SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Time to Sew

Viewed 5165 times
Posted by: featherweight48
photo

 
 
About featherweight48
Member since: 10/27/03
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced
tips added: 1
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/15/07 5:57 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I start work at 6:30am. Evenings often are busy with meetings, classes, workouts, etc. I now wake up 10 minutes earlier and spend those minutes in the sewing room before I head for the shower. At first I thought it was a waste of time-what could I get done in 10 minutes? I was amazed to find I can make a knit top in five 10 minute sessions. I can sew & press 2 seams, or set in a sleeve, or cut out a pair of pants-all in 10 minute sessions!! I get many garments finished this way because I'm not waiting for a big chunk of time to sew. Give it a try!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Levone said...
Great idea! I've been having a hard time finding long lengths of time to sew as well. I may start trying this in the morning before work while my daughter is still asleep.
3/15/07 10:12 PM
FloraNature said...
You're amazing! That's just the sort of inspiration I need!!!
3/16/07 7:10 AM
solosmocker said...
You are so right. When I was working more than fulltime I did the same and was amazed at what I got done. The best part though, was the relaxed feeling I had going into my workday, kind of like meditation.
3/16/07 5:29 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I had a boss once who used to get up really early and do whatever he needed to do to consider the day useful, before he came to work. He said that this way, it didn't matter how the rest of the day went because he'd accomplished something good. After he started doing this, I noticed he was generally in a better mood....
3/16/07 10:41 PM
aunt saidee said...
This is inspiring. I did sort of the reverse of this once: I timed how long it took to do things I didn't want to do or put off, like unload the dishwasher (now I just wish I had a DW!) and found that it was about 3 minutes! Then whenever I wanted to procrastinate, it was easy to just do it (sorry...) because I knew it took so little time! I like your approach very much! It's so positive, and what a great way to start the day. Thanks.
4/7/07 4:34 AM
catwoman7 said...
very cool. I just posed this question to the forum. inspiring!
4/28/07 9:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.