SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Easing a sleeve

Viewed 5225 times
Posted by: BJ1400
photo

 
 
About BJ1400 starstarstar
WV USA
Member since: 10/29/03
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/11/07 4:54 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 25 people   
I've always had trouble easing a full sleeve into the armhole. Recently I made a jacket where the instructions said to ease the sleeve cap by using a strip of fleece. You stretch the strip as you zig-zag it close to the sleeve cap edge. I tried this & it worked great!

Now I'm working on a blouse that has a full sleeve that has to be eased. I first tried the typical 2 rows of basting stitches, but ended up with puckers. So I cut a 1/2 wide strip of a stretchy knit & zig-zaged it to the sleeve cap edge. It pulled it up enough that I was able to sew the sleeve in with no puckers!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ginaT said...
What a great idea.The two rows of basting stitches have to be really even to prevent puckers so this could be a real time saver too.
3/11/07 6:59 PM
ginaT said...

3/11/07 7:15 PM
Cecile Owens said...
Great tip. Thanks.
3/12/07 0:43 AM
Patzee said...
Great tip!
3/12/07 1:01 AM
regine said...
Sounds like a great idea, will try it soon, thanks.
3/12/07 12:15 PM
christine A said...
Wow, I am going to try this. Thanks!
3/12/07 8:23 PM
christine A said...
How long a strip did you use?I wonder if stretch lace would work too?
3/12/07 8:25 PM
BJ1400 said...
Christine: I cut a strip the length of the area on the sleeve cap between the notches. Then I measured the armhole & marked that on the strip so I would know how much to ease the sleeve.
3/12/07 8:41 PM
DeeFlo said...
Thank you for this tip. I will definitely try it. Doing full sleeves is not my favorite part of sewing. I just finished a blouse and no matter how careful I was, there was still the slightest pucker. I ironed most of it out, but I can still see a little of it.
3/13/07 6:15 PM
frame said...
Great tip. Definitely worth trying. Thanks.
3/14/07 9:14 PM
Nancywin said...
I always do this with jackets, but hadn't thought of it for a blouse. I bet clear elastic would work well, too.
3/21/07 10:24 AM
aminat said...
Thanks BJ1400, I have tried this method before but I used tie interfacing, I had to buy used ties from thift shops, but with stretchy knits, it will be way more convenient. thanks so much for the tip
3/21/07 4:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.