SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Class Reviews > Fabulous Fit Retreat

Viewed 5598 times
Posted by: CSY
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CSY star
CA USA
Member since: 2/1/03
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
classes reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/26/07 4:24 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Have you ever reached for your alterations textbook and wished that the people who wrote it were right there at your side to explain it. This is possible. Judith Rasband and Elizabeth Liechty, co authors of "Fabulous Fit" second edition and contribuiting authors on the bible of alterations "Fitting & Pattern Alteration-A Multi-Method Approach" have teamed up to provide the best retreat available on the subject of fitting. This is a week long retreat. I came away with a fitted skirt, shell, and pant along with an improved method of making my alterations.

There was ample help in the class. Fitting experts Lorraine Henry (Two Easy Tape Measure Set) and Wendy Copus assisted with the class. The support was fantastic. Lorraine also demonstrated how to use a flexible ruler to measure a crotch curve, trace it, and applied it to the pattern.

This retreat is enthusiastically recommended for both the novice and someone who wants to improve their skills.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Peggym said...
Thanks for the review. I have bookmarked the site.The site too is very informative.
3/27/07 5:52 AM
nimble said...
Thanks for the review on this - it sounds great! How did you find out about it? I am in UT too!
3/27/07 10:50 AM
kkkkaty said...
wow, good to know! I also live in Utah, and have looked at some other fitting seminars, but combined with the long distance travel seemed too pricey; this might be do-able. thanks for the information!
3/27/07 12:29 PM
CSY said...
I found this retreat surfing the internet. I love computers. I don't think that my review emphasizes enought just how great this retreat was. Judith Rasband is really committed to insuring that all her students have a good experience. She has thought out every detail. I have never before taken a seminar or class that had this level of attention to detail. The entire teaching staff was top notch! It may look expensive but it is a 5 day seminar and per day charge is not extravagant. You ladies that live in Utah are super lucky. Judith and Elizabeth really need to be cloned. Elizabeth is 80 years young. She is a total inspiration. She puts in a full day of quality help (and she is the best I ever encountered) and ends the day still looking like she came in on a spring breeze.
3/28/07 11:26 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thanks for the review. I have her Fabulous Fit book and it's very simple to understand. Although it would be better if she were beside me showing me all the little ''quirks". Too bad she's in UT; I'm in PA but I'll bookmark the site and if she ever comes out this way, I'll go!
4/8/07 7:20 PM
Tailypo said...
Thanks so much for the review -- my in-laws are in Utah and I have been on the emailing list for this retreat but missed it twice -- scheduling conflict last year, and as for this year, there is not much point in fabulously fitting my 37 week pregnant body -- at age 38 I ain't planning on going through this again ;) But I will try, try again in future.
4/18/07 1:21 AM
fabricdragon said...
Miss Fairchild, i am also in PA (philadelphia) and attended the retreat. while the plane fare added a lot to the cost, it was worth it. if i can help you though please contact me
3/16/14 3:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.