple issues ago about making the template in your own shape from a photo. Not only can you save the ideas, you can also get a quick reality check on whether the style that caught your eye will work for you.
2/4/07 5:54 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Helen, I really enjoyed viewing your album. You are very talented, your sketches are great! Thanks for sharing.
4/9/07 11:26 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
The links go to Flickr's home page, not the item listed.
7/19/08 11:42 AM
Elle D said...
Great idea, thanks for sharing.
11/20/09 10:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.