SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Baby Steps 12 - How to make a fabric flower.

Viewed 5301 times
Posted by: Helen near Sydney
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Helen near Sydney starstarstar
NSW Australia
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 131
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/28/07 8:19 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Web site/URL: photo
To see how I made the fabric flower seen in Christine Jonson 426 top click the above link and view as either a slideshow or as individual photos.

At least that's how it should go. However, this was a Yahoo! photo sharing site and when they said I had to move to Flickr and they'd transfer the photos I though, okay, I'll move. What they didn't say was that they couldn't update the links to Flickr, so .................


<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Elle D said...
Oh dear, the slideshow only has two frames and they don't seem to be associated with this fabric flower. I do have a book on making fabric flowers and I'll look there for instructions, thanks for the inspiration.
11/20/09 10:54 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Asenka, I've updated the link. Thanks for letting me know. Happened when I had to change from Yahoo to Flickr, wonder what else has gone .....
8/4/07 7:41 AM
asenka said...
Hi Helen, the link here is wrong... Please update the link if possible! Thanks
8/1/07 6:58 AM
Luckie Kay Locke said...
well done
4/17/07 11:53 PM
Nancywin said...
Great tutorial - nicely done
4/7/07 8:00 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Amy, what a great idea and I think you're right, it would give a very different, frilly camelia kind of look.
4/1/07 3:17 AM
abcameo said...
Hi, Helen: Thanks for sharing your photos and technique. This may sound funny, but I think your flower would also look attractive with the gathered edge showing instead of tucked in. I think it would make your flower appear extra-frilly. I think it would work if you stitch the coil in place a little above the gathered edge, so that the gathered section became part of the design. Just an idea "sprouted" from one who's recently grown to love embellishing with all forms of fabric/ribbon flowers. Amy
3/31/07 10:18 PM
pamici said...
Super cute! I'll have to give this a try soon ...
3/29/07 9:48 PM
kkkkaty said...
Worked great, clear as a bell, thanks
3/29/07 3:45 PM
MareeAlison said...
Helen - that's a useful technique. I can see it could be elaborated on in lots of ways. Thanks.
3/29/07 3:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.