SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Easing a sleeve

Viewed 5294 times
Posted by: BJ1400
photo

 
 
About BJ1400 starstarstar
WV USA
Member since: 10/29/03
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/11/07 4:54 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 25 people   
I've always had trouble easing a full sleeve into the armhole. Recently I made a jacket where the instructions said to ease the sleeve cap by using a strip of fleece. You stretch the strip as you zig-zag it close to the sleeve cap edge. I tried this & it worked great!

Now I'm working on a blouse that has a full sleeve that has to be eased. I first tried the typical 2 rows of basting stitches, but ended up with puckers. So I cut a 1/2 wide strip of a stretchy knit & zig-zaged it to the sleeve cap edge. It pulled it up enough that I was able to sew the sleeve in with no puckers!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
aminat said...
Thanks BJ1400, I have tried this method before but I used tie interfacing, I had to buy used ties from thift shops, but with stretchy knits, it will be way more convenient. thanks so much for the tip
3/21/07 4:04 PM
Nancywin said...
I always do this with jackets, but hadn't thought of it for a blouse. I bet clear elastic would work well, too.
3/21/07 10:24 AM
frame said...
Great tip. Definitely worth trying. Thanks.
3/14/07 9:14 PM
DeeFlo said...
Thank you for this tip. I will definitely try it. Doing full sleeves is not my favorite part of sewing. I just finished a blouse and no matter how careful I was, there was still the slightest pucker. I ironed most of it out, but I can still see a little of it.
3/13/07 6:15 PM
BJ1400 said...
Christine: I cut a strip the length of the area on the sleeve cap between the notches. Then I measured the armhole & marked that on the strip so I would know how much to ease the sleeve.
3/12/07 8:41 PM
christine A said...
How long a strip did you use?I wonder if stretch lace would work too?
3/12/07 8:25 PM
christine A said...
Wow, I am going to try this. Thanks!
3/12/07 8:23 PM
regine said...
Sounds like a great idea, will try it soon, thanks.
3/12/07 12:15 PM
Patzee said...
Great tip!
3/12/07 1:01 AM
Cecile Owens said...
Great tip. Thanks.
3/12/07 0:43 AM
ginaT said...

3/11/07 7:15 PM
ginaT said...
What a great idea.The two rows of basting stitches have to be really even to prevent puckers so this could be a real time saver too.
3/11/07 6:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.