SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Baby Steps 12 - How to make a fabric flower.

Viewed 5249 times
Posted by: Helen near Sydney
photo

 
 
About Helen near Sydney starstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 126
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/28/07 8:19 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Web site/URL: photo
To see how I made the fabric flower seen in Christine Jonson 426 top click the above link and view as either a slideshow or as individual photos.

At least that's how it should go. However, this was a Yahoo! photo sharing site and when they said I had to move to Flickr and they'd transfer the photos I though, okay, I'll move. What they didn't say was that they couldn't update the links to Flickr, so .................


<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MareeAlison said...
Helen - that's a useful technique. I can see it could be elaborated on in lots of ways. Thanks.
3/29/07 3:10 AM
kkkkaty said...
Worked great, clear as a bell, thanks
3/29/07 3:45 PM
pamici said...
Super cute! I'll have to give this a try soon ...
3/29/07 9:48 PM
abcameo said...
Hi, Helen: Thanks for sharing your photos and technique. This may sound funny, but I think your flower would also look attractive with the gathered edge showing instead of tucked in. I think it would make your flower appear extra-frilly. I think it would work if you stitch the coil in place a little above the gathered edge, so that the gathered section became part of the design. Just an idea "sprouted" from one who's recently grown to love embellishing with all forms of fabric/ribbon flowers. Amy
3/31/07 10:18 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Amy, what a great idea and I think you're right, it would give a very different, frilly camelia kind of look.
4/1/07 3:17 AM
Nancywin said...
Great tutorial - nicely done
4/7/07 8:00 PM
Luckie Kay Locke said...
well done
4/17/07 11:53 PM
asenka said...
Hi Helen, the link here is wrong... Please update the link if possible! Thanks
8/1/07 6:58 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Asenka, I've updated the link. Thanks for letting me know. Happened when I had to change from Yahoo to Flickr, wonder what else has gone .....
8/4/07 7:41 AM
Elle D said...
Oh dear, the slideshow only has two frames and they don't seem to be associated with this fabric flower. I do have a book on making fabric flowers and I'll look there for instructions, thanks for the inspiration.
11/20/09 10:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.