SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > BWOF Tracing Tip

Viewed 5214 times
Posted by: Elaray
photo

 
 
About Elaray starstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/20/05
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
tips added: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/1/07 3:47 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 19 people   
Featured in the PR book!
With lines for about 25 pattern pieces, each in five sizes, all on one sheet, it is easy to become confused while tracing-off BWOF patterns. The mistake I make most often is to miss tracing some construction symbols like pleats or notches. To avoid these omissions, I use the diagrams of pattern pieces that are printed with the sewing instructions. All symbols are clearly indicated on these diagrams without the distraction of 99 other lines. I compare my tracing of each piece with the diagram before moving the tracing paper. If a symbol is missing, it is easy to find it and add it before it is too late.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
sewbehind said...
Thank you for this tip. What a good idea! I often miss those important details as well.
4/1/07 6:06 PM
Linda G said...
Great Idea...I know what you mean...I am usually going back to the pattern sheet as I am sewing because I forgot to make the markings.
4/1/07 6:31 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I do that too and it helps me so much ~ great tip!
4/2/07 0:18 AM
MissCelie said...
I also do that! I used to skip symbols ALL the time.
4/2/07 5:30 AM
edube said...
Gret idea! How many times have I had to get out the paper again to trace something I had forgotten! Thanks.
4/2/07 7:42 AM
OP Gal said...
Great tip! Thanks for passing it on.
4/2/07 5:37 PM
martinanne said...
Yes, this is crucial. Makes all the difference!
4/2/07 9:07 PM
Pokkel said...
I do that as well, and I use kitchen wax paper- the type you wrap sandwiches in. It's cheap so I usually buy a lot of rolls. You can use an iron, set at low-medium temp., to iron the pieces together in order to make larger sizes. I also use different colour markers.
4/6/07 7:12 AM
Leslie in NZ said...
Thanks for that tip. It is very timely for me. I am in the process of tracing off a number of patterns from library copies of Burda. I will be very careful to check that I have all reference marks.
4/6/07 4:53 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
Elaray, I have done my big chunk of tracing and your tip was excellent. Before I moved my tracing paper from the pattern sheet, I double checked the pattern piece diagrams in the sewing instruction section. Several times I had missed symbols. These are library copies of Burda and I am not planning to make these patterns for some time. I know you have saved me a lot of grief. Many thanks.
4/30/07 9:08 PM
Frogstitcher said...
That's something I do too. I also like to refer to the sewing instructions for the shapes of the pieces I need, making it much easier to locate them on the pattern sheet. Thanks for sharing your tip.
5/1/07 9:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now
Summer Tote

Summer Tote

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.