SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > godets and gussets

Viewed 5905 times
Posted by: Marji
photo

 
 
About Marji starstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 96 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/16/07 10:41 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 20 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
to get a great point on a godet or gusset
1. mark stitching lines on garment.
2. stitch along marked lines.
-Stitch up one long side
- At Point, stitch to point, with needle in down position, lift presser foot and pivot work to a 90 degree angle to the stitching line,
-take ONE stitch across top of point
turn and pivot work to stitch back down other side.
Cut through the center of the godet between stitching lines, to point.
Stitch in godet as instructed.
That blunt point at the end will give you a much better finished godet than stitching up one side then pivoting on the point and stitching back down the other.
finished godet in silk tweed

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Annie- oh said...
I learned this in a Sandra Betzina workshop, but somehow thought it was only for lightweight fabrics. But silk tweed...your picture is worth a thousand...! Thanks for helping expand my use of fabric.
2/16/07 11:17 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, seeing this in silk tweed makes me a believer. Thanks.
2/17/07 7:22 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Thanks Marji, I will bookmard this!
2/17/07 4:55 PM
AnneM said...
You are so good! Great job. I think I need clarification, though. You are stitching just the garment, with no godet inserted, to keep it from stretching? And what do you mean by "cut through the center of the godet between stitching lines"? Sorry if I'm being dense...
2/23/07 6:16 PM
Marji said...
Sorry Anne, the wording is a little confusing. You cut the garment open between the stitched lines prior to inserting the actual godet wedge, or gusset diamond. The picture at the URL link at the top of the verbage should be pretty self explanatory. this tip is meant to be used in conjunction with a pattern sheet directions for inserting a godet....I was just trying to get across the point to take that blunt stitch at the end. Those stitching lines are more than staystitching to prevent stretching, they become the guide for the seamline that you stitch the godet triangle into.
2/24/07 4:29 AM
AnneM said...
Oh, OK. Thanks. I was thinking of godets at seams, in which case there isn't any fabric to cut. This makes sense now. If I had thought to click on the top link I probably would have figured it out. *blush*
3/2/07 11:43 AM
Muria said...
Thanks! I'll have to try it out on my next godet attempt!
5/25/09 12:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.