Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Lined Child Jumper (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 6209 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Posted by: cindy-lou
photo
About cindy-lou starstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/21/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/17/07 1:04 PM
Last Updated: 4/13/08 3:51 PM
Web site/URL: photo
Hi! This is my first tip to write. It's actually the very first cool sewing trick I learned. If you're Intermediate, you probably already know this one. Others, read on!

I learn much more by *seeing* things than reading about them, so this is a picture tutorial. HOWEVER, THE PICS ARE ON MY REVIEW OF NEW LOOK 6576-- PLEASE GO THERE! INSTRUCTIONS ARE GIVEN PIC BY PIC. As you will see, you can do this with pretty much any child's jumper pattern. Sorry-- I just couldn't find a way while posting to insert pictures in the 'tips' category of PR

The short written version:
1. Cut 2 of the pattern front and back-- ONE of your chosen 'main' fabric, ONE of lining fabric.
2. You'll see that I placed an embroidered pocket for embellishment. To keep little embroidery threads on the back of the pocket from tangling in little fingers, I sewed two pocket pieces RST then inverted them thru a little hole, then closed the hole. Then sew the pocket on.
3. Next, with Right Sides Together, stitch the front main fabric piece to the back main fabric one. Do this to the lining pieces, too. Be SURE you stitch the right side of one, the left side of the other! This gives you two "opened up" jumpers.
4. The next steps are to stitch, with Right Sides Together, the bottom and top of the Main fabric jumper piece to the Lining jumper piece. See Pic. Clip curves and corners; turn right-side-out and iron all seams. ALMOST DONE!
5. Next is the tricky part so check out the pictures. With the jumper right-side out, start closing it up by stitching the two open sides together. Stitch with Right Sides together. As you do this, you'll find that you're creating a "bag" and stuffing the right-sided jumper into the bag. STOP STITCHING when all you have left to close is about a 4 inch hole on the LINING portion of the jumper.
6. Pull the jumper out of the hole and... VOILA! A lined jumper with no seams visible! Just close the lining hole and add buttons/buttonholes at the shoulders.

THE PICTURES REALLY MAKE THIS TUTORIAL WORK. Please see them! GO TO CINDY-LOU'S REVIEW OF NEW LOOK 6576.

Thanks! :)


EDITED 4/12/08 TO ADD: A member recently asked me to clarify the instrucitons for what's numbered steps 5 and 6 here (and is called steps 7-10 in the NL 6576 review). If you need further help, please read the more detailed instructions for these steps below. Happy Sewing!

ADDITIONAL INSTRUCTIONS:
In step #4, what you do is lay the jumper down on a flat surface, right side up. What you should be laying on the surface is the jumper front *and* jumper back, sewn together at one side. Next, lay the lining on top of the jumper, right side DOWN, so that the right side of the lining is against the right side of the jumper (or, the 'right sides are together'). Now, the 'lining' should consist of the lining frint an dlining back, sewn together at one side, as well. The diference in the lining and the jumper pieces at this point is that the lining front and back are attached at one side, and the jumper front and back are attached at the OPPOSITE side of the pattern pieces-- in other words, they are mirror images of each other. That way, when right side is placed against right side, the two match-- front is on front and back is on back. If your pieces are not lined up this way, then switch the lining around so it will be a mirror image of the jumper.
Once you've done this, you'll attach the jumper to the lining. Attach all of the bottom lining edges to jumper edges, then attach all the top lining edges to jumper edges. Do NOT, however, attach the remaining sides! Leave them completely open.

In STEPS 7-10, what you're doing is attaching the remaining sides to each other. You'll attach the lining to the lining, and the jumper to the jumper. The trick is that you want to sew them right sides together-- but in order to do thet, you'd have to be sewing from *inside* of the garment, in there where all the seams are. And if you do that the whole way, you'd end up inside the jumper! So, what you need to do is sew the last seam with right sides together as *far* as you can. SO, starting at one end of the jumper, start attaching the jumper to the jumper at that last eremaining seam, with the right sides together. Then just keep going. After a while you'll have the jumper seam all done. Move on to the lining seam. While you're doing this, the jumper is gonna start getting in your way. To get it *out* of your way, you can start 'stuffing' the already-completed parts of the jumper into the area you're closing. You'll be thinking, 'wait a minute! I'm closing my pretty jumper into a wrong-side-out bag!' But just keep going... UNTIL YOU HAVE ABOUT 5 INCHES LEFT TO CLOSE. Then stop.
Now, pulling your jumper away from the sewing machine, reach into your little 'inside-out bag' that you've created and carefully start pulling your jumper out. It ususally works best if you pull the little shoulder fronts and backs out first. When you've got everything pulled out, shake it out and... voila! You have your jumper.

One note of caution: To make this lined jumper, you cannot attach the front arm strap and back arm strap together beforehand. See the picture in the review of NL 6576 labeled 'step 6.' See how the tops of the straps are not attached from the front to the back? -- This jumper is designed to use a button closure at the choulder seam.
I hope this helps you. I'll attach these instx. as an addendum into the tip. Let me know if you need any other clarificaiton!
:)
C
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
Your review is very good and the dress is adorable, but where are the pictures? ;-( I just see the one project photo?
2/17/07 2:08 PM
cindy-lou said...
Hi Rhoda! I couldn't find a way to add pics to a 'tip', so they are all in my REVIEW OF NEW LOOK 6576-- I'll edit to make that info stand out better. Thanks!
2/17/07 2:19 PM
Patzee said...
Very clever! Thanks!
2/18/07 1:13 AM
JennasMommy said...
I am new to sewing and I truely appreciate this easy tutorial on how to line a jumper. I recently bought the 6578 pattern and was sad to discover the jumper wasn't lined. I was about to order the Martha Pullen A-line (book $25) pattern(lined) when I came across your review and tutorial. Thank you so much for helping me save money and teaching this newbie how to easily add a liner ;).
12/21/07 9:26 AM
Selena Elmore said...
Thank you, thank you, and thank you again for such a great review and instructions on lining. I have literally been looking and looking for weeks to find a tuturial like this. You are an angel!
2/27/08 4:10 AM
bobbieshobbie said...
I have been sewing for many years and i must say this is one of the best tips I came across.Thanks a bunch ..I will past this on many times!
3/9/08 1:01 PM
Plain9Jane said...
Great instructions! Thanks so much!
8/28/08 10:43 PM
mitchfitz said...
Fantastic Instructions..would not have been able to do it without you. As it is I have made about 7 of these dresses for my little nieces and they love them. Instead of just using a lining fabric I have used a co-ordinating fabric as the "lining" and snap closures instead of buttons on the shouders - so they are reversible dresses...2 dresses in one!
2/3/09 4:53 PM
mikky said...
Thank you so much for this tip. I am visual as well, but I can not find the photos to go along with the tutorial.
8/25/09 12:15 PM
RatRace said...
Thank you for the great tutorial
1/12/12 7:32 PM
scrapmonkey said...
Thank you so much for taking the time to do this tutorial. Just what I was looking for, couldn't figure out how to do it on my own. :-)
7/18/13 2:06 PM
J Pickle said...
I can't get to the pictures. I need them
8/13/13 5:14 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us