Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Glue Sticks useful in place of pins (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5706 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 37 people   
Posted by: PhyllisC
photo
About PhyllisC starstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
tips added: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/18/03 11:13 AM
3/16/03....Gigi Louis is right! There is no difference between regular glue sticks from an office supply store and the much pricier version sold by Dritz.


Added additional Glue Stick uses 2/19/03

*************

Lately, I've been using fabric glue sticks almost as much as pins. For example, if you want to use clear elastic to stabilize a seam on knits, it's can be really challenging to get the elastic and the fabric under the serger. A few dabs from a glue stick along the run of elastic keeps it in place while you sew (pinning is just impossible). A little goes a long way, and it doesn't have any detrimental effect on either your needles or the serger knife. The glue is water soluble and always washs out. I also use glue sticks to turn up hems on knits before I stitch them.

Additional Glue Stick uses:

* Holding down a button or snap while you sew it on (either hand or machine)

* Tacking down Girl Scout patches while you sew them on.

* Basting the edges of knits (especially those where the edges curl) before you run them through a serger. Another benefit - no worry about pins going under the serger knife!

* Tacking trim such as rick-rack before you stitch it.
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SouthernStitch said...
Phyllis, thanks for posting this. The mighty glue stick can really help beginners as well as the seasoned.
2/18/03 11:28 PM
Deepika said...
very very helpful Phyllis. Is dritz glue stick readily available in Joanns?
2/19/03 0:55 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Deepika, I think they are. I bought one years ago when I just started sewing, and I'm sure I found it at one of the chain stores. At the time I didn't know how to use it. (Apparently they are good for some things but not for others.) Phyllis's tip makes me think I should go buy one and try using it again as she describes. Thanks Phyllis!
2/19/03 10:23 AM
PhyllisC said...
Oh yes - Dritz Glue Sticks are widely available in any sewing/crafts store with a decent notions rack. Quilters use them alot.
2/19/03 1:24 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I too use glue sticks a lot - they are so handy! I started buying the Elmer's wash-out glue sticks in bulk at the office supply and like them even better - they go on blue and dry clear.
2/19/03 6:53 PM
Paulette James said...
I have been sewing about 30 years and have just discovered glue sticks. works great for serger work.
2/20/03 5:01 AM
Claudine said...
Great tip - I MADE the clear elastic work w/my serger...but this sounds like it'll make that task a no brainer going forward.
2/20/03 12:36 PM
clc said...
One of my Favorite Notions! I use the regular Elmer's kind. I find it invaluable for holding Velcro in place. Those little bitsy pieces sure can wiggle aroung when you're trying to position them under the presser foot.
3/11/03 11:49 AM
lisa m said...
I use a glue stick to turn under the neckline or armscye before coverstitching.
9/12/04 6:31 PM
mapatterson said...
This is one of my favorite tricks. I donít know what I did before glue sticks. I watch sales fliers from my favorite stores and stock up when notions go on sale.
10/12/04 7:02 PM
Sew*Confused*Jo said...
Thanks so very much. I was worried about my serger knife getting gummed up. Now I'll go ahead.
3/19/07 8:10 AM
MaryD said...
I LOVE using glue sticks for basting. In addtion to what I've seen listed here,I've used it for tacking patch pockets or trim in place before topstitching, for lining up the front end of two pieces of fabric before I serge (it seems like a lot of fabrics want to slip out of place after I put them under the serger foot -- and you can't put a pin right there) and for holding a little piece of stabilizer in place under the spot where I want to stitch a buttonhole. One question though: Since I've started using glue sticks in my sewing (about 6 months ago), although I haven't noticed any trouble with the needle getting gummed up, I've always felt a little worried that the needle will carry small amounts of the glue down into the bobbin area of my sewing machine and that over the long term it might not be good for my machine. Does anyone have a definitive answer about this? Or better yet, personal experience? It's just too darn useful a technique for me to give it up, but there always that little nagging concern . . . :-)
6/25/07 3:07 PM
PinzAndNeedles said...
Yes! I ,too, use glue sticks from an office supply store instead of "basting glue." It saves so much money and works perfectly. And I also use them on knits to keep the fabric in place while I'm sewing. The knit fabric has less of a tendency to slide around when the seams are glued, too.
6/17/11 11:02 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us