SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Easy, Even Hems

Viewed 5189 times
Posted by: Heidi H
photo

 
 
About Heidi H star
AZ USA
Member since: 11/25/06
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/1/07 5:12 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I always seemed to have problems getting any hems straight. I found a neat little notion that is described at a Button Hole Spacer. I think I paid about $3 for it at Jo-Ann's.

When I'm ready to hem, I set this little slide on the ruler to the depth of the hem. Then I just go around using this and pin the fabric. I have also measured twice the depth and marked the fabric and then just sew by aligning the edge with the mark.

Super easy and straight hem.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Kathy in NM said...
This is what I do also. It makes it easy to be sure your hem is even. I didn't know the ruler was called a Button Hole Spacer though!
3/1/07 10:29 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is also my technique. I love this little ruler.
3/1/07 11:51 PM
Barbara R said...
I have about 10 of these rulers and keep one on hand just about everywhere in my sewing room. I use mine constantly! And yes, it is a great tool for hemming.
3/2/07 0:53 AM
PoppyB said...
I agree that this is a good way to get the hem depth even. However, if the person wearing the garment doesn't 'hang' evenly (has uneven bumps and bulges, as many of us do), then the hem will hang unevenly. So, alas, manyof us still need 'from the floor' measuring first.
3/2/07 7:03 AM
Susan M said...
I use this tool all the time; for hems on pants, dresses and sleeves; measuring in on the neck line, making seam allowances anywhere I need to measure in smaller increments. Couldn't sew very well without it.
3/2/07 10:40 AM
Heidi H said...
Gee, I looked through all the tips and didn't see this so I thought I was coming up with a good idea LOL PoppyB, I guess I didn't think of that, I just sew for my daughter who right now is still a board with arms and legs...well some little bitty bumps.
3/2/07 11:33 AM
frame said...
I've never seen this called a button-hole spacer, but I have used it for that. I believe it's usually called a seam gauge and used for exactly what you are using it for. I've had the same one for 36 years.
3/2/07 1:58 PM
Patzee said...
Heidi -- no apologies! It's a good tip! Not eveyone who reads this will know about this clever use for this ruler. So -- thanks for the tip!
3/2/07 5:26 PM
Heidi H said...
Linscee, I thought the name was strange too but that is what it is called at Jo-Ann's http://www.joann.com/shop/shop_tszoom.jhtml?path=http://63.210.199.180/09/15/5/91550.jpg.fpx
3/2/07 6:32 PM
squilts said...
do I feel dumb... I never thought about doubling the hem measure and just folding up to the line. I always try to fold over the gauge and press. I like your way better!!
3/6/07 3:03 PM
MarMar said...
I have use similar measures to have a straight hem and when completed the hem is straight however, if the person who is going to wear the garmet is a little more curvey that the hem will not be straight on the person.
3/8/07 3:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Buy Now
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.