SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Adriana Lucas

Viewed 5284 times
Posted by: MaryBeth
photo

 
 
About MaryBeth starstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 103
Favored by: 40 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/25/03 0:10 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Web site/URL: photo
David Page Coffin' book, on page 105-106 describes Adriana Lucas's method for turning collar points. Adriana Lucas, "a master shirtmaker in NYC", turns by hand. She stitches to the collar point, turns and stitches up the side of the collar, leaving a very sharp point. Then she closely trims the interfacing only at the point and a tiny bit on each side of the stitching. She folds the point down and pinches tight, creasing the tip. She then folds in each side seam over the tightly held point and pinches these folds again very tightly. Holding the collar point and folded side seams between her forefinger and thumb the collar is turned right side out. Using a needle the fabric left inside the point is gently coaxed out to form the point.
Using this method I formed the sharpest, easiest points I have ever done, very much to my surprise. I tried an alternative method of poking the fabric from the inside to form the point and got a rounded blob that I had to fix using Ms. Lucas's method! Guess I'll retire my orange stick back to the nail kit.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Rustybobn said...
MaryBeth, I've tried and tried to do this but can never hold onto the points while I turn the collar. Is there a special trick to it?
2/25/03 11:19 AM
Loreli said...
Thanks MaryBeth, you explained it very clear because I didnīt understand exactly what was meant in the book. I try it out on the next collar.
2/25/03 12:39 PM
LoriB said...
I'm going to try this next time I do a collar. I've seen this referred to as an "oragami" method and the person used tweezers to hold onto the folded seam allowance when it was turned inside out.
2/25/03 5:11 PM
MaryBeth said...
OK, Rustybobn, you're pinching all three with your right hand (if you're right handed). Transfer the pinched material off to your left hand by placing your left thumb up inside (in between the front) and back) and your left forefinger on the outside. Still pinching hard, use your right hand to lift and turn the collar rightside out. Squiggle your pinched material as far into the point as possible, not releasing the pinch until you're sure you've gone as far as you can. Hopefully you've maintained the nice folding job and can tease the point out from the right side. Whew! hope this helps!
2/26/03 2:25 AM
Rustybobn said...
Perhaps it's the "pinching hard" part where I'm failing! The rest, including the "tease the point out from the right side" I can do! Thanks MaryBeth!
2/26/03 11:55 AM
teryl said...
Try holding the folded point with a pair of forceps
6/22/04 4:03 PM
mClones said...
Thanks for sharing that, MaryBeth. It works like a dream and it is so easy! Mina
9/2/04 9:38 PM
Wianno Girl said...
I will do it next time I do a collar.
7/16/07 12:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.