SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Serger Threading

Viewed 5154 times
Posted by: BJ1400
photo

 
 
About BJ1400 starstarstar
WV USA
Member since: 10/29/03
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/28/07 3:39 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
When I first got my serger, I couldn't remember the order of threading, so I was constantly looking in the manual. To make it easier, I labeled my serger using a permant marker. I used numbers to list the order of threading and also indicated which was upper looper, lower looper, right needle and left needle.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
KempCorr said...
So simple, yet so helpful! Thanks
2/28/07 8:14 PM
Donna H said...
I did this, too, but I used stickers....in case the next owner wants to remove them. It's a great tip!!
2/28/07 9:10 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Great tip! Thank you!
2/28/07 11:18 PM
Mufffet said...
I had thought of this but didn't want to mark it up, but you sure make it an appealing thought! I have the same serger, so may just print your picture and stick it next to my serger! :) Thanks!
3/1/07 9:51 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I have a Janome 634D and, fortunately, the threading spots are color coded - so I don't have to do that. but - I would certainly use this tip if it wasn't.
3/1/07 11:43 AM
Addlee said...
This sounds very helpful. I have an old model serger and it is color-coded. However, this sounds like a great idea.
3/1/07 12:16 PM
SexiSadi said...
I did this too, except I write on a piesce of tranparent tape, then stick that onto the from of the machine.
3/2/07 2:57 PM
Eider said...
Great idea, why didn't I think of that ? I had the same problem with my serger .
4/28/07 10:00 PM
Eider said...
Great idea, why didn't I think of that ? I had the same problem with my serger .
4/28/07 10:00 PM
katzfarm said...
smart one
5/13/07 0:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.