SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Serger Threading

Viewed 5130 times
Posted by: BJ1400
photo

 
 
About BJ1400 starstarstar
WV USA
Member since: 10/29/03
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/28/07 3:39 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
When I first got my serger, I couldn't remember the order of threading, so I was constantly looking in the manual. To make it easier, I labeled my serger using a permant marker. I used numbers to list the order of threading and also indicated which was upper looper, lower looper, right needle and left needle.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
KempCorr said...
So simple, yet so helpful! Thanks
2/28/07 8:14 PM
Donna H said...
I did this, too, but I used stickers....in case the next owner wants to remove them. It's a great tip!!
2/28/07 9:10 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Great tip! Thank you!
2/28/07 11:18 PM
Mufffet said...
I had thought of this but didn't want to mark it up, but you sure make it an appealing thought! I have the same serger, so may just print your picture and stick it next to my serger! :) Thanks!
3/1/07 9:51 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I have a Janome 634D and, fortunately, the threading spots are color coded - so I don't have to do that. but - I would certainly use this tip if it wasn't.
3/1/07 11:43 AM
Addlee said...
This sounds very helpful. I have an old model serger and it is color-coded. However, this sounds like a great idea.
3/1/07 12:16 PM
SexiSadi said...
I did this too, except I write on a piesce of tranparent tape, then stick that onto the from of the machine.
3/2/07 2:57 PM
Eider said...
Great idea, why didn't I think of that ? I had the same problem with my serger .
4/28/07 10:00 PM
Eider said...
Great idea, why didn't I think of that ? I had the same problem with my serger .
4/28/07 10:00 PM
katzfarm said...
smart one
5/13/07 0:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.